We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southport Tourist Park
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were a party of 6 - parents, 3 adult childrent and one 6 year old. We booked 2 holiday cabins in July and asked if they could be close to eachother. We got them next to eachother in lovely quiet corner. The cabins were also not on top of each other with a lovely little court yard for each so noise wasn't really a factor at all. It was very quiet at night when we were there.

This is actually the second time my husband had stayed here, staying here a decade earlier.

The cabins were clean and comfortable and each one had an airconditioner that cooled the cabin off really quickly.

The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and though we never really had to ask for much they were always happy to oblige us with what ever we did ask for.

Location was ideal. 30 mins to the popular theme parks (at the most) and there was a big Coles about 10 minutes around the corner in a small shopping square. For those who want to do more shopping, Aust. Fair was again, no more than 20 mins away also. In addition there were so many fast food and resturants within walking distance it was terrific (esp. if you have young kids that don't want to walk far or older ones that might want a drink with dinner and you don't want them to drive. There was KFC across the road and McDonalds over the bridge. There were a couple of Chinese Restuarants and 2 mexican ones. Plus Indian and a steak/seafood resturant also. Really great.

The pool and spa at the front of the park was fantasic, the kids spending every afternoon in there and the barbeque facility was also terrific. While it cost money to use them it cost us all of 60c (yes, cents not dollars) to cook up steaks and sausages for all of us so needless to say we used the BBQ a couple of times when we ate in.

The cost was very economical and we'd defintely go back again.

Room Tip: If you have a big car let them know so they can give you a cabin that has more parking or turning ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauls036366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Pictures on website are very deceiving......very run down and needs a good clean up. Amenities block, in particular the female toilets where filthy and not cleaned regularly. Could be a nice little park if some TLC was put into the upkeep of the facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank baybrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in a deluxe cabin at this very busy tourist park , our cabin had everything we needed was clean and I really liked the friendly atmosphere. the staff were very helpful with local info. By 10pm the park was quiet makes a great change from other tourist parks "-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquikelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Nothing good to say about this dump.. the worst place we have ever stayed in, we paid over $3,000 for one weeks accommodation in the Moby house it was like stepping back into the 50s full of cockroaches tiny fridge for a house that's supposed to accommodate 14 people one aircon in lounge $10 fans in the other rooms that made a crunching noise while rotating my wife got a shock from the taps, I left my wallet at the pool area that is strictly 8:30am till 8:30pm what a joke, my wallet was returned to me by the owner missing the $300 that was in it of course, other guests going through our stuff while we were swimming a woman roaming the park begging for money. the manager even gave some of our parking space to back packers that kept us up all night screaming. honestly don't stay in this dump, I have never written a bad review about anything but this dump deserves to be shut down.
Even driving in and out of the park is a hassle with cars parked everywhere and morons standing in the middle of the road looking at their phones .could go on and on about this place but don't want to think about it anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank arsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthportTouristPark, Owner at Southport Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Faulty Towers and never again, one booking group at $30 per person, an extremely good deal for peak season in January.

Upon arrival all guests are taken through their booked accommodation to verify that this is clean and has no damage (all units are checked by management upon exit for damages). This the time when clients raise their concerns about the state and condition of the units.

We ask of if guests have concerns during their stay they report these to the front office. In the case of this issue of the small fridge - it is a full length fridge as shown on our website, and the amount of fridge space was inadequate and had been brought to our attention we would have been more than happy to offer the use of our cool room or our campers fridge.

The first we knew about a lost wallet was when a teenager brought the wallet to the office saying he found it in the pool area. The wallet was checked by the front office staff and found only paperwork and traced it to the name to one of our unit guests and returned it immediately as it was handed in to us.

After 1 week of staying we had not received any complaints and it was not until we did an inspection on the property at check out which is standard and discovered holes in 3 different room walls which we asked for payment for the damages, that we were threatened that a bad comment would be put to Trip Advisor and they refused to pay for the damages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked the moby house. Paid 3,000.00 for an absoloute dump. 1 toilet for 14 people, smallest fridge eva for 14 people which wasnt even turned on when we arrived, fans in every room consisted of $12.00 pedastal fans from kmart. Which 1 didnt work. They all had a lean. Had money
Stolen from our wallet. Plenty of undesirables staying here. Cockroahes everywhere. Smoke alarms not working. Then to add to the insult, they tried to charge us $200.00 for a hole in the wall that was already there. Totally disgusted, this place should be condemed. Health dept.needs to investigate this dump. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

we stayed overnight in the deluxe cabin. place was very clean and the bed very comfortable. has everything you need. they went out of their way for us with directions as we are from n.z. it is much more affordable than anywhere in surfers and close to resturants. not really modern but has a kitchen with what you need.would recommend.

Room Tip: get the most expensive one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jennie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Old and Run down.

I was disgusted when I arrived at this park with my family for our last minute gold coast getaway.
The grounds are overgrown, and the internet pictures are NOTHING like what you see when you arrive.
The office was run down, with baskets of washing sitting in clear view and very unprofessional. The pool area is a disgrace. The pool itself is VERY small, the hut (featured in pictures on the internet) looks old and ready to cave in. The pool furniture was old.
When we attempted to check in they didn't even have a cabin assigned to us. The owner, Dora, and I assume her daughter were argueing (in front of customers) back and forth about where we would be staying.
Dora took us to the cabin, I could barely get my normal sized sedan car in the carpark beside the Cabin due to VERY small tight conditions. The cabin was run down, and smelt.
We said that we would not be staying and we will take our money and go elsewhere and THAT is when all the fun began.
Dora was very abusive, wouldn't listen to us. Offering a free "upgrade" in which we declined as the park itself was disgusting and we were not prepared to have our children there.
We asked again for our money back, but she had processed the transaction earlier before we arrived (even though we were told it would not be processed until we arrived).
We got in our car after mouth fulls of abuse, yelling etc and had VERY upset children in the car due to all the chaos.
We attempted to leave the drive way of the park and Dora was still yelling and then laughing saying we will never see our money and to come back to stay there.
We left, and didn't look back!

I was HIGHLY disgusted in the park, the grounds, the cabin, the pool area, along with the customer service, which was non existant.

After leaving the park and finding a much nicer place to stay we found all the comments on here in regards to this park. I shake my head. So many people have been in the same position.

I DO NOT recommend this park at all. If you're planning on staying here, please do yourself a favour and go and visit the park and grounds before making the commitment.

Room Tip: Just don't stay there at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DDSD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.3 mi away
Broadwater Tourist Park
Broadwater Tourist Park
#1 of 11 in Southport
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
1.7 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southport Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southport Tourist Park

Address: 8 Frank St | Gold Coast Highway, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range: £104 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southport Tourist Park 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast's Accommodation Specialists at Southport Tourist Park, which offers the ideal setting for a family holiday and is conveniently located on the Gold Coast Highway at Southport. We are minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, only 100 metres from the Broadwater and within walking distance of major facilities including shopping centres, cinemas, restaurants and golf courses. We are central to all of the theme parks and attractions of the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southport Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing