We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Bay on the Broadwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ok it's not a beach front apartment but it is on the broardwater and the higher floors 3 up have great views. Easy walk around corner for take outs and bus. I love the pretty park across the road for morning walks. Our room was a 2 br and well appointed and comfy. Staff good and facilities great. This is not a new building and circa 80s feel but deep balcony and the road not a busy one.
Overall great stay and worth it if you are wanting to be out of the surfers rat race.

Room Tip: Level 5 up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalBayResort4215, Manager at Crystal Bay on the Broadwater, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your positive feed back and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Crysal Bay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    47
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
70
34
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, can even see sea world. Stayed on the 6th floor the room was fantastic I stayed out on the balcony reading and watching. Took full advantage of the gym, spa, pool, sauna and my fav the steam room. Close to everything. Pure and Jodie were great :)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalBayResort4215, Manager at Crystal Bay on the Broadwater, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for your positive feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Crystal Bay. Your comments have been passed onto Prue & Jodie. Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on the 13th floor in a 3 bedroom apartment, nice view from both balconies, comfy beds, NO BATHTUB though which was disappointing for a room with 3 rooms and 2 bathrooms, main bathroom was not very nice, air con did not cool 2nd room which was very hot from sun in the afternoon as it was on the western side. No sharp knife to use for cooking.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legian, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Found on wotif, great position, very convenient-walking distances to some great restaurants and a top spot if you want to go for a stroll. Super clean and well equipped. Stayed in a two bedded, which was only $129 /night, not huge but very comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hinesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Booval, Queensland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a one bed apartment on the 7th floor. Went Dow for the Australia Day long weekend. What a beautifully appointed unit. Had all that we required. Even the bed was comfortable and that's not what you get everywhere. We only had to walk around the corner for the bus to Pacific Fair or Surfers Paradise. KFC, Macdonalds, Subway were only a short walk away. Sushi and a Chinese restaurant were just across the road too. Close to most amenities. The walk along the broad water was terrific! The only drawback (and it seems silly to say it) was that the loo paper was so thin! You had to use a metre (not quite but you get my drift). A very relaxing time and we will be back again.

Room Tip: We asked to be up as high as possible but we were quite happy with our views from the 7th floor unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNM_MAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked for a beach holiday so we could walk along the sand and hear the ocean every day. When we arrived it only had broadwater views, not views of the pacific ocean as it boasts on the website. It had mislead us by saying stunning pacific ocean views...you couldn't even see the ocean and there was no sand or waves. When we asked management to cancel the booking they advised booking.com would keep a $200 deposit and that they are terrible to deal with and wouldn't return the deposit. I said I would ring them and try, they then changed their story to, oh no we would keep a $200 deposit. I did ring booking.com and they were willing to refund the whole amount.....I asked for a compromise and I said we would pay for the first night and cancel the rest of the stay to look for something on the beach as that is what we went to the Gold Coast for, but they wouldn't allow this. So we ended up having to stay and it ruined our holiday. They also said booking.com were charging $319 a night for a one night stay. I went upstairs to their website and checked and booking.com just showed no rooms available as it was sold out so this figure was also a lie and made up to stop us moving to a beach property. They would of lost nothing by giving a bit of customer service as this is a busy period....This is not how you run a business, false advertising and false stories...Definitely wouldn't stay again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to go to the Gold Coast for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueDoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalBayResort4215, Manager at Crystal Bay on the Broadwater, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and it wasn't what you thought you had booked but we do not advertise as being beach frontage or on the beach which is what you wanted. We did our best to accommodate you by moving you to an apartment on the 8th floor which does have ocean views. Booking.com supported our decision and agreed with our cancellation policy as they also felt our advertsing on their website was not misleading. Our property details on all websites clearly state we are "Crystal Bay on the Broadwater" and location maps on all sites clearly show we are situated on the "Broadwater" not beach frontage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

place was fantastic, management were incredible, very friendly and made you feel welcome. close to everything, great view, will definitely be returning soon, hard to find any fault with the place. Pool and spa are fantastic, great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theitgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.6 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqualine Apartments
Aqualine Apartments
#2 of 10 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Apartments
The Grand Apartments
#3 of 6 in Labrador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Apartments
Blue Waters Apartments
#2 of 7 in Labrador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Bay on the Broadwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Bay on the Broadwater

Property: Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
Address: 182 Marine Parade, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland QLD 4215 , Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Bay on the Broadwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Bay is situated on the Broadwater just a short distance north of Surfers Paradise. The central location is ideal for both the holiday makers and business traveler alike, with all attractions and the Southport CBD within easy reach.Enjoy the fantastic views and calm waters of the Broadwater from your private balcony or take a stroll along the waterfront to one of the many local restaurants.No matter what your reason is for visiting the Gold Coast, the friendly staff at Crystal Bay would love to welcome you and help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Bay on the Broadwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing