We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Marion Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marion Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Marion Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Finding we had a few spare days after attending a function in the Barossa Valley we decided to explore the Yorke Peninsula. We were very surprised when we arrived at how lovely the motel was. Rooms very roomy and spotlessly clean. So quiet. Great continental breakfast left in the room as well. Big thanks to Robyn for suggesting that we spend a few hours exploring Innes National Park. We took her advice and she was spot on! Make sure you walk just a few metres to the hotel for dinner. Best meal we have eaten in a very long time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A small motel with five rooms, most having a queen and a single bed. Plenty of space, comfortable beds and chairs, fridge, kettle, toaster, and a spacious bathroom with good toiletries. Robyn greeted us and had plenty of information about the area, including the fish we might catch (though we didn't!). I would happily have stayed longer and hope to return one day, and spend a week or more in this lovely part of South Australia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanthorpe, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

great little gem at the bottom of York Peninsula- brand new motel- and 2 min walk to the pub where I had the best meal in a very long time- Recomend that one books in advance as only 5 units - easy walks to beach

Room Tip: book in advance on 5 units
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

In a region where I discovered accommodation is scarce, the very friendly and efficient Robyn got me a last-minute booking in a clean, spacious unit with a great restaurant next door and on the doorstep of stunning Innes National Park. This was the best place by far I stayed in during my three nights on Yorke Peninsula.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalRover365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This little motel is a nice place to get away - very tastefully decorated and extremely friendly and accommodating staff. Beautifully designed tavern next door overlooking the beach with all day wood fired oven pizzas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nparletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When we drove way out the peninsulas we did not expect to find such a lovely little motel. The rooms are as clean as can be and very tastefully decorated. The linens are excellent. We were very comfy. It was quiet in the room and we had a good night. The restaurant next door provided us with a good dinner at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All seem comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a nice place to stay - the owner Robyn is a friendly, very pleasant lady. The decor she has chosen for the motel is very tasteful. The room/bathroom is spotless. A plus to be able to walk to the Tavern, jetty and beach. Nice base if wanting to explore the Innes National Park - which we just loved - spectacular views. A trip worth taking.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marion Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion Bay Motel

Property: Marion Bay Motel
Address: Jetty Road, Marion Bay, South Australia 5575, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Marion Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marion Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beachside location & built from corrugated iron & natural timber the studio style complex combines an ultra modern exterior with Australian bush charm. Inside the room - and bathroom- is surprisingly spacious, with decor straight from the pages of a glossy home decorating magazine and quality linen you wouldn't normally expect to find in a country motel. Widescreen LCD TV, R/S Aircon, Foxtel, free WI-FI, bar fridge, tea & coffee facilities & continental breakfast available. The Marion Bay Motel is an accredited organisation & proudly boasts both local & state Tourism Awards. We Provide a high standard of quality customer service giving our guests a memorable experience. The Motel is adjacent the Marion Bay Tavern with fully licensed restaurant, A'la carte menu, Wood-oven pizza, extensive wine list & 10 beers on tap. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing