We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Earls Court Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty ordinary”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Conveniently located in the Gold Coast health precinct with the hospital across the road and other clinics a short walk away. The room was spacious and clean, but that's where the good news ends. The room has bedding enough for four people (and the beds are super uncomfortable), but a teeny, tiny table and two chairs. The room is equipped with a microwave, kettle and toaster, one teaspoon and one knife, a teatowel, cups, poor quality tea and instant coffee and NO milk! The rooms are arranged in a rectangular fashion over two levels around a central well. Tiled pathways, a tin roof and staircases at each end; the rectangle is hollow in the middle over the two floors. People talking outside their rooms causes unbearable levels of hideous, echoing noise. It would be nice if a) people had some respect for their neighbours, and b) management were to ask people to turn down the volume (neither of these things happened). Lastly, despite "no smoking" signs everywhere, the nauseating stench of smoke is apparent the moment you exit your room. Needless to say, I'll be spending my money elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    31
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
20
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were there for the Gold coast marathon and had a 6.00am start time so wanted to be somewhere close that we could just walk to the start line. The accommodation is opposite the gold coast hospital and a 5-10 minute walk into Southport shopping area and parkland which suited us perfectly. We had a 1 Bedroom apartment at the back of the motor inn away from the road so heard no road , hospital or ambulance noise at all. If you need to be near the hospital area then this is definately the place to stay . If you were coming to the gold coast for a holiday there are plenty of other options in better locations for the price

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusader007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at Earls Court Motor Inn, the lovely couple John and Marlene were the best managers of a motel that I have ever stayed in, I have stayed at Earls Court previously but the last managers were disappointing to say the least - thank God for John and Marlene as I would probably have made this my last stay as my previous stay was upsetting.
Also I would like to thank the cleaners for an immaculate room and their friendly, helpful attitude to my needs was outstanding - Jill, Nicky and Nat your are champions and deserved this high praise. For a 3 1/2r property you felt the attention of a five star resort.
Breakfast by Chef John, simply divine 1 eggs perfect 2. bacon crispy 3. bangers a beauty 4. hash brown yummy - and service with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The Managers, a lovely kiwi couple, Linda and Les, were absolutely wonderful people. They bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. They went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and Les' breakfasts were mouth watering.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myrtle1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobs Well, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here in december 2012 as my husband was having surgery at a local clinic. We found the staff helpful,the room was clean and good value.
I would certainly recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 71AliceC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed in suite 1. It has 2 bedrooms, one with a queen and one with 2 singles. In the loungeroom however is another 2 singles. I thought this was a great idea. I loved the rooms, they were simple but had heaps of space. It was very clean, nice large kitchen and bathroom. The only problem that you may have is that the room is on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator. We only stayed 2 nights though so the stairs were not that much of a problem. Probably helped us keep off some holiday weight gain! My daughter loved the pool. This room had a view of the pool. It is directly across from the hospital, could not hear any traffic from the bedrooms. Could hear ambulances from the lounge room though - daughter loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brieana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I travelled with my mother and 5 year old and we were perfectly happy at the Earls Court Motor Inn. We had a large room with a queen and 2 single beds. Everything was very clean and in good condition. It is very handy to the hospital, Australia Fair, Seaworld and there are some good little restaurants around there too. I think previous negative reviews are a bit harsh - it is a motor inn, not the hilton and for the price, it was very good. They also have apartments at the back of the complex and a nice pool and bbq area. The standout feature of this place is the management: Linda was so kind and friendly and her husband makes a great breakfast! I'd be surprised if you were disappointed with this place. It's just fine!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJtravels71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.9 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
856 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Limassol Motel
Limassol Motel
#5 of 6 in Labrador
24 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
1.4 mi away
Jadran Motel & El Jay Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earls Court Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earls Court Motor Inn

Property: Earls Court Motor Inn
Address: 131 -133 Nerang St | Under New Ownership & Management, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Earls Court Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Southport, we have a total of 38 rooms available ranging from Motel Rooms in many different bedding configurations to 1 and 2 Bedroom Self Contained Apartments. With the bus, light rail and taxi stand located just outside our entrance you can leave your car behind to enjoy shopping and exploring the Gold Coast without the worries of parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earls Court Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing