We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour Side Resort
Nearby Hotels
Meriton Suites Southport(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra at Sharks(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Earls Court Motor Inn(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sundale Motel(Southport)
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palazzo Versace(Main Beach)
US$301
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$549
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jadran Motel & El Jay Holiday Lodge(Labrador)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea World Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
7
43
27
34
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
43
27
34
68
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Horrible. Our stay was meant to be for 4 nights BUT we came home a night early. 3 ppl were booked in. Only the Queen bed had sheets & not the single. Only got 2 towels. It was not vacuumed. They charge you for fresh towels. The curtains were mouldy. You have to supply your own toilet paper. The air conditioner did not work. Office staffer had no idea about anything and didn't tell us a thing such as where the laundry is and the dumpster bins as U have to do your own laundry and pay for it $6 for the dryers only to find they do not work. If a child has an accident in the bed and you wash the sheets and dryer doesn't work no refund is given and then you have to pay for clean sheets.Reception is not open on week ends so you have to use an intercom that you can bearly hear on and when they do answer they speek in very poor English. Don't be fooled by other reviews thinking i9ts only the recent ones that are bad because new operator have taken over and this is when the trouble started. I would never stay again. Yuck. I go on holidays and expect a clean room and I do not expect to have to chase after bed linen and towels. Nore do I expect to have to supply my own toilet paper.

Room Tip: If you don't mind cleaning the room and making your own bed this is the place for you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Manager at Harbour Side Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks for the comments of our guests which are helpful to us to improve our service. After reading all the comments, we realized that we might need to review some of our existing policies regarding extra toilet papers, fresh towels, and cleaning service, These are being looked at by the management.
Our units are self-catering units. At the moment we provide a complimentary package for the guests to start with and any extra needs are supplied by the guests themselves. For the convenience of the guests who need extra products we do supply them at a low cost. We will look at the feasibility of changing the policies.
We committ to providing the best service we can and any comments and suggestions are most welcome. You are also welcome to revisit us some time later to see whether we have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My partner, my brother, his partner and myself went to stay at this horrible place.. After collecting the keys and finding out our air conditioning was just hanging on the wall and blowing thick muck everywhere, beds were like sleeping on hard bricks with dirty blankets, chairs falling apart and not to mention the cupboard that broke of its hinges and smashed me in the head. The pool was broken they gave us faulse advertisment we asked for a refund and went to a different location. The Japanese/Asian (not sure on culture) receptionist were rude and took us 3 1/2 hours to explain the disgusting rooms. Please PLEASE do not waste your time and effort. Much nicer places and cheap places around :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperisourbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, General Manager at Harbour Side Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Sorry to hear that our unit did not meet your expectation and we could not serve you. The reception could not refund the money promptly because it was against our policy and she needed a special approval of our manager. The manager checked the air conditioner and he could not find any problems. The swimming pool was indeed under maintenance on the day and therefore it was closed for safety reasons. But we informed our guests when they arrived. The pool was made ready the following day.
Harbour Side Resort endeavours to provide a relaxing and value-for-money place for families to spend their holidays in a convenient, central location of the Gold Coast area. We welcome our guests to give direct comments and suggestions on how we could make your stay a relaxing and memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager H, Manager at Harbour Side Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed at the Harbour Side Resort this week and it certainly is no resort. After traveling all day from Perth when I arrived my room key was not available. The reception staff staff wee two Japanese girls and were very hard to understand. The room was a dump, I travel a lot and this is close to the worst place I have ever stayed. If you are looking for some were to stay on the Coast, please do not stay at the Harbour Side Resort. I had two nights here and considered going to another resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Manager at Harbour Side Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

We investigated this case. The guest arrived at about midnight. Normally we have after hour service by phone. On that day, the reception girl came along to see the guest trying to help the guest to check in. But she mixed up the guest with another guest who has not checked in yet and gave a wrong key to the guest which caused inconvenience to the guest. She realized the mistake and apologized to the guest a few times the second day together with the reception manager, with a letter. We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet the expectation of the guest. But we certainly are trying our best to make the stay of our guests a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Highly deceiving photos. This is not so much a resort as it is a seedy motel crawling with rats. The type of place you expect to see a body floating in the pool. The receptionist has obviously had so many complaints that she's over her job. We retired to our room to find a tiny smelly room with broken chairs. We paid for an upgrade just so we could have a little space and a couch to sit on as opposed to two small broken chairs in the living area. This place takes your money upfront, and with good reason. Housekeeping, despite the brochure, is non-existant. The receptionist will try to make up an excuse why they didnt come in but they seem to only clean rooms that are vacant. We were there 4 days with no cleaning performed. Rooms clearly need some TLC. Broken aircons, poorly sealed doors and dirty sheets with uncomfortable beds. Seeing as house keeping didn't show up, we had to ask for a roll of toilet paper. The staff had the audacity to charge it to our room. We didn't expect much coming here, but it was truly disgusting. This was the only bad portion of our holiday. Do yourself a favour, spend a little more money elsewhere. This place I imagine only gets first-time customers using 'deals' and sneaky photography. I couldn't imagine anyone being a return customer. I wish I was an old prude but this review is simply how it is. I tried to be optimistic but as a young family I'd personally close this motel for renovations.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacobjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Harbour Side Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We recently took over the management of the resort. We hope our guests have a pleasant stay here. The resort provides a complimentary start up packages with toilet rolls, soap etc. Room service is not provided every day, but once a week or upon request for the guests who stay a longer time. We recently modified our confirmation letter to make the information more explicit to our first time guests. We do have lots of repeat guests and we are grateful to their support and will do our best to continue providing the best service we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews