We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Shades Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arkana Motel(Maryborough)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ned Kelly's Motel(Maryborough)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cara Motel(Maryborough)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
46
37
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
37
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew managementsingle bedfraser coastovernight stopacross the roadseparate loungebruce highwaynight's sleepstayed here for two nightswould stay here againstandard roompleasure of stayingbed was comfortablethe pubroom was largenext doormichael
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here on our way to Townsville. The staff were very friendly and helpful. (we had a baby with us) and they couldn't do more to make us feel welcome. We had one of the business rooms around the back. It was very clean and tidy and very quiet. Trust me after some of the motels we had stayed at this a welcome relief. The rooms aren't ultra modern but that didn't matter. Because we were tired we had room service for dinner and breakfast. Wow what a feed! Will definitely stay here on our way back! Couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Business rooms around the back are excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelle62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you Nelle62
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have so many positive comments on our quality home cooked meals so i am thrilled that we were a great stop over for you to rest and refuel. Will be lovely to see you on the way back through.
Trudy and Damien Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at the Blue Shades Motel, Maryborough, Qld for approximately four weeks as part of my employment. I found the owners Damien and Trudy to always be friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts that I ate were of a high standard. If you are looking for good quality accommodation at reasonable rates look no further than the Blue Shades.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Hi kim S, thankyou for posting your thoughts on your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Damien, myself and our 2 staff always strive to ensure our guests are not treated like a number and keep the relationship as friendly and honest as though we've known you forever. I hope to see you back again one day.
All the best
Trudy Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Comfort Inn Blue Shades take 3 of our staff each week. We can not thank them enough for the wonderful support they give us at the odd hours and last minute notice we often have to give of change. Our sincere appreciation of the wonderful friendly service you always offer us.
Diane
Plant Delivery Service

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thanks Diane
It is a pleasure to have your guys stay with us. You always have everything so organised so its easy to accommodate your needs. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Trudy Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband, my mother & myself returned to Maryborough recently & stayed again at Blue Shades.The friendly greeting & happy atmosphere works well,when staying there.The staff cannot do enough to make our stay a memorable one.The meals in the Restaurent are exceptional.When the Dining Room is not open there is the Lamington Hotel across the St.The laughter of the Motel's 2 happy children is a pleasant experience.Nothing is any trouble for the staff to make the stay a comfortable one.Rooms were very,very clean & beds very comfortable.I appreciated the herbal teas that were available to me!!!!Reasonably priced! see you all again.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet considering the location on Ferry Street.southside is quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you had an all round great experience with us. The 2 kids (6 and 3)have both grown up here at the Motel from newborns so they are part of the package, helping at the counter to clearing plates in the restaurant, they love it . Our restaurant receives great comments every day (open Mon-Thurs nights), we have a very good cook who has been with us for 6 years. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. See you when are in Maryborough again.
Trudy Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Have stayed at the Blue Shades numerous times over the past ten years and alway have received great service.
The team always make you feel welcome and will go that extra distance to make sure your stay is enjoyable.
The rooms are very quiet and noise has never been a problem.
The food is excellent the breakfast would be a good as any i have ever had, quantity and quality is such that you would never leave feeling the you have not been looked after.
Overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for posting a great review. Its positive comments like yours that keeps us striving to do the best we can to ensure our guests keep coming back. Our goal everyday is to ensure every guests have an all round great stay. Thanks Again
Trudy Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews