We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Maryboro Queensland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
McNevins Maryborough Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Certificate of Excellence
Umina Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Visiting Maryboro Queensland”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Visiting an old friend this last weekend in Maryboro Qld. We decided to stay at McNevins Motel,
we had a room with a spar and balcony, clean and tidy. The owner called us on our drive from Brisbane airport to say that there was no gas to his facility. The recent floods had destroyed the gas pipeline, therefore no hot water, as the temp was around 27/28 we thought nothing of it and proceeded as planned.
They have a restaurant and a very nice breakfast room, probably holding 40-50 guests, and the breakfast was good. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed a beer at the White Lion opposite.

Room Tip: I think the better rooms are upstairs, you will pay more, but there seems to be plenty of ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunset079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at McNevins Maryborough Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Hi sunset079

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, the Spa Suites are lovely and even better with hot water but as we suggested under the circumstances, boiling some water and topping up with cold water should do the trick to still be able to enjoy a nice warm spa. It was certainly a long 3 weeks for us having no gas and we thank you for your understanding and still supporting us as it was the whole Wide Bay area that was affected.

Our Glasshouse Breakfast Cafe seats 50 people and i'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. We have 50 rooms only 8 of these are upstairs but all of our rooms are of a high standard, clean, spacious and comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back to McNevins Maryborough in the future (with hot water)

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    64
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
41
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight on our way further north. I booked online after reading a number of reviews. We were surprised at the size of the room and the comfort of the bed/linens. Very pleased. Maybe a little more expensive than some motels but in our view well worth the extra spend. Much better than your typical motel room in our view.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at McNevins Maryborough Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Hi Robyn M

Thank you for a wonderful review, at McNevins we pride ourselves in offering good quality products and service so we thank you for your acknowledgement and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards
Sharon Strathern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This motel is situated close to the Hospital, CBD, Bowling Club etc
Has a good restaurant although the meals although a bit on the pricey side
Stayed in a standard room which had not been renovated, however, it was quite comfortable and clean
Bathroom quite adequate and plenty of towels etc were supplied
Breakfast was served in a separate are known as the "Glasshouse". Limited choices but food very good and served hot

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at McNevins Maryborough Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Hi Graham P

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to McNevins Maryborough Motel in the future!

Kind regards
Sharon Strathern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed. Reception was pleasent and helpfull. Room was a very good size with seperate dining area. Bed was king size and very comfy. we ordered dinner to our room and the standard of the meal was very good though we felt a littel over priced but as it was Christmas holiday period and almost nothing was open in Maryborough it was good to be able to get a nice meal served to our room after a long drive. We would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at McNevins Maryborough Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Hi Retired Melbourne

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided you with an overall positive experience.

Thank you for your feedback and i will pass on your comments to our Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back to McNevins Maryborough Motel!

Kind regards
Sharon Strathern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have stayed at this motel on numerous occasions and have always felt very comfortable, as the units are very roomy and have both front and back doors for good ventilation. The beds are very comfortable and the shower is the best we have experienced on our recent trip around. Fresh milk for our coffee was also appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at McNevins Maryborough Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Hi DebbieB2012

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you are a regular guest at McNevins Maryborough Motel and that we met your expectations again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards
Sharon Strathern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I have stayed at most motels in Maryborough during 3 years of business trips. I have to say that this motel is the best that Maryborough has to offer. Large art deco style rooms gives the units an "open plan" feel. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, crispy bacon and perfect eggs. Staff even went above and beyond to make a special breakfast for my partner who is lactose intolerant.
Only wish the spa was larger, not anyones fault I'm a giant. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at McNevins Maryborough Motel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Hi Richard W

Thank you for your great feedback and thank you for saying we are the best in Maryborough! This was actually recognised last week when we won the Best Deluxe Accommodation in the 2012 Fraser Coast Tourism Awards, yay!!!!

I have passed on your comments to our Glasshouse Breakfast Cafe staff who were delighted that they'd given you a great start to the day. It's often the little things that make a big difference :)

Again, thank you for your review, we truly appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you back to McNevins Maryborough in the future.

Kind regards
Sharon, Clint & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked this hotel based on the recommendations on this site but was majorly disappointed.

At first glance, the room was a good size and well appointed. However, the bed was very uncomfortable and my husband had to sleep on the single bed that was in the room for which we were charged an extra $15.

There was a back door with a glass panel but no curtain over it so the light shone in from about 5am making it clear as day and impossible to sleep.

The room was presented nicely but it was clear the cleaners had lost their dusting rag. There was a thick layer of dust on the bedside lamps and clock radio aggrevating my allergies.

When I first looked at the restaurant menu I looked forward to a beautiful breakfast. We were told on checking in that they had to do buffet because of a large group. That consisted of cold tomatoes, flavourless scrambled eggs and bacon that had only been cooked on one side for a minute. Someone needs to tell the chef that picking a rasher of bacon up from a pool of grease is not an appetising way to start your day. That, on top of tinned fruit, meant it was not worth the $15 a head it cost us.

Add onto the fact that this hotel is on the main road between Maryborough and Hervey Bay means it was very nosiy and we were woken up on several occassions by people doing burnouts and large trucks.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place. It was a shame as we will need to travel to Maryborough on a regular basis but we certainly won't be coming back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at McNevins Maryborough Motel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review McNevins in Maryborough so we can address these issues with our staff and with you, as we are always seeking ways to improve our standards. We are so disappointed that you did not have a comfortable stay with us.

Thank you for saying that our rooms are spacious and presented well, as we work hard on making them comfortable for our guests. We have addressed your concerns about the dust with our cleaning staff. The staff do take pride in clean the rooms but sometimes we do miss things even though we inspect our rooms.

While we have not had complaints about the bed being uncomfortable in the room you stayed in, we are upgrading our queen beds to king beds and have now ordered a brand new king size Sealy posturepedic bed and we are also looking into covering the back windows.

Upon check out, your husband told us that the extra bed had been used. We do charge a fee for the extra bed to cover linen and laundering costs and we didn't realise that it was because you found the queen bed uncomfortable. We also apologise that the breakfast buffet was not to your liking, we have passed this feedback along to our breakfast chef.

We do not receive complaints about road noise, so we are unsure how to respond to this other than to say we are sorry it added to your overall stay with us.

We do hope you reconsider staying with us in the future so we can show you that this experience was not usual for McNevins Maryborough Motel. Again, we appreciate your feedback and please never hesitate in addressing these concerns during your stay so we have the opportunity to fix them and make your stay comfortable.

Kind regards

Sharon Strathern
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#6 of 11 in Maryborough
50 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western Kimba Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 11 in Maryborough
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 11 in Maryborough
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McNevins Maryborough Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McNevins Maryborough Motel

Property: McNevins Maryborough Motel
Address: 188 John St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McNevins Maryborough Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your McNevins Maryborough Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing