We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside Tourist Park
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here one night, in an ensuite cabin, while traveling through South Australia. Very nice property, cabin was spacious, clean, well kept. Nice views. Owners were very helpful, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tahshi, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks for your review, always good to get feedback. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in a deluxe villa over looking the lake whilst our friends had their caravans on powered sites nearby. The park is extremely well maintained, spotless amenities and picturesque location. Our cabin had everything we needed, good quality linen, well presented and immaculate. The camp sites were shady and well grassed. The park has plenty of open space and although busy due to the holiday long weekend was quiet and peaceful. Made for a totally relaxing weekend with an easy walk to the beautiful township of Robe. We look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: Our villa was No 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BilferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tahshi, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts & kind words. It is a welcome boost to get wonderful feedback and lets us know that we are on the right track. We are very proud of Lakeside Tourist Park and thrilled that you found it to your needs and expectations. Look forward to seeing you again another time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Lakeside Tourist Park is a lovely park set in a great location respective to town. The camp kitchen, toilets and showers and laundry are impeccably clean and tidy at all times. The park even has a cray and fish cleaning area which was similarly user friendly and clean. In terms of general environment, there are plenty of grassy green areas and pathways make access easy to facilities, town and the main reception area.

Unfortunately, there are two things that made our 3-night stay in March 2014 unenjoyable. I point out that these are not a result of anything the owners of the park are in direct control of.

Firstly and mainly, there was a continual terrible "rotten egg" sulphur smell that we assume came from Lake Charro. The smell got worse at night and pervaded our entire caravan. Our site backed on to the lake and we don't know if the situation was the same for the other sites located closer to Lake Fellmongery. We ended up losing sleep and feeling slightly nauseated most of the time we were there. The stench late at night is truly unbelievable.

Secondly, because the area at Lake Charro seemed boggy and stagnant, there were an abundance of mosquitoes each night - everywhere. Again, this made it difficult to sleep and we were riddled with mosquito bites.

It is a huge pity that the Council have not addressed the issue of Lake Charro and we are disappointed that it affected our stay at Lakeside Tourist Park.

Room Tip: Avoid sites near Lake Charro - there is a side "paddock" with a children's playground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ish113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tahshi, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Firstly thanks for the praise of the park...I'm so glad to see that despite your bad experience with the lake you can see that our park is lovely. We try to maintain it to a very high standard, and it is such a pretty park it is a pleasure to keep it looking so. So terribly disappointed for you that Lake Charra was very "pongy" at that time.I will mention though that Lakeside does not have control over the lake, that is, as you said, Council. Luckily it does not smell so bad the rest of the year, it just seems to be bad after some hot weather & evaporation. As our prevailing wind is southerly we do not smell it in the park as much, unfortunately it was Northerly when you with us this time. The mozzies are very intermittent as the lakes are fed from the aquifer they are brackish, not fresh so they do not normally like salt. I think it is because of the recent rains that the whole SE has had an increase...long sleeves and a deet based spray dawn and dusk help.
I will forward your review on to council and hopefully the next time you come back to us it will all be fixed...and we can put you in another area for a trial as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great camp site.
Very clean and tidy. Big and very clean laundry, bathrooms (with nice music playing) are very, very clean, too. You can feel very comfy here. Unfortunately we stayed here only for one night. Highly recommendable!
I would come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Keyja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tahshi, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you Keyja. We are really happy that you enjoyed your time at Lakeside, and I'm glad you liked the music...they are my own selections so it's always hit or miss :)
Next time you come to Australia you are most welcome back. Hopefully you find just as nice places along the way.
cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A delightful Tourist Park beside a scenic lake and set amongst heritage listed trees. I stayed in a very clean, spacious, well appointed cabin.
Staff are friendly, and park is very well maintained. Short distance to midde of town, idyllic beaches, local wineries and rugged coastline.
Well worth a visit any time of the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoSaleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00Manager00, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words. We love our park and its ambience, it's a very special place. We like to present our cabins, and our camp sites as we would like them if travelling ourselves so I'm really happy it met with your approval. Robe is definitely worth several visits, and of course you are always welcome at Lakeside Tourist Park at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Apon check in lady at counter was not helpful and very rude Every night we stayed at 10 we got told off for making to much noise a small group of us on our villa deck having a chat very one night we even got told off before curfew if you are interested in staying at a concentration camp come stay at lake side just be careful the water in the showers after curfew turns to gas to keep noisy holiday makers in line would never stay again had another night booked but choose to leave and stay somewhere else just so everyone know we did not get evicted Incase management try to make a poor excuse for our review ... Very poor hospilty put a big downer on our holiday will never stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00Manager00, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

This review speaks for itself...we don't feel a response is necessary. One thing you have right though Sam, is that you do not have enough respect & consideration towards other campers so you or your group will definitely not be welcome back to Lakeside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in caravan, had a group of 5 family's. Park let us book in early, very friendly manager whom we had a good chat with during this process. We has sites near the small children's playground - excellent for us to sit at van and watch the kids play. Toilets and showers was nice and clean and the park has a excellent camp kitchen - grass cover on our sites was excellent - will stay again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sawtersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00Manager00, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thanks you Sawters Family for your kind words. Very happy that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. It's a lovely safe area by the playground, and although the playground is small there is plenty of space around to play.
We strive to have the park as clean & presentable as we possibly can...it's how we like to travel so why not present it this way to our own customers. Really glad you all had a great time & we look forward to welcoming you again
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Robe
0.5 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#2 of 14 in Robe
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robe Holiday Park
Robe Holiday Park
#4 of 14 in Robe
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Tourist Park

Address: 24 Main Road, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Robe
Price Range: £42 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated and sheltered from the sea breezes, Robe's Lakeside Tourist Park is nestled amongst trees on the shores of picturesque Lake Fellmongery. This pretty caravan park has heritage history, is a lovely quiet spot for a holiday, and offers premium accommodation, shelter, shade, green grassy sites and friendly service. Lakeside offers the perfect respite from a hectic lifestyle. We have pet friendly cabins for a pampered pooch as well. (conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakeside Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing