We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub style accommodation”
Review of Burra Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burra Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burra
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pub style accommodation”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great location in centre of town. Economical, nice pub style room albeit dated, great evening meal and a self-prepare continental breakfast. Friendly and helpful hosts. Perfect place for an overnight stay to break a long car journey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby_and_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
60
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philomena7
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A clean, spacious room with direct access to the lovely little creek in Burra. The usual inclusions and located convniently for all the (many, many) heritage sites and the eateries (we didn't try the on-site restaurant).

The only draw back was the 'heated' pool and spa - while we expected the pool to be tepid at best, the spa at least we thought would be properly hot. A bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthcombeRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This motel is as clean as u get. The restaraunt was above excellent. The food wonderful and Paige the waitress was the best we have encounted in a very long time. Very friendly, concerned about your meals and top of her game. Well done to all. We will be back. TV is very very small.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews i was wondering what the motel was going to be like. And learning from experience find out for obese self.
We arrived in the afternoon. And our room was No 15. We were both pleased with the size of the room and the king size bed. Having a disability the bathroom was great.
My husband also took advantage of the swimming pool. With was very clean and relaxing .
We found the managers very helpful and obliging .
We went to the Royal Exchange Hotel for tea. The service and meal was excellent. The prices were reasonable.
Would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor harbor
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

When ringing for a booking we were put through the 3rd degree to make sure we were legit.
On arrival we found the proprietors were not as friendly as we would normally experience - made the stay a little uncomfortable.
All that said the room was spacious, clean and well appointed. View out to adjoining creek area which is highlighted as a feature was unkempt. Small things needed some t.l.c. - screen door didnt lock and car parking area really needs some upgrading. Restaurant was not available
Whilst we enjoyed our stay in Burra it appears lack of competition has a part to play in this accomodation being as it is. Pity as it has so much to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

When we arrived at 3.00pm we could not book in for 30 minutes as there system was down so we were told to come back in 30 minutes which we did an were told to come back in 20 minutes which we did an after 5 minutes we finally booked in.The room has cracks in the bathroom walls and is in need of a makeover.Puting our breakfast menu in we were told that we could not get breakfast as they had no staff,we had booked through Golden Chain so they didn't advise us about this even in an up date email.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurraMotorInn, Manager at Burra Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Wayne. We apologise for having to wait to check-in - due to the system outage, we were unable to view room allocations for a short time. Regarding breakfast, we do not advertise a cooked breakfast, and are offering a continental breakfast whilst our kitchen staff are on leave (they usually take time of during the quieter months, ie Dec or Jan, especially during Christmas). A cooked breakfast can be obtained from the Mobil service station, about 500m away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Found the accommodation very good - only one complaint - no power points at the bedside - these were behind the bed in middle of wall - so i had to roll the bed out to gain access to this - not a problem as bed rolled easily - power point to enable me to boil water in kettle - above fridge - bit awkward for small person reaching - Fridge hidden nicely behind sliding doors and these had to be slid back & forward to access cupboard for cups etc - not a problem - but mine were sticking and didn't run smoothly - so i was having a nice time. last minor thing - which i reported was the plug on the electric blanket had wires showing - not bare but the blue & brown showing - next stop copper Only reason i noticed this was because i had to roll the bed out. - but staff very friendly -
i notified them of bare wires by writing on back of breakfast docket - no notepaper avail and i didn't have any - but yes i would stay there again - Was expecting wifi but none avail or i forgot to ask about it - Oh i needed power point close to bed as i have a sleep apnea machine

Room Tip: make sure easy access to power points
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moirahendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurraMotorInn, Manager at Burra Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
The electric blanket was immediately replaced and the sliding cupboard door attended to. Kettle can be plugged in to easily accessible power point in bathroom, and as mentioned, power points behind bed can be accessed by rolling the bed back - feel free to ask for assistance from reception if needed, we are more than happy to help.
Vouchers for WiFi are available free of charge from reception.
We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burra
21.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Clare Central
20.9 mi away
Clare Country Club
Clare Country Club
#1 of 3 in Clare
778 reviews
21.7 mi away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Clare
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Fruiterer's B&B
The Fruiterer's B&B
#1 of 2 in Farrell Flat
27 reviews
22.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Clare
21.5 mi away
Clare Valley Heritage Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burra Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burra Motor Inn

Property: Burra Motor Inn
Address: Market Street, Burra, South Australia 5417, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Burra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burra Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burra Motor Inn is a comfortable, well appointed motel situated alongside the tranquil, tree-lined Burra Creek with lovely views and abundant birdlife at your door. A short 350m stroll from Burra's town centre, Burra Motor Inn offers accommodation with air conditioning, heating, electric blankets, Foxtel, en suites, bar fridge, and tea & coffee making facilities. Our 20 modern, spacious motel units all feature a King or Queen sized bed. Conveniently located onsite, our well-reviewed Jumbucks Restaurant is a warm & inviting space that opens up onto a lawned outdoor area looking out across the Burra Creek. Admire the Rail Memorabilia and Australiana whilst you wine & dine in an intimate setting with locally sourced food & wine. Jumbucks Restaurant is open to guests and the general public from 6pm, Monday to Saturday. Cooked Breakfast is available in the restaurant by appointment, or a continental breakfast can be ordered to the room. Base yourself in the heritage township of Burra whilst you discover parks and wildlife, walk the trails of great men in history such as Sir Hubert Wilkins, General Douglass McArthur, Henry Bryan and pioneers of the Merino wool industry. Explore the beautiful Goyder region, and return to Burra Motor Inn in the evenings to relax in the heated spa. Stay a little longer and visit a few of the numerous attractions within an hour of Burra. Visit historic townships such as Mount Bryan, Terowie, Morgan, Mintaro, Peterborough, Eudunda, (and more). Experience the rail history of the region at Steamtown, and taste the wines at the Cellar doors of world-renowned wineries in the Clare Valley. Within the township of Burra, visit the Burra Regional Art Gallery featuring artwork from local artists, and purchase a Burra Heritage Passport from the Visitor Information Centre and enjoy access to numerous historic sites and museums for the duration of your stay. Visit us on Facebook and view our photo albums for photographs of the many attractions around our region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burra Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing