We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Kiwi Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbotsford Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Lyndoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“4 Kiwi Travelers”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The four nights we spent based at Abbotsford, while we enjoyed the beautiful Barossa and South Australia, were a highlight of our holiday. Our hosts Julian and Jane welcomed us into their home and provided all we could need for a relaxed, peaceful stay.The separate bedroom units have all amenities and are really comfortable. Breakfasts were a highlight and the views a delight. Highly recommend to any potential visitor

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    18
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

No wonder this place is rated number 1 on Trip Advisor for the Barossa Region! This place is absolutely gorgeous with the most beautiful gardens and surroundings. Rooms are equipped with everything you need, far beyond any hotel or B&B I have ever stayed at. The breakfast was the best I've eaten in a B&B and it is cooked as you order - and all local produce of course. The hosts Jane and Julian are so welcoming and accommodating. They should be so proud of what they have to offer to the world! I couldn't recommended this place enough! You will have to come and sees for yourself what a slice of heaven this place is! We would stay here every time we hit the Barossa! Very impressed!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique199016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful location with great views and breakfast is outstanding .
We arrived and had time before our dinner, at another location, and had some wine that we had just bought down the street at a cellar door and Jane was nice enough to give us a nice plate of cheese and crackers.
Very warm and wonderful couple. Would go back anytime!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlobeBiker141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and found Abbotsford Country House to great place to base ourselves for our time in the Barossa. The room we were given was exceptionally clean and quite large, and reflected the photos on the website. My only criticism would be the mini fridge being out in the open rather than in a cupboard a la most places I've stayed. The bed was comfy, with good quality linen and a fantastic sleep.

In terms of breakfast, it was good without being great - the poached eggs were overcooked on both occasions, coffee wasn't hot enough and some nice sourdough would have been good. The local muesli was brilliant however, and with the Scottish influence there were lots of options in terms of meats.

All in all, we really enjoyed our time in the Barossa and thought ACH was a great base to explore from.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andystar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A beautiful location overlooking the valley and close Lyndoch to village. This is an ideal place to relax. The lack of TV or noise to disturb was wonderful. Breakfast is full on, prepared by two wonderful hosts, and for larger groups dinner can be accommodated with what looked to be a decent menu (didn’t get to try). This is an ideal location for couples to explore the valley whilst returning to a warm sitting room to rest before heading out again fordinner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxAndEnjoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hosts Jane and Julian were very friendly and helpful, making restaurant reservations for consecutive nights when we first booked and before we arrived. The propety is located on a hill with a lovey peaceful rural, vineyard view. Main bedroom was spacious, bed very comfortable and bathroom well appointed with bath and shower. A little more space in the bathroom to place toiletry bag, electric shaver etc would have been helpful but didn't make much difference, and certainly didn't spoil the experience. As we (including our two friends) spent our day out in the Barossa Valley visiting wineries, not having a TV in the room was not a big deal for us but might be if you were spending a long time there

If you want to get away for a break here and don't intend to visit the surrounding area, then take some books and sit in front of the fire in the main building, which had a huge sitting room and very comfortable couches. I had no problem with Telstra phone coverage so was able to access news feed, email etc without problems.

Breakfast was plentiful with a variety of hot and cold choices including haggis while we were there. I stayed with scrambled eggs on toast, greek yoghurt with home-made stewed fruits, jam on toast and tea. Very tasty, freshly cooked to order and better than most restaurants. Sharing breakfast at the same table as other people may bother some, but is part of the experience. If you don't want to talk to others, get there at 8.30 rather than later, or read the supplied morning paper and make it clear you don't want to talk, or both - easy.

One serious suggestion though...need a light at the base of the steps in the right hand side block. It was very dark there and the verandah light did not illuminate the bottom steps.Two of us nearly fell down as we walked down the steps to our car.... a cheap solar powered light would probably provide enough light to make it obvious where the steps are.

All in all, highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rl_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A warm welcome and a perfect night’s sleep followed by a delightfully slow Sunday morning breakfast – the full monty. Thanks to hosts Jane and Julian for their part in our special weekend in the Barossa. The room has some lovely touches and the house felt like home, and the views across the valley are idylic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndoch
3.6 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
6.5 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
296 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#10 of 14 in Tanunda
179 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Country House

Property: Abbotsford Country House
Address: 219 Yaldara Dr, Lyndoch, South Australia 5351, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Lyndoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbotsford Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Barossa at award-winning Abbotsford Country House. Enjoying breathtaking views and well-placed location to tour the Adelaide Hills and Clare wine regions. This fully hosted, Colonial Georgian guesthouse hotel has 8 beautifully appointed suites, each with substantial ensuites. Abbotsford promises an intimate stay and personalized service dedicated to a truly memorable Barossan food and wine experience. Includes: Full breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abbotsford Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Country House Hotel Lyndoch
Abbotsford Country Hotel
Abbotsford Country House Lyndoch, Barossa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing