We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven on Main Street”
Review of Robe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Robe House
Ranked #2 of 8 Robe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A haven on Main Street”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Victoria Cottage on Robe's high street couldn't be more central. Robe isn't exactly a teaming metropolis although in the summer I'm guessing that its population grows significantly. We were travelling between Adelaide and Melbourne and were looking for somewhere peaceful to spend a couple of days relaxing. The arrangements for our arrival were exactly as we had agreed with Andrew and Sally. The fridge was well stocked with all necessary breakfast staples and the larder was full of various teas/coffees.

The cottage itself is charming - the original building, which must have been pretty compact, has been extended to accommodate the scullery, loo and bathroom. It's true to say that not a lot of natural light gets to the central rooms, but that keeps them cool in the Summer and there are ample oil heaters to warm rooms if it gets cold. Outside there's a covered patio area perfect for enjoying a glass of something cold when it gets too hot. There's off-street parking too.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a few metres of the cottage and the town beach is not much further away. If you want to drive your car onto beach (which seems to be popular in this part of the world) head for Long Beach, which is, well, long. Although we didn't see Andrew or Sally until we went to settle up they left us their contact details if we needed them, which we didn't.

Victoria Cottage gets a 'thumbs up' from us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuanshyaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thanks for your review of Victoria Cottage. While the cottage is quite separate to Robe House, it is also an original old stone building but is situated in Robe's main street. It is a great location for parking the car and just walking the town on foot, as everything is right at your door step.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we meet you again soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    41
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
106
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Robe House is very different, it is almost like stepping back in time. We found it very comfortable, continental breakfast was already in the fridge, large warm bathroom and close to the town where there were plenty of eating places. It made a refreshing change to staying in chain hotels.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Lynda,
thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Robe House.
As the oldest house in Robe, it is fair to say that the old place is unique, and quite different. It is also fair to say that some love that aspect, and some do not!!
Thanks again for sharing your views.
Best wishes,
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Despite being a heritage place, Robe House's rooms are dark and uninviting. Plus Robe itself is a sleepy place and it was hard to find a restaurant, I mean a true one, not just fast food. We also had noisy neighbours and could hear their conversation though the walls, romantic, well not really.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Suesli,
thanks for taking the time to review Robe House. As the oldest house is Robe, our house is not only important to the history of Robe, but also a very unique one off building. Each room is an individual with its own character and style. Robe is also very unique. It was one of the first towns settled in South Australia in 1846, and has played an important role in the history of the state. We are a small fishing village with a permanent population of 1000 people and are blessed with a wonderful collection of cafes, restaurants and attractions which other towns of a similar size are envious of.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I must say that staying at Robe House was a unique experience, having no face to face contact with with any people to do with the establishment was first - I understand why, but it doesn't warm you to a place. Having to make you own breakfast at a B&B is also unusual and I must say we were disappointed by the lack of bacon, sausage and black pudding.
The apartment was clean and reasonably comfortable, but it was very dark and we needed the lights on even on a sunny day. There did not seem to be any way you could draw back the nets. The smell of the lavender plug in air fresheners was overpowering, perhaps they did not need so many, unless of course..........
There is not enough parking for all the apartments and as a consequence we ended up parked on the road which was not great when you have cases to carry around.
Location wise Robe House is convenient for the shops etc as well as the harbour and beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnochOllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thanks for your review of Robe House. Most of our guests enjoy making their own breakfast with the selection of provisions left for them. I am sorry that you were unaware of this when you booked to stay with us. We are a self contained b&b with each apartment having its own kitchen. I do understand that this is unusual in England, but in Australia it is the more common form of b&b's.
While Robe House does have a lovely wide verandah to keep the heat out during summer it also has the effect of reducing light inside the building. Robe House is rated 4 stars by the AAA and one of the requirements of this is day time privacy or net curtains which are fixed.
I have tried to pinpoint the day you stayed with us to understand why I did not meet you but cannot find the exact date. I enjoy meeting all of our guests either on arrival or in the morning prior to departure, however on rare occasions when guests arrive late and leave early I may miss you.
We do have one air freshener in each apartment which are turned on an off as required.
We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Australia.
Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Fantastic place. The oldest house in Robe, converted into 4 apartments. Well set up so that you can sort out your on breakfast. Good bedroom and shower. A short walk into town, handy for the harbour and nice walks round about.

Room Tip: All rooms have space on the porch that borders the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peroni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi Charlie,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Robe House. Many of the old colonial buildings were built with wide verandahs to keep the inside of the house cool. Nowadays our guests enjoy sitting out on the verandah catching the last rays of sunshine. It is also a place where guests meet each other and exchange travel stories.
I am glad that you enjoyed the provisions left for your breakfast. While self contained b&b's may seem unusual to our English guests it is generally the more common form of b&b's in Australia.
I hope we meet you again one day.
Happy travels
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My mum and I stayed in robe house recently and had the best time. It is so perfectly clean and tidy and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. The fire was ready to go and fantastic breakfast provisions were supplied. Could not recommend Robe House more highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi Meg
Thanks for your review it was a pleasure to meet you and your mum. So glad you enjoyed the fireplace, there is nothing quite like settling in with a book by a nice warm fire in winter!
I hope we see you again one day.
Best wishes
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The owners of Robe House enjoy providing some a little special for those who are lucky enough to stay at this historic property. We only stayed one night which was not enough but if you want good accommodation with a romantic sense of the time of the first European settlers, this is the place for you. Modern facilities but Victorian style. Great we got it! A pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thanks Guys for your great review. As owners of an old building, it is so rewarding for us when our guests appreciate what we are trying to do. Back in the 1840's Robe really was a pioneering village, and it is that essence that we have tried to preserve at Robe House. Most of Robe's oldest buildings still remain, so it is a wonderful place to come and soak up the history.
We hope you are able to call in on us again!!
Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#2 of 14 in Robe
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe House

Property: Robe House
Address: 1A Hagen St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Robe House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this charming building was the first to be built in Robe. From its early years as home of the Government Resident, Robe House has played an important role in the towns' history. Built from locally quarried sandstone and featuring high vaulted ceilings and rustic floorboards, Robe House is now 4 fully self contained bed and breakfast apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Robe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robe House Hotel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing