We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, spacious rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Sankt Polten, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hosts, spacious rooms!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We came to Robe on a 3,5-week round trip throught Queensland, NSW, VIC, SA and NT and slept in more than 20 different hotels. However, it is so easy to say that we felt most welcome in the Melaleuca Motel & Apartments in Robe. Martin showed us around the property and the room (which was the most spacious and yet by far not the most expensive we were staying in - and as we were a party of three, we know, what we are talking about!), he recommended films, which we could rent for free and liked very much, and a walking tour through Robe and after all gave us very helpful advice on our onward journey. Actually, we wished we could have stayed longer, but had to move on the next day. We certainly recommend Robe as a stop on the way to Kangaroo Island or further West/North and we highly recommend to spend the night(s!) with Martin an Trudy Stanley in the BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel!

Room Tip: We staid in an 2 room-appartment which we liked very much. Surroundings are quiet, so I suppose ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Hi Pinskos Wieselburg
Thank you very much for your great review of our motel & apartments it is very much appreciated. One of the advantages of our apartments is that they have plenty of room as you found. I can assure you that all of our rooms are of a good size, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Since we put in our DVD library ( which has 400 DVD's on display) it hasbeen a huge plus for our clients.
All the best for your future & we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    90
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
168
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Basic motel rooms, quite dated. Bed was not great but everything else was fine.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hi Claui
Thank you for posting your review of our property. We know that our buildings are dated and it's a problem that our landlord will not spend the money to upgrade them. However we feel that to call our motel rooms basic is a bit harsh. These rooms have been recently painted, they have a queen bed, a two seater lounge, table and chairs as well as a microwave, toaster & electric jug along with mugs, bowls, plates knives forks and spoons. They also have an LCD TV , a DVD player and are airconditioned. As well they are spotlessly clean. Hardly basic!! Our beds are inspected annually by Best Western, the last inspection being last November and all of our beds passed their inspection.
All the best for your future.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We could not have been made more welcome by Martin when we arrived. Our room was spacious and clean, with a lovely communal garden in which to relax. An added bonus was Martin tuning in to a certain TV channel so we could watch Andy Murray playing live in Melbourne ... so obliging of him.
Thank you! We just wish we could have stayed longer!
Regards from Alison Shannon and Jim McGregor from Scotland

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Hi Alison & Jim
Thank you so much for your excellent review and kind words. Both are appreciated. We are delighted to have had you stay at our motel and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
All the very best of wishes
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

A really nice motel and the proprietors really go the extra mile to make you welcome and your stay comfortable. The hosts even take you to your room and give an explanation of all the excellent room facilities they have provided, which even includes a library of DVDs for viewing in your room. Of the 14 Hotels/motels we stayed in on this holiday, Martin and Trudy set the benchmark for managing this type of establishment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Hi Mal033
Thank you very much for your great review of our place. Trudy & I take great pride in treating all of our guests like friends. We think it's important to show our guests to their room and show them how everything works. We understand that this would be difficult in a larger motel but we know that this helps our guests to feel at home. All the best for the future and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed here for one night, breaking up what would otherwise have been an uncomfortably long drive between Port Fairy and the Barossa Valley.

I was a little early arriving, but I was given a warm welcome and the room was ready. I even got a guided tour of its facilities!

There is no restaurant or breakfast room here, but you can order a light breakfast brought to your room. I did this and it was fine. Not expensive either.

Apart from eating and drinking, there's not much to do in Robe at night. The proprietors obviously realise this and there is a library of DVDs to borrow for viewing in your room. I took advantage of this. The film I chose was even good!

I'm not sure I'd recommend Robe as such, but if you stop there, this hotel would be my tip for your overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Hi Commodore
Thank you so much for the positive review you gave of our motel. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our town. Robe is a lovely place with great coastal walks and pristine beaches. It is one of the few places in Australia where you are allowed to drive your car on the beach. You quite correct in saying there is little nightlife in Robe apart from eating and drinking. However we have several excellent restaurants where you can spend an hour or two as well as a twin screen picture theatre. Robe is renown for its seafood and lobster as well as the excellent wines from the Mt Benson wine district.
All the best
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We spent one night here in Robe at the Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments a couple of days before Christmas, 2011. We drove in around 7:00 PM after a longish day driving from our previous nights stay in Princetown (see my 12 Apostles B&B review).
Trudy warmly welcomed us, directed me to the correct parking spot, and then showed us to our room. She gave us a quart (liter?) of milk ‘so we would have fresh milk for our tea and coffee in the morning’. Very nice. (She also showed me where the rainwater spigot was for our drinking water. Most of this part of Australia has some kind of rainwater collection system to augment their water supply. At this Motel, they have a town water source, but Trudy said we should use the rainwater for drinking ‘Since it tastes so much better’. She was right, it tasted great.)
We had the two bedroom suite at the very front of the motel. The road is very quiet, so no problem being at the front of the motel. Combined and spacious living / dining / kitchen area. A full kitchen, which was very nice. One bedroom with two twins for the kids, and the second bedroom with a single larger bed. Good sized bathroom with a shower stall (no tub). The suite was not fancy, but it had everything we needed and was very clean.
As we were checking in, Trudy recommended a couple of restaurants, but then also mentioned that the grocery store would be open for another 15 minutes. Very helpful hint, thank you! I quickly went to the grocery store and bought enough food for dinner that night and breakfast the next morning. Right next door to the food store was the liquor store, so I picked up some nice Australian beer…
It was really nice to have a full kitchen in our suite, which was well stocked with pots / pans / cooking utensils. Plus of course dishware and silverware for the table. We cooked up a nice dinner and then went for a late evening stroll on the beach.
Next morning woke up early to cook up another big meal. I had neglected to purchase oil in the store, we went up front and Martin was kind enough to lend us his. Thanks! We were in a little bit of a rush as we finished washing the dishes (you clean all your own dishes) and packed up. Check out time is at 10:00 AM, which snuck up on us… :)
After check out, we went and spent a couple of hours on the beach in Robe… Very nice beach, beautiful water although the water is on the cold side. Lot’s of shell collecting, climbing on the rocks, digging in the sand… And then we were off on our drive to Adelaide. (see my next review on the Hilton Adelaide)
Only complaint about the motel is the wireless internet. They provided us with a code for a few free hours, but it was so slow as to almost be useless… Not a big deal really as we were not planning on spending much time here on the internet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeSeetheWorldinStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Hi WeSeetheWorldinStyle
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do not understand why the WiFi was slow as it is normally very quick. It may have been that there were a number of people connected at the same time. We do apologise for the inconvenience. One of the advantages of our apartments is that they have a full kitchen which allows the guests to have a home cooked meal rather than go out to a restaurant. Even in our standard rooms we have a microwave, mugs, bowls knives forks & spoons as many guests like to provide their own breakfast.
All the best for the future and we hope to see you again one day.
Kindest regards
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
229 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for 1 night and were bowled over by the friendly welcome. Other hotels should send there staff here to see how to treat customers properly. Not fawning and false, "have a nice day" but helpful and informative on checking in.
The room was spacious and well maintained, clean and good facilities.
If you like to watch the occasional film then this hotel is for you as they have a massive library of dvds and you can borrow one for the night free of charge for the dvd player provided in the room.
A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Hi Tony G
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We have found the free DVD library (with over 400 DVD's) a huge plus for our guests. Both Trudy and I adopt the philosophy that we are welcoming guests into our home and this makes the guest experience much more enjoyable. All the best for your future and we look forward to welcoming you again one day.
Kind regards
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 8 in Robe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#8 of 8 in Robe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melaleuca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melaleuca Motel

Property: Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia (Formerly Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Melaleuca Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Melaleuca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing