We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal after a long drive”
Review of Sails Restaurant

Sails Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$61
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We have just moved location. Modern Australian cuisine with a focus on South Australian caught seafood. Casual fit out for a relaxed dining experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely meal after a long drive”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went in November on quite a cold day, and the warmth when entering was very welcome. It's not a big place, which was nice as it had a bit of a buzz to it. We were the last people to be seated at 8 p.m. and it was a bit disconcerting to find that by 9.30 p.m. we were the last customers in the place!
The food was good; excellent oysters followed by perfectly cooked fish. The waitress was really helpful with wine recommendations - so much so that we visited the winery in the Coonawarra further into our trip.
We were only in Robe one night, so I have no idea how this compares to other restaurants in the town.
The strong $ did make this quite expensive for us - but I can see that for Australians that it seems ok.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    166
    49
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must give it a go”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

One of the most enjoyable meals we have had in a long time and we eat out alot!!

Menu was varied but not too big...just the way we like it! Service was superb, wine excellent and not over the top price wise. Would definitely recommend the duck...yummmmm

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good choice”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

talk of the locals is that who ever eats at sails never is disappointed good seafood well priced good local wine & service well done

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMHAYWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to try this restaurant by our reception staff, and we were not disappointed. It's not an extensive menu but there is some interesting choices. The seafood is cooked well. Service is friendly and not rushed. Slightly on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank parfittm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Dinner at this restaurant was a great experience. The menu was varied and well priced.
Food was of excellent quality and very well prepared by someone who obviously cares about what they do.
The service by the two staff on duty was of a very high standard and nothing was too hard. An excellent venue, highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sails Restaurant also viewed

Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 
Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 

Been to Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing