We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waltzing Matilda Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Redcliffe
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Asked aabout a room and was made to pay for it before inspection.
Upon inspection found a filthy room not fit for anyone at anyprice.
Now manager refuses to refund money.
Worst motel in Australia and as a very regular business traveller l stay all over the country, city and regional and this motel is the "pits"
Wouldn't send my dog there.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
7  Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked. Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy. Most staff have stayed in motels all around the world and have had problems with rooms scratches etc. Even a 5 star motel room flooded and they cleaned the room no problem and stayed that night.
All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Waltzing Matilda Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed here when I was up for a wedding from Victoria for a night as it was close to the Oxley. To say this place wasn't very good is an understatement. I understand for $80 that you aren't getting premium service but I expected more than what I got. When I got there, the office was a mess which is not a good indication, the room was not ready and I was told "Oh, I thought they did the rooms yesterday - I will go and clean it out for you now." I had to wait when I had previously given my arrival time by booking via the Internet. Once they had cleaned the room, I went up and found that the place had a very distinct smell to it that I couldn't place my finger on in the room and the bedding smelt awful as well. Only the light in the sleeping area worked, the bathroom light didn't work, there was mould on the curtain in the bathroom, the taps didn't work properly and when I looked under the sink there was rubbish from the previous people who had been there. The bar fridge had rust on it also. All in all this place is a dump and is run down. If you can, go somewhere else.

I have since reported this place to health services.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked. Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy. All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel should be bulldozered. That saying "you get what you pay for" not even, I wouldn't stay here again if it was the last place in Redcliffe and it was free. Felt like I was sleeping in a death trap, fire hazard and rat hole. Really should be condemned. It sits in a perfect spot with perfect views, the owners should do the right thing and sell the land so it can be torn down and something nice put in its place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lulu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked. Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy.
The Motel has been bought and that is exactly what will be happening in future possibly next year. Motel is pest controlled every 6 months which is more then required and they say the same thing every 6 months : I don't know why you do their is not one critter big or small in this motel.
All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

From the street, the first impression was ok, it seemed to invite, with nice ocean views. But when we arrived at our room, first impression quickly faded, to be replaced with profound disbelief. The door was difficult to open, and falling apart. There were plastic bags of garbage outside the room, which was on the nose. Once in the room we saw there was a small rusty fridge without a handle which had seemed to have rusted off. The bathroom sink was rusty and stained. The windows were dirty with dust and grime, and the curtains had been hanging without having been washed since the1970's and were worn with holes. There was a pungent odour of stale urine comming from either the bed or the dirty, stained and worn carpet, or both. We didn't risk sitting on the bed. The neighbouring room was blasting a TV show, with dirty ashtray outside.
I asked the Manager if we could change rooms as we were not happy with the room we were given. He then offered us another room for a further fee, I asked if I could have a look at this room. Well it was a repeat of the first room including some very interestion mould and mildew growing on the curtains. The mould and odour left me breathless. I mentioned to the manager that this room would not suit and he asked why. I was really surprised that when I mentioned that the room was dirty, his response was, "in what way"!!!
We left the man behind the door with the loud TV, the bags of garbage, the urine smells, and the mould behind. We couldn't believe it, if this place wasn't so tragic, it would be laughable, I'm with the "Busymanblues".

Room Tip: Ask to view the room first if you haven't booked ahead. Otherwise don't go there.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank h1fr0mky0gle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked.
Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy.
All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I don't mind basic as long as it is clean but this motel was grubby. The position and views were lovely from our room at the front but the the backyard was untidy. We were late finding a motel so didn't check the room thoroughly. The sheets had either been badly laundered or not at all. This motel looked like a work in progress but an awful lot needs to be done.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Title says it all!!!!Unit inside was dirty, bathroom sink smashed and broken. Shower taps fell off. Beds mattress's lumpy. Balcony dirty, cigarette ashtrays full. Need I say anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Petesbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked.
Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy. All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A hell hole the only reason I would stay there would be to complete a novel about suicide and depression. If you are researching a role in a movie about murderers and snuff movies it's a good place to start. As I am not I'll give it a miss

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Busymanblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked.
Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy. All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redcliffe hotels
0.8 mi away
LaVida on Anzac
LaVida on Anzac
#1 of 4 in Redcliffe
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kippa Ring Village Motel
Kippa Ring Village Motel
#3 of 4 in Redcliffe
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oaks Mon Komo
Oaks Mon Komo
#1 of 4 in Redcliffe
423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Redcliffe Motor Inn
Redcliffe Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Redcliffe
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ainslie Manor
Ainslie Manor
#2 of 7 in Redcliffe
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltzing Matilda Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltzing Matilda Motel

Address: 109 Margate Parade | Margate Beach, Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Bay Region > Redcliffe
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Redcliffe
Price Range: £55 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waltzing Matilda Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waltzing Matilda Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waltzing Matilda Motel Australia/Redcliffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing