We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an institution”

Maggie Beer's Farm Shop
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Nuriootpa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,356 reviews
2,999 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,885 helpful votes
“Such an institution”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Maggie Beer has done so much for the food industry in Australia and this place is a little gem. Perhaps it depends on what day and time you go there but I think this place is symbolic of variety and quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    398
    154
    74
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sorry Maggie”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Over crowded, poor service, terrible layout and over priced - did not make for an enjoyable dining experience

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mareeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Firstly my whole family were quite looking forward to having lunch at Maggie Beer's. When we arrived the building was inviting and the deck was a delightful place to sit and eat while looking out over the pond. Unfortuantly it was the lack of variety on the menu that let the whole experience down. Apart from a terrine, the only other options were various pate baskets. That is - an unopened tub of MB's pate (that incidently could be purchased anywhere from numerous retail outlets), a bread bun, a sprig of green and a small bowl of a spicey grain (looked similar to cous cous). We ended up having to order extra bread buns to make the meal/pate go further At the end of it there was simply too much pate within each basket compared with the accompaniments. All in all we were of the opinion that none of use would be hurrying back. Such a pity that there were no "typical" Maggie style meals on the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Tree Gully, Australia
1 review
“a visit to maggie beers farm”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we decided to show our friends from Victoria how great our barossa wine region is with visits to barossa estate winery and seppletsfields winery, then we decided to visit Maggie Beer's Farm Shop, after hearing about it and seeing it on tv. upon arrival, we found the place full and overcrowded, and the male toilet was just outside the dining area, could not see any disabled toilet in the same vicinity.
we proceeded to order and tried to find a table for 4, but had to go on the outer walkway downward from maggies cooking show area. we ordered some food, but when i asked for a small steak and potatoes i was told sorry we do not have any steak or potatoes. the others had duck soup, and a piece of cold meat which resembled bully beef, i had to settle for a bread roll dipped in olive oil, we did not stop for drinks or sweets, i personally would not go back again, and after trying unsuccessfully to attend the mens room, 3 times, the only one single MALE toilet in the building, it was continually engaged, absolutely appalling, one toilet for over 100 patrons, the car park HAD HUNDREDS OF PARKING SPACES, BUT SURELY AN OUTSIDE PROPER ABLUTION BLOCK SHOULD BE INSTALLED IMMEDIATELY. ESPECIALLY ONE FOR THE DISABLED.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing Like a Farm”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Initial appearance very disappointing. Big green shed with little character, though deceptive. Inside lovely rustic décor, appeared cluttered and cramped in produce area. Deck overlooking pond with turtles swimming around. Great place for coffee and chocolate and raspberry brownie!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maggie Beer's Farm Shop also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Lyndoch, Barossa Valley
 
Angaston, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Maggie Beer's Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing