We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hosts, well appointed rooms, quiet spot with a good view into the valley.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbotsford Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbotsford Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Lyndoch B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good hosts, well appointed rooms, quiet spot with a good view into the valley.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Julian and Jane are great hosts and cook up a mean breakfast. They were a bit long on duck eggs when we were there but they were very tasty. The full cooked breakfast sets you up for the day...well until about 2pm anyway, and provides a good lining for the start of your wine tasting. Their advice is friendly and on the money about where to go and where to eat. I liked the touch of the chocolates and port in the room as a bit of a night cap. I did say to Julian I was disappointed not to get a better view of the vegetable patch..still can't please everyone. There is a big lounge area to sit in and read and the days papers were there each morning. All in all a good spot and I will happily go back. I would urge them to consider an offer of dinner so that we can enjoy the wines of the Barossa without having to worry about driving.

Room Tip: They all seemed good to me...don't hink you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverDanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    17
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
97
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We echo that the country house is in a beautiful location, great views, peaceful with wonderful hosts. The rooms are large and very comfortable. It is easy to get to and to explore the valley from. We received great eating and wine visiting info from the hosts. Coming from outside of Australia, my wife and I had great fun seeing Kangaroos from the grounds and going to and from. The breakfasts were large with enough choices. The same tomatoes that Jane serves daily cost $48 apiece in a 5 star restaurant in Sydney. Would love to come back. The place is five star because of the views, tranquility, hosts and location.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the out buildings(deluxe) and request a room with a view from your porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HNN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I just had a great weekend at Abbotsford Country House, the place is beautiful and quiet. Amazing views, very clean, nice bed linen the breakfast was delicious I loved it... Jane & Julian were just fantastic... I was there for a weekend and didn't want to leave... This place is fantastic I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: As they only serve breakfast over there I would recommend you to have lunch before your arrival....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morumbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in December 2012. This is a bed and breakfast establishment is a beautiful location in the hills above Lyndoch overlooking the valley. This is a place to relax and get away from the world and a great base from which to explore the Barossa. It is not a luxury hotel and if you are looking for bars, restaurants, plasma tv's and the internet this is not for you. The owners have put a lot of thought and effort into creating a place to relax and wind down and the experience is more like sharing a house than staying at a hotel.
The rooms are large and well appointed with great beds and large bathrooms. Nice touches include local chocolates and port, fresh ground coffee and plunger.
Breakfast is the only meal available but it sets you up for the rest of the day. Breakfast is a communal affair, leisurely and friendly - we stayed for 4 nights and there was always a range of interesting people to with whom to share conversation. All produce is locally procured and I can highly recommend the haggis and black pudding.
The owners sense of hospitality and philosophy behind what they are trying to achieve here is something that suited us perfectly. They are friendly, inclusive, knowledgeable and work hard to make the place something different.
I can appreciate that this is not everyone's idea of a perfect place to stay and certainly not recommended for children. But if you want to get away from it all for a while and explore what the Barossa has to offer Abbotsford is very much in the spirit of the place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JON E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

It was definitely a nice, relaxing stay but not worth the $450 a night we paid. Breakfast was not a large spread, it was boring and nothing special. Condoms in the bathroom is downright tacky. The showers were great though. The rooms do not look like the photos, it's a little misleading because we expected a beautiful classic french design overlooking the hills. The idea is there but the decor needs more work. It looks cheap and like someone's nanna's house.

Julian knows the area very well and plays host very well. Other couples we talked to agree, that it was lackluster. Clearly the people excited about this place driving the ratings up had lower standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Desert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

our 2 days stay in the Abbotsford Country House was superb. the location is wonderful, with great view over vineyard, the guest rooms were delicious and well decorated with typical english country house flavour, bathroom could be improved since there was no space to put daily care products, breakfast was healthy and tasty and served in the main house in common with other guests.
the owners were very helpful and kind and being welcomed by their 2 lovely dogs was a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerald1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Abbotsford Country House ticks all boxes for the Barossa Valley with fantastic views of vineyards, traditional feel (but newly built) and Julian the owner is welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful.

The rooms are well fitted with air conditioning/heating which worked really well and very comfortable bed for 2 nights of deep sleep.

The cooked breakfast was delicious and it was interesting to meet our fellow guests at the big communal table - one kind couple giving us a lift back from Appellation as it turned out they were also going at the same time as us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolianP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndoch
3.5 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
7.6 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
1.3 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 3 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Country House

Property: Abbotsford Country House
Address: 219 Yaldara Drive, Lyndoch, South Australia 5351, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Lyndoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbotsford Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Barossa at award-winning Abbotsford Country House. Enjoying breathtaking views and well-placed location to tour the Adelaide Hills and Clare wine regions. This fully hosted, Colonial Georgian guesthouse hotel has 8 beautifully appointed suites, each with substantial ensuites. Abbotsford promises an intimate stay and personalized service dedicated to a truly memorable Barossan food and wine experience. Includes: Full breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbotsford Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Country House Hotel Lyndoch
Abbotsford Country Hotel
Abbotsford Country House Lyndoch, Barossa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing