We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a lovely place to stay”
Review of 1770 Beach Shacks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1770 Beach Shacks
Certificate of Excellence
Woodford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Still a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for the second time, in the smaller 'Tree House' room this time. As a place for two it was well sized and has a nice verandah and all the quality of fittings of the larger room. For the location, with a great view across the bay from room and verandah, and adjacent to a nice restaurant and bar that is also opposite the bay. Fittings are very nice and the place has a very 'bush' feel to it.

I see others have been unhappy with the tree house, and this may relate to the strange pricing policy; every room/apartment is the same price making the larger rooms down the hill much better value. Leaving that aside, for what we got we were happy to pay what we paid so we gave it five stars again, which we rarely do

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
That is great news that this is the second time you have stayed and you were still very happy.
Your enjoyment of our accommodation is our aim. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Kind regards,
Jan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here three years ago with my now fiancée. It was, in my opinion, the best holiday I have ever had. The accomodation is incredible! Beautiful rooms and an amazing balcony, with spectacular views. The staff (a Swedish girl and Aussie guy at the time) went above and beyond in their service. Due to flooding, rains and luggage lost, I'm sure their patience with us was tested! However they made sure we got everything and arranged tours and suggested trips for us.

There is an amazing restaurant at the bottom of the Beach Shack. Food, drinks and service were second to none.

Plenty of activities within walking distance, including a super jet, air plane trips to sand islands, the pink vehicle to the light house, snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef, etc.

I hope one day to return, as I have such strong and fond memories of this place, especially the accomodation, staff and location!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peden13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thankyou so much for your review, we really hope you and your fiancée do come back to enjoy this special part of the world.

Kind regards,
Jan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

1770 is well off the beaten track; it took us about 5 hours to drive from Noosa - but it's well worth the trip. The shacks are well appointed with 2 bedrooms and a veranda with a hammock. The location and views are stunning.

Worth checking out the pub/restaurant next door.

Hightlights of our stay - the day trip to Lady Musgrove; SUP; and the sunsets.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
This is wonderful to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to write it and very happy you thought the trip was worth it. Yes the 1770 sunsets are certainly something to behold!!!!

Kind regards,
Jan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

You really feel you've escaped when you are here. Waking up to a view of the ocean from your bedroom is something else. Very interesting design of the shack with a large open area. Perfect to enjoy the sticky Queensland heat. I'd stay at least 4 nights as there is lots to do in 1770/ Agnes. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Yes, the 'Shacks' are certainly designed for the Queensland summers to catch those beautiful coastal breezes. Each bungalow has individual special features and hopefully you might get a chance to stay with us again.
As always we appreciate you taking the time to write this and your willingness to reccomend our accommodation is paramount to us.

Thank you
Jan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

As a Baliaholic, the reviews of the Beach Shacks at 1770 had me really hanging out for a fix. I certainly got what i came for!!! The accommodation was indeed in true Balinese style right down to the beautifully folded towels and fresh flower touches on the beds. There were lots of lovely little reminders in every corner of that beautiful country. Location wise : tick. Fantastic restaurant next door : tick. View from the verandah : tick. Personalised attention with booking and greeting : tick. The need for mozzie coils : tick. Just like Bali.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovealifeoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you so much. We loved that you enjoyed your stay at the Shacks.....a touch of Bali, Aussie style.

We value your feedback.

Jan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed at 1770 Beach Shacks in December 2012 and really enjoyed it. The town is small and Agnes Water isn't much bigger, but the beach was most enjoyable and the beach "shacks" were very comfortable. I loved the location of my shack, right across the road from the beach and having a kitchen in the shack saved a lot of money as eating out is expensive in Australia. Nothing but praise for 1770 Beach Shacks and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Recommend a shack with a kitchen as it will help cut costs on eating out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Yes we love that our guests do get to experience the "just across the road from the beach' location, and all the wonderful views etc that come with it in these unique Australian coastal locations.

Very glad the kitchen helped make your stay more comfortable (and more affordable of course).
We are happy to advise that all of our Beach Shacks are self catering.

Thankyou so much for your praise and for taking the time to write this.
Jan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed at the Beach Shacks in October 2012. Myself and my wife were celebrating 32 years
together and Quensland was the venue. We had a sense before we arrved in Queensland that 1770 would be special and we were right. We found our little piece of paradise here. Amazing, beautiful place with accommodation that should be declared a listed building. The shacks are fantastic with the most amazing views over 1770. We could have spent a month here.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.
We will be back.
Tony & Rene

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony6257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Your appreciation means everything to us. So glad your stay here was this special to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
2.1 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
216 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 2 in Agnes Water
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
60 reviews
4.0 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
124 reviews
3.3 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#5 of 17 in Agnes Water
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Beach Shacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Beach Shacks

Property: 1770 Beach Shacks
Address: 578 Captain Cook Dr, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Seventeen Seventy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1770 Beach Shacks 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront self-catering bungalows each offering superb tropical architecture, all with spectacular ocean views from spacious decks. Terraced up the side of a slope overlooking the pristine 1770 Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1770 Beach Shacks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1770 Beach Shacks Australia/Seventeen Seventy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing