We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundale Motel
Nearby Hotels
Meriton Suites Southport(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palazzo Versace(Main Beach)
US$302
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea World Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra at Sharks(Southport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Spa
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
5
4
3
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
4
3
3
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The service was friendly and the price was perfect for the amount of time we stayed there... it was close to all amenities we were needing for a great night out on the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eula_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely comment about our business. We really are trying very hard to get it right everytime and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Janine - Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Older style motel which we were prepared for, however facilities were extremely poor. Beds the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in, no air conditioning and couldn't really leave the door open as there was no privacy. Bed sheets were clean but bedspreads were clearly not washed for a long time. For "budget" accommodation, it was not particularly cheap and I regret not paying a couple of bucks more to stay somewhere much nicer. I booked online and regret parting with my money before seeing this place. Location was central - walking distance to the centre of town but not worth it. I would caution people to check out the prices of nearby accommodation before committing to staying here. There are much nicer places for the same price. Convenient to Sea World and theme parks but not worth it. On the plus side - management was friendly and polite unlike as mentioned in other reviews here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banksia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

The Sundale Motel offers comfortable and convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. The Sundale Motel is under new ownership as at 1 April 2011 and we are indeed striving to address all the issues raised in your review. I know so many guests are reluctant to tell a business owner about their experiences face to face so this site is very valuable in helping us identify our faults and then work hard to correct them. Thank you so much for your comments and we do hope you will indeed come back and give us another go in the near future. Best regards, from the new team at the Sundale Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

To begin, the condition of this motel was absolutely appalling. As we entered the room there was an unbearable odour which made you feel as though the room had been locked for years. There were ants in the shower place and not even one toilet roll was left for use. To make matters worse the bed sheets had large stains on them. As you sat on the sofa that unbearable odour was again present. For us, this motel did not justify the $1350 that we were charged, and that to before we had arrived for our holiday.

As for the service of the motel this only added to our problems. The owner was rude over the phone and in person. Any attempt at negotiating changes to the motel was met with arrogance, lack of etiquette and misdemeanor. Otherwise he would simply hang up on us upon contacting him. Further, he was often intoxicated, at night, when spoken to directly. He even highlighted that an extra towel would cost us $5, when he had clearly not provided sufficient number of towels for the number of people staying there.

The only positive out of this was that i was living with my childhood mates and could survive the 5 days we spent there. If i was on my own i would have packed my bags in search for something which would at least meet the basic health and safety requirements. If you are looking for a decent, affordable, and pleasant environment, I would never recommend staying at this motel to anyone.

On the other hand, if you need a quick place to stay, and are willing to stay in atrocious conditions and filth, I would recommend that you stay here for one night. I'm only rating this hotel for 1/5 because there is no option for a 0- this is the extent of the disgust that my mates and I feel towards this motel. Looking back, I strongly discourage any person from staying here

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickyshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

The Sundale Motel offers comfortable and convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. The Sundale Motel is under new ownership as at 1 April 2011 and we are indeed striving to address all the issues raised in your review. I know so many guests are reluctant to tell a business owner about their experiences face to face so this site is very valuable in helping us identify our faults and then work hard to correct them. Thank you so much for your comments and we do hope you will indeed come back and give us another go in the near future. Best regards, from the new team at the Sundale Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed two nights and attended a wedding locally in Southport. Sundale motel was really located close to everything and just as we were told on the phone. Thankyou to the helpful staff who made our stay so wonderful as it was a stressfree time with all the family and we had over 6 rooms. Thanks for the late checkout option that really was a treat.

Stayed: May 2010
1  Thank Kimbo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Poorly equipped, broken facilities, did not meet health and safety standards.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunnerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

The Sundale Motel offers comfortable and convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. The Sundale Motel is under new ownership as at 1 April 2011 and we are indeed striving to address all the issues raised in your review. I know so many guests are reluctant to tell a business owner about their experiences face to face so this site is very valuable in helping us identify our faults and then work hard to correct them. Thank you so much for your comments and we do hope you will indeed come back and give us another go in the near future. Best regards, from the new team at the Sundale Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews