We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a nice motel.”
Review of Robe Haven Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robe Haven Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Robe
WIRRAL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be a nice motel.”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days late Feb. We were driving from Adelaide to Melbourne and were told by the i-site in Adelaide no need to book ahead because the schools had reopened. Well they were wrong and this was the only place we could find with accommodation for the dates we wanted to stay in Robe ( which is a lovely little town to stay ).
This could be a nice motel, spacious rooms and in a great position across from the small harbour.
However the room fixtures and fittings are tired and drab. The carpet was badly stained, some lights were not working and when I tried to take the bulb out of the reading lamp to go for a replacement the fitting fell apart.
At $120 dollars a night we thought this place was well overpriced. Perhaps after a complete redecoration and refit it may be worth it.

Room Tip: I think they are all quite similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHARDP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The room is dated. One of the mugs was chipped. But it is clean. Mattress is ok but there is a weird smell in the room. It could be dampness. It's out of the 1950s, if not earlier. We didn't bother with the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMARichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Robe hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Awesome location. Well appointed, extremely clean rooms and restaurant. Friendly and attentive staff/management.
Your a mug if this isn't the first place you try and stay in Robe.
Highly recommended by a very regular traveler.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Our family has just eaten lunch at the Motel Cafe & it was delicious! Each meal was prepared to perfection & so well priced. Inside the cafe, there is a huge range of local produce for sale, much of it grown & made by the very hospitable Owners. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonialegoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The room was ok, clean, big, the smell really was there, but when we opened window - that helped. The furniture is old. Location is good.
Robe is very small town, we came at 8-30 PM and when we decided to go and have dinner it appeared that everything was closed. The motel has restaurant on-site, it was closed by 9PM as well, but we've asked for some non-cooked food. I've almost begged to give us anything - was given bread, butter, jam and honey...
Just place to sleep, nothing more. Overpriced for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Rooms excellent size for a family of 4. Clean and Comfy. Bathroom recently renovated and very clean. Only thing that it lacks is a decent size TV as they dont provide pay TV and the current box TV doesnt provide all the current Digital Channels. Location excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here only overnight as we were travelling between Adelaide and Melbourne but we'll definately be back. Our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, freshly painted and bathroom was immaculate. The hosts were friendly and hospitable and were helpful with things to see around the area. We had our nightly meal in the restaurant onsite and thought the food was fabulous,their slogan is Robe's Best Kept Secret, and how true! Overall a great night accommodation for the price and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe Haven Motel

Property: Robe Haven Motel
Address: Corner of Hagen and Smillie Street, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Robe Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing