We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have been booked here for one quick stop during our honeymoon trip. We stayed just one night. The context is nice, but I don't know, the room was a bit old. The bathroom was impossible! the shower is just a tent in the middle of the room. And my husband who is 1.90m tall could not shower properly because the faucet was placed too low on the wall.
The owners were nice, but not really welcoming. I don't know it was not conving and i wouldn't reccomend it for a longer stay. There's a best western around there, and it seemed a bit newer. I'm sure that they have the front room well equipped and renovated at the harbor view motel, but the old ones are quite disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ermione81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Robbie here Owner of the Harbour View Motel in Robe.

I would just like to sincerely state that I am not sure if you have the right property. I cannot understand your issues with your accommodation if you were staying at the Harbour View Motel. I am the first person to take on board problems with rooms and facilities as Don and I have owned our Motel for eleven years now and know how important it is to try and get things right for our guests. We learn from our guests and try to rectify problems. Every year we upgrade a certain amount of bathrooms in the winter season and are very proud of the floor to ceiling tiles and new look. Our shower roses are at a regulation height. We do have two bathrooms left but they definitely are not situated in the middle of the room. I cannot understand this comment at all. I do agree that our Standard bathrooms are not the quality of the more expensive suites but I guarantee they will have our high standard of cleanliness. In this situation I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. I noted that you stayed in Robe last October, and not sure if you remember and realize but there is another property situated 200 metres from us. This property is closer to the Best Western Motel that you mentioned.

I am sorry that your welcome to your property was not what it should have been as when guests arrive we give them a map, tell them points of interest not to be missed and of course the best places to eat in Robe. Our little fishing village is so lovely we do like to share it and make sure our guests have a great “Robe Experience.”

Our Harbour View Motel does provide different levels of accommodation for different budgets. We offer Upstair Panoramic View suites, Ground Level Harbour View suites, Deluxe and Standard suites. Of course as you pay more for your suite the room type becomes a better facility. In this way we are able to help all budgets as not everyone can afford the best.

We offer photos of the different suites we have available at our direct Robe Harbour View Motel website. Make sure that you are on our direct site as this will show photos under the Button “Sleep”. If you book on our site you are guaranteed the cheapest price available.

Overall, the team here at the Harbour View Motel are very sorry that your accommodation did not meet your expectations. I have passed your review onto Management and staff and we all wish you a better stay next time in Robe.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    146
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
40
247
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

4 friends driving from Adelaide to Point Lonsdale made this the first overnight stop and our ground floor rooms were comfortable and good value. The service we received was great and the friendliness of the owners could not be faulted. Very helpful advice was provided about Robe and the surrounding area. We were sorry we were staying for one night only!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience staying with us at the Harbour View Motel.

It’s wonderful to hear that you had a lovely start to your trip. Due to Robe being only 3 ½ hours from Adelaide we believe that it’s the perfect stop on your way south. After a few hours of driving, there’s nothing better to do than to arrive at your destination and be able to sit back and relax. Our Ground Level View suites are perfect for this as once you have made yourself at home, you can make a cuppa, or even a glass of wine or a good book and sit at the tables and chairs located in front of your room.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and are glad to hear that you were pleased with the service that you received. We believe that the staff play a vital role in your stay and for this reason we try help in any way possible. We like to go the extra mile by showing our guests when they arrive, what there is to do in Robe and where the best eateries are. No matter what you have planned, we are happy to help. Whether it’s ringing ahead to make a booking or vouchers for wineries, we try to make your experience here in Robe a relaxing and enjoyable one.

Once again thank you for your comments and we wish you a safe trip home

Kat Lloyd

Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Upstairs room with balcony overlooking the harbour, very modern, large and clean, spa bath - not cheap but a great treat for a night or two. It's about a ten min walk into town, through the park opposite and along the sea front, owners helpful with suggested walks and restaurants - although the place is currently up for sale. Hopefully whoever buys it will maintain the current standards.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room overlooking harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crushertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
On behalf of the entire team at Harbour View Motel, I would like to thank you for a great review.

It’s always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoy the Upstairs Private Balcony Suites; each suite overlooks the park, marina, harbour and Guichen Bay. During all seasons of the year these suites are a wonderful treat for couples. In summer you can enjoy the shimmering aqua blues and greens of the harbour, while in winter you can watch the storms rolling in over the cliffs tops with the wind fish tailing over the rough seas.

Don and myself own the Harbour View Motel and have placed the property up for sale as our family have all shifted away from Robe and we would like to spend more time with our grandchildren. We are still very passionate about our property and spend each day making sure that the standard we have become known for is maintained. Each of the rooms have been individually furnished and we are continually adding and upgrading what’s on offer. You can view the suites on the Robe Harbour View Motel website.

Once again thank you for your comments and we would like to wish you a safe trip home

Sincere Regards

Robbie Maddern

Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights, Very nice clean rooms, comfy bed, everything you need for a short stay, nice staff and very clean bathroom, a bit too pricey at $180.00 per night for a ground view room when you don't really get a view as people park their huge 4 wd's and cars right up in front of your window and outside table and chairs... So close you can quite literally reach your arm out and grab a bull bar. I was quite sad to wake up on my last day and find two massive 4wd's parked right up close to my outside sitting area leaving no view at all. I do wish I had just booked a standard room at $135 per night and not paid an extra $45.00 a night for nothing.
Im not sure why they called it a "ground view" when they have the guest car spaces positioned in front of the rooms...?

Room Tip: Book a standard room, or go all out and $250 a night and stay in a balcony room upstairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetsoul79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Much appreciated for your review, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to improve our services.

We "Thank you" for your Great comments regarding our cleanliness, refurbishment and facilities, we take pride in keeping our motel up to date for the comfort and pleasure of our guests.

Regarding price of our suites you have stayed during our Peak Period in January Holidays which is the highest time of year. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in Robe and we feel we offer good value given our great location and facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your price expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.

We have reviewed your feedback regarding parking and apologize for the cars that were parked in front of your room. This is not normal practice for other guests to park their car there but it has happened on this occasion at night time. I am able to ask guests to shift during the day time but apologize if I do not know there is an issue after dark. We do have a large parking area along side our motel but this must have been overlooked by guests. I have passed your remarks onto management so they can review the situation.

The Ground View rooms are positioned at the front of our Motel which separates them from other suites, making them an advantage as they are quite private and less noisy from other guests as you only have one next door neighbour.

Summer holidays have been fantastic here in Robe with the charm and fine hospitality of a year round holiday destination. We welcome holidaymakers looking for a short Getaway to come stay at the Harbour View Motel, enjoy Robe’s stunning beaches and rugged cliffs, tranquil lakes and mountainous sand dunes. Take a drive on long beach, relax or indulge in the local Limestone Coast Wineries, then enjoy great seafood at Robe’s trendy Cafe’s and great Restaurants. If you would like to know what’s happening check out our website, Location, “What’s on in Robe”.

While I am sorry that you had a less-than-perfect experience with our Motel, please know that your feedback will be used to improve our offering and I hope you will stay with us next time you holiday in Robe.

We wish you all the best for the rest of your holiday and a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Harbour View Motel for 5 nights and left very satisfied and relaxed! The location was perfect - quiet, nice park opposite, great views and away from traffic and crowds, yet only a five minute walk from shops/restaurants and swimming beaches. The staff were very friendly and helpful with providing tips and advice on local activities. The air-conditioned room was large and comfortable and the kitchen appliances provided were great for self-catering. There was the occasional noise from other guests in the carpark close to our room, but was always short-lived and did not cause any great disturbances. Overall, we had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at this motel, made so by the friendly staff and perfect location. Great value for money, especially in peak holiday season. We would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay in Robe.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbieMaddern, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. The team here at the Harbour View, enjoy reading guests comments as it makes us feel we are on the right track in providing good quality accommodation for our guests.

Our rooms are designed for a comfortable stay, be it for one night or a longer stay such as yours. It’s important to us that you can treat your room as either an escape or simply a place to sleep. We have recently updated our photos of our suites to show refurbishment and detail, you can view them on the Robe Harbour View Motel website.

We take great pride in providing insight into the town’s happenings and locations. Robe has so much to offer; we would hate for you to miss out on a possible highlight for your trip. This weekend is the 1st Great Southern Ocean Boat and Fishing Show, which will see the harbour and marina spark up with entertainment, local products/services and opportunities to experience the ocean in various ways. Our location is fantastic on any day, but come this weekend, we will have the best Panoramic view in Robe of the Boat and Fishing Show.

Once again, thank you for your review. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. All the best for 2012 and we hope you have a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The Harbour View Motel was wonderful. We only stayed one night but wished it was for longer. Friendly owners, clean and well equipped. Robe was a lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCanadianHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for your very kind words and great review. All of us here at The Harbour View Motel are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

When guests book in to the Harbour View it is a must that we give them a map and show them all the highlights of Robe so they don’t miss out on any attractions. As the old saying goes: “Ask a local”, so we offer information on the Restaurants and Cafe’s and a few tips on pricing and food choice.

Our latest News on the Motel is that we have placed Pillow Top Mattress Covers on our beds, a few guests comments have been “It is like sleeping on a cloud” The Upstair Panoramic View suites now all have New King Beds. “The Combination of Panoramic View of Robe Marina and Bay, King Bed, Spa, Private Balcony, glass of champagne, what more could you want?”

The Harbour View Motel in positioned about a seven minute walk to the main centre and a quick tip for guests travelling in the holiday season is not to stay in the main street of town as people walking home from celebrations can sometimes be noisy.

We look forward to the next time you pass through Robe when perhaps we could book you in for a few nights stay which would give you a chance to relax and unwind.

We wish you a Happy Prosperous New Year and a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My husband and I booked for one night and was more than satisfied with the room and service that we received. We were lucky to have a room at the front overlooking the sea. We found the room to be large and exceptionally clean. We would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargeritaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Harbour View Motel. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your view over the park and harbour as much as we do. The area we live in is quiet and tranquil which makes it easy to unwind and relax. We constantly think how lucky we are as the beaches, walking trails, shops, restaurants and cafe’s are only a short stroll from our door but then we can return to our sanctuary of peace and quiet.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the Motel staff, so they can see how their attention to detail and customer service pays off. Cleanliness is one of our highest priorities. Your comments are rewarding and gives us a real boost to keep up the good work.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and look forward to welcoming you back again one day when visiting Robe.

If you would like to know what is happening in the future at Robe please check our Calendar on our Harbour View Motel Website for updated dates.

We wish you a Happy Prosperous New Year and a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#7 of 7 in Robe
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#2 of 14 in Robe
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing