We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A spur of the moment stop over”
Review of Robe Haven Motel

Robe Haven Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robe Haven Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A spur of the moment stop over”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were travelling back to Adelaide via the coast which we'd only seen once before. It was afternoon & we stopped in Robe. We drove past all the motels & rang a few for a price. After being gobsmacked at the $175 price tags on some of the 3 star motels in town, we called this motel. A very friendly chap gave us the choice of $120 or $100 room so we went in. He gave us a key to both rooms so we could check them out before deciding. We took the $100 room as it wasn't much different. The room was huge with queen bed & a single. Everything was clean & smelt fresh. Although an older style motel the bathroom was spotless, towels & sheets good. Older style tellie but it did the job perfectly.

The garden is pleasant, rain water is available by an outside tap, parking right at your door & seating with tables & chairs in front of each room. There's a restaurant called Butlers in the complex. Breakfast to your room is available at a very moderate price.

Only a short still down to the marina & into town where we ate at the Robe Hotel.

The owners were very friendly & welcoming. I'd stay again here for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room further to the rear of the property as people are coming & going through the front dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyElle000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    28
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We arrived in town late afternoon and after looking at other accommodation decided to stay here overnight. The owners were friendly and helpful and the facilities were not luxurious but were clean and comfortable with nice outdoor seating areas and good amenities. We ate dinner in the community kitchen which is clean and well equipped. We met another group there and had a very enjoyable evening. When we left I discovered I had left my phone charger in the room. The owners were extremely helpful when I called about this. I would recommend this hotel as a friendly, affordable, clean and accommodating option for visiting Robe. .

Room Tip: The community kitchen is well stocked and a great amenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller7876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Walked in on speck to look at room great size for $100 a night.So decided to stay. Right near harbour, able to walk for fresh fish and chips for tea. No wifi and old TV but nice shower room and lovely clean sheets made up for this. Sandy and his wife were very helpful. One of the cheapest places in town and after checking out most of the other motels this is the best in town. We would return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very clean and large but simple room. Clean and spacious bathroom. Mattresses okay for one night but could do with an upgrade. Good location near the centre of town. A short stroll to the Robe Hotel where we enjoyed a superb seafood platter with a window table overlooking the sea. We paid $100 for a room with two beds so you can't do much better than that. Unfortunately the sliding glass windows in our room would not lock so we couldn't leave anything of value in the room. Robe is a delightful town and we wished we could have stayed longer. Long Beach is one of the most beautiful surf beaches you could swim in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a bed that's all it is. But you won't find much cheaper as most accommodation in Robe is expensive.

Rooms and decor is very old. Even an old box T.V. Our fridge still had stuff from previous people in it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed over NYE, the room was tired, had old chipped furniture. The bed linen was clean but not sure if the bedspread had ever been washed.
There was great pressure in the shower and the bathroom was modern although there was a crack on the toilet seat.
A downside of the powerful shower was that when next door used their's it sounded like a waterfall in our room. Waking us up.
The tv was from the 1980s.
I went to go to the restaurant and was told it had been closed for 6 months, despite the website saying it was a best kept secret.. They kept the fact it was closed a secret...

Overall.. We had limited choice in Robe and it was good enough to sleep in.

Management need to invest in upgrading facilities.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The photo on site looks better than actual motel. only good thing I could say was updated bathroom. Old tired decor. Give it a miss. No wonder we paid in advance would have chosen else where if hadnt paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stitchma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
24.2 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 8 in Robe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe Haven Motel

Property: Robe Haven Motel
Address: Corner of Hagen and Smillie Street, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Robe Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing