We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
40
52
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
52
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here room was clean the ground floor wine region every respect very pleasant stay one night stay great place to stay great stop would stay here again great country few minutes walk free wifi road noise the owner great spot comfortable accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Able relax in a large room after a long drive. The bed was comfortable and the shower and bathroom excellent. There was a little road noise (large transports) , but not bothersome. A very pleasant stay

Room tip: Ground floor rooms are easier to load luggage in and out
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

A group of 10 people from Melbourne occupying 5 rooms over a period of 5 nights, gathered once again at the Coonawarra Lodge in Penola, SA. Mine hosts, Max and Dianne once again exceeded all expectations as they made us all feel at home and even found time to socialize with us. If there is an award for best hosts, they would win hands down. Facilities at the motel are excellent. Plenty of on site parking. Whilst we stayed for 5 nights, it is the perfect location (half-way) between Adelaide and Melbourne to break your journey. I would recommend this motel at the drop of a hat.

Room tip: All rooms are equally located within the complex.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gjcollins2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max and Dianne S, Owner at Coonawarra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

A big thanks for the review and so pleased your time spent with us was enjoyable.
It was a pleasure to host such happy and welcoming group and we certainly appreciate the invitation to join in and the friendships developed over the few days.

Hope you enjoy your fine collection of Reds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed here for one night and had a very pleasant stay. The room is quite large, the bed comfortable and we had a great shower. There is plenty of tea and coffee provided and a toaster for hot toast in the morning. We ordered room service for breakfast and it arrived on time and hot - and was very nice too! Our room was downstairs and we could not hear any noise from other guests or the road.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LadyLou2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max and Dianne S, Owner at Coonawarra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for the review and we're pleased to know your stay with us was a pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

The "Pick of the Bunch" ... this lovely Limestone Coast Motel continues to offer wonderful, spotless accommodation. Our outstanding hosts Max and Dianne, provide excellent service from the first phone call/email to the last wave goodbye as we leave. Penola is filled with history, culture, architecture, heritage, great places to eat and lots to do. Visit soon.....you won't be disappointed

Room tip: All rooms are excellent!
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MimKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max and Dianne S, Owner at Coonawarra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Great Review.... thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We decided to stop in Penola on our way to the Clare valley and on our way back from the Clare valley. This meant we would break our journey from Melbourne to Clare and return.
The motel is currently up for lease but still our room was clean and comfortable and we were made feel welcome.- Meals are no longer available but there are some snacks in the fridge. The shower was great , parking easy and the position of the motel is very good for access to the township and the many wineries.
Also the staff were friendly and helpful

Room tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor and then a room on the ground floor - Both largish and comfortable
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max and Dianne S, Owner at Coonawarra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thanks for the kind words and reccommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews