We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting !!!!”
Review of Giri Kana Cafe

Giri Kana Cafe
Ranked #13 of 226 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exciting !!!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great little cafe with a trendy vibe.It's open & airy so you don't feel locked in. Food is pretty good. Coffee is great. Staff are usually great but sometimes not. Who knows why. Go & try it out...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catstwo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“mmmmmmmm”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Fantastic tasting veggie food and good choice and the staff are great too. I would eat there every day if I lived there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stigg-o-tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I may convert”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

When my wife said she was taking me to a vegetarian restaurant for lunch I thought I wonder if I can get some real food on the way home, happy to say it was nothing like I assumed, the food may be meat free gluten free but it certainly isn't taste free I really was suprised just how delicious it was and cheap too we finiished off with coffee and cheese ake, the raw cheese cake being the star of the meal I,d go back just to for that, regards Steve

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stevew660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
1 review
“Worst vegan restaurant, don't waste your money”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I travelled for 20 minutes from Helensvale to Southport to have lunch at this restaurant since my family and I are all vegan. First of all, the service was poor, the two people at the cashier were not at all friendly when asking about how the food is prepared. Second, the food was not hot, we ordered baked potatoes and vegetable and chickpeas curry... the broccoli and veggies tasted like they've been there for long (maybe 2 days). The fruit smoothies were a disappointment, flavourless and not cold.
The tofu burger was not bad but beetroot and salad in the burger were old. Also, the kofta was old and they didn't even had the decency of warming them up.
I am extremely dissapointed, we will never visit this place again, we felt we wasted our $58.
The sitting arrangements are awful and of poor quality. The whole environment was not welcoming. The waitress was quite rude when we asked for suggestions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian cafe”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Excellent selection of good quality wholesome food. Tried most of the dishes & all where fantastic. The desserts are to die for especially the cheesecake (vegan). Value for money & you walk away feeling full & healthy. My husband & I both love this cafe & always look forward to eating there. They are open breakfast, lunch & dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kiki3822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giri Kana Cafe also viewed

Southport, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Southport, Gold Coast
Southport, Gold Coast
 

Been to Giri Kana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing