We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time nor money”
Review of Mado Cafe

Mado Cafe
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Turkish
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time nor money”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

It had been at least a couple of years since we last visited. I had fond visions and memories of delicious madras kebab and manti. Unfortunately that's where it all remained, in my vision. From the service, food and overall atmosphere, Mado is on a fast downward spiral. Save your money time and appetite for somewhere else. The manti was cold, our kebab plate was beyond disappointing - sinewy lamb with bones, chicken pounded to nothing and kofte that tasted and resembled cheap sausage meat. Upon paying for the bill (for which we waited 15 mins and requested 3 times) we asked if they had new management. Yes, we were told about 7 months ago.
We were planning on getting Turkish coffee and sweets but after the lousy experience, we honestly couldn't get out of Mado quick enough. Don't bother.

Helpful?
2 Thank Madrevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Service poor”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is the 2nd time we've been here with a group of friends. The atmosphere for people who are not locals is not that welcoming. We brought along wine with us - as that is a normal custom for dining out. It is not welcome there. The waitress said she would ask the manager because it says on the back of the menu that you require management approval to bring drinks. She never did and never got back to us- the soft drinks we ordered took a long time to arrive. We asked if we could have some extra bread with our dips as we were one piece short for the number of people and she snapped at us 'ITS COMING'. We didn't realize you got 2 baskets and we did wait for some minutes in case there was a second basket before we asked. The main meals don't come out together. Some of us were almost finished before others were served. It wasn't that busy, most others were just eating desert. Apart from that - the food is really good and reasonably priced, but we wont be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Little Gem in Auburn”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Great place to relax and enjoy some great food, plenty of menu choices, excellent prices and fantastic service. Restaurant has great character.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe with amazing character”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have visited Mado Cafe a few times, and enjoy the decor and character of the place. The interiors is richly decorated with wall hangings, brass items, rugs, and other artefacts.

The choice of beverages include Turkish coffee, various teas, etc; plus you also have the many flavours of Ice Cream (which is a very different consistency from the usual ice-cream or gelato). We've also tried a few desserts, and enjoyed the charred custard very much.

Mado also serves kebabs and main meals, but their speciality is desserts and ice-cream

There is so much on the menu here, that one needs to return a few times to sample the variety on offer

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJD013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Auburn!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

If you're ever in Auburn, make sure you check this place out.

Great food, service and atmosphere all for great value for money.

Make sure you wash your meal down with te Turkish tea!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chocc0_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mado Cafe also viewed

Auburn, South Australia
Auburn, Greater Sydney
 
Auburn, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Mado Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing