We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and service”
Review of Sails Restaurant

Sails Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$63
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We have just moved location. Modern Australian cuisine with a focus on South Australian caught seafood. Casual fit out for a relaxed dining experience.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food and service”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

initially skeptical but after trying it, we were very very happy with the food and service (although there were only 2 manning the kitchen and another 2 service staff). The squid and roasted pork belly was delicious, and the fish was well cooked.

this was the highlight of our trip to Robe!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comamos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    167
    50
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A special place for the products of the sea”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable experience at Sails - the lobster and the mixed seafood main were as good as any seafood in our home town Melbourne. Quite a surprise. The local ale was also treat.

But please allow customers to pay with Amex - add on an extra 3% if necessary.

Tony Carr
Melbourne

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place! ”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect nice place for fish/ lobster or beef in Robe. Friendly staff.
Better to make a reservation.

We can recommend it!

Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFamilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lobster!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent lobster, largest I have ever seen! Must try, if they are in season. (Call ahead to reserve and make sure you get one!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AsirenYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Local Fine Dining”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Was not expecting how good the meal would be. Came highly recommended by friends who grew up here. Friendly service. Produce excellent. Was expecting those but what was not expecting was the very high standard of the cooking.
It was the first night of the local rock-lobster degustation. It was very very good and great value.
The rations were if anything overly generous. We took our 9 year old daughter who lves her food and her meal was also very good.
The Lobster Thermidor pie with apple / fennel slaw was my highlight though the lobster crab dumpling gave it a good run for its money.
The wine list could do with a spruce up to match the quality of the of the of food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sails Restaurant also viewed

Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 
Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 

Been to Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing