We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and helpful with great local knowledge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Good clean and basic room, close to town centre but yet quiet and peaceful. Well equipped rooms. Nice outside BBQ area. Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay in Robe and the walks suggested by Martin.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi DebWilko
Thank you for your review of our motel we really appreciate it. Our outside lawn & BBQ area is a great meeting place for guests and is extensively used particularly at this time of year. The walk I suggested is one of Robe's icons and is not to be missed as some of the scenery is wonderful. Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

This motel was close to the water and a quick walk to the main street, though far enough away to be silent at night. The service from the manager was great, he walked us to our room, showed us the facilities and had a great sense of humour!
The room we stayed in was a little tired, though was still comfortable. They had extras in the room like plates and cutlery, toaster and a microwave (and a microwave proof dish) which I think every hotel room should provide, kudos to these guys! Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaffa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi Gaffa83
Thank you for your terrific review of our motel. Our standard rooms which you were in do have all the necessaries for making our guests comfortable like a microwave, kettle & toaster as well as crockery & cutlery. We adopt the adage that you never get a second chance to make a first impression & so escort ALL of our guests to their rooms and explain how everything works. It's called Customer Service and unfortunately it's lacking in too many establishments. Thank you once again
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We spent 2 nights here in October last year. One of the friendliest welcomes we have ever had and that makes a big difference. Our room was more of a small apartment - i think there are three or four like this. Kitchen/dining room area, large living area and separate bathroom and bedroom. Everywhere you looked (even inside the kitchen cupboards) it was obvious that this place is well-maintained and scrubbed clean on a daily basis. It is not luxury nor does it claim to be but in all aspects it is very good. It is located at one end of the high street within a couple of minutes walk of historic buildings, all Robe's restaurants and the stunning seafront. This motel deserves all the praise it receives.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciesingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi marciesingapore
Thank you for your great review of our motel. We do have apartments as well as motel rooms and the apartments are very large. We are in arguably the best position in Robe with being only a couple of minutes from the beach, the main street & the restaurants but we have very little traffic noise so our guests receive a good nights sleep. Thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This is a very simple motel, it's nothing fancy yet we were very happy with it. After a long tiring drive, we were given a very warm welcome and the staff member on duty happily showed us our room and all the facilities. The rooms were clean and comfortable with free Wifi - very very rare on our trip.

We loved that they had DVD's that we could borrow for the night and the manager gave us great information about places to eat etc.

A final note to say we accidentally left a bag with our laptop, camera's etc in the hotel and the manager contacted us immediately to let us know. We were finishing breakfast nearby and were very relieved not to have to double back on our already long journey.

Definitely worth staying in this motel if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi RHNIreland
Thank you very much for your kind review of our motel. We agree with your comments about our motel. In Australia the majority of motels are leasehold and unfortunately too many landlords do not spend money on upgrading their motels. As a lessee we are responsible for painting & general maintenance which we strive to keep up to date. Thanks to Trudy our rooms are spotlessly clean & so much so that we won an international award from Best Western last year. Thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in December (23rd). Great location off the main street. Easy walk to beach (and I'm six mnths pregnant!).

When we arrived owner showed us the room before we decided to stay. Very helpful - showed us how to use the spa, the AC, the TV and DVD, and told us all about the complex. We checked in ... !!

A good sized milk was given to us and we chose a couple of complimentary DVDs from the extensive collection. Were given a map of town, two restaurant vouchers, and offered a 4wd map (that'd we'd paid $5 for earlier in the day at the local visitor centre).

Everything worked in the room and it was clean. Spa was perfect after a day 4wding the sand dunes and beaches :))

We walked over to the marina and had fish and chips on the foreshore from the Hungry Goat. Was a perfect evening.

Would highly recommend this motel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WatchWhereYouStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Hi WhatchWhereYouStay,
Thank you so much for your great review of our motel & Apartments. As you say we are in a great position with being able to walk to all the restaurants & attractions. We wish you good luck & good fortune with your baby to be & we look forward to you visiting us again. Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed in Best Western Melaleuca on our way to Melbourne and really enjoyed our stay. Reception was very friendly and provided a map of area. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable with fridge, kettle, kitchenware and a microwave. Each room has an allocated parking space and our space was a car port which kept car out of the sun so was nice and cool.
We used the free DVD service which passed the time in the late evening once we had dinner. Would recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacq J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Hi Jacq J
Thank you for your review of our motel it is much appreciated. The room you stayed in was one of our standard rooms and as you say it had a microwave, kettle toaster ans well as mugs, bowls, plates knives forks & spoons. Our free DVD library has over 400 DVD's and it was one of the best things for our guests. Thank you once again & we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed one night in Robe and found it to be a friendly and picturesque little town .The Apartment that we booked was really more of a two bedroom motel room and very dated but exceptionally clean and proved to be a comfortable nights stay.The host was very friendly and helpful.Free Wi Fi had limited coverage in the room but OK if we sat outside.
Probably a little overpriced compared to other places we satyed on our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutz067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Hi nutz067, Thank you for your review of our motel. The room you stayed in was actually a two bedroom fully self contained apartment with a full size refrigerator and a full kitchen. We agree that the motel buildings are a little dated but we have repainted all rooms and as you say it was exceptionally clean. Unfortunately our landlord is not prepared to spend the money in upgrading rooms. We are surprised that you had a problem with our free wifi as the recption is normally quite good in all rooms. As far as pricing we are competitive with other motels in the town. We are pleased that you had a comfortable nights stay. Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
24.1 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melaleuca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melaleuca Motel

Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia (Formerly Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Melaleuca Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Melaleuca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing