We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Robe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a very warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Mine host gives you a warm welcome at this motel, which is ideally situated in the centre of Robe. He goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need and is helpful with maps, walks and recommendations for food; and a great selection of DVD’s in reception. Robe is very pretty and we wished we had arrived earlier than 4pm to take advantage of it. The furnishings in the room are rather dated but everything is provided, fridge, mini bar, microwave, crockery, free continental breakfast etc. only basic liquid soap in shower room though. Bonus here is free wifi, a laundry room ($1 washing Machine or dryer) with sinks and washing liquid and a drying line outside; BBQ in the grounds too.
However, I am a light sleeper and could clearly hear the crying baby on one side and the early risers taking a shower on the other, and although having a fridge was great, it was also noisy, so bring ear plugs if you’re a light sleeper like me.
The building is attractive and parking is easy and safe; a good choice for a stopover in Robe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Figgysfriend, Thank you for the great review of our motel it was very thorough. We apologize for the noise in the rooms either side of you but unfortunately that is out of our control. We do try to make our guests feel at home and we like them to experience our lovely town so maps and advice are the order of the day. Thanks once again Kind regards Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    90
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
165
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Driving from Adelaide to Melbourne on a fly drive package, stayed here and cannot speak highly enough of the place! Wonderfully warm, friendly welcome. Absolutely spotless and great facilities. It helps that Robe is a stunning place to visit too.

Room Tip: So peaceful, doubt that there are any rooms which aren't great. We stayed in no. 1 which was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
HI Geraldine L, Thank you so much for your great review of our motel. We appreciate it. WE try very hard to keep our rooms as clean as possible & it shows when you get great reviews like yours. We also try to make each guest feel special with a warm welcome. Thank you once again
Kindest regards Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to the great ocean road, on arrival we were greeted by Martin on the front desk with a welcoming smile. He gave us a map of the area on check in and showed us where to eat and walk to see all the local attractions of Robe it was very helpful. After we checked in Martin showed us to our room and showed us where everything is and how it all worked, free wifi and DVD hire was great the rooms were spotless and had all the things you need for a stop over, parking was available close to our room which are all at ground level. A short walk across the road and you are in the Main Street in Robe or on the beach.
This motel is in a great location for anyone staying in Robe.
The service at this motel is 100% keep up the great work Martin you are a asset to this Best Western Property, we would be happy to recommend this motel to anyone traveling to Robe

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BekShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi BekShan
Thank you so much for your great review of our motel & the compliments accorded to me. We give all guests a map of the town and show them where everything is. We also always show people to their room so we can explain how everything works. As you say we are in a great location for anyone staying in Robe. Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here just one night by chance and found it to be an excellent motel with a very friendly host. It was clean and comfortable with a good size room. There was a guest laundry and free Wi-Fi. The only downside was that we didn't much like the restaurant recommended by the host, but that wasn't his fault.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi dianaen, Thank you for your great review of our motel, we really appreciate it. We try very hard to make our rooms as clean as can be & most of our guests appreciate this. We are sorry that the restaurant recommended wasn't to your liking. Our guests do appreciate our guest laundry with its free washing liquid & only $1 to use the machines. We have been giving free wifi for four years and have recently upgraded it so that it is super quick and many guests can be using it at the same time without loss of speed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at this Motel for one night en route from the Great Ocean Road to Normanville, SA and were amazed with the excellent service we got from the friendly owner, who insisted on showing us how everything worked in our room and recommended a great restaurant just across the road.The room was clean and comfortable, with free WiFi and DVDs if you wanted them. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi janet123! Thank you for your lovely review of our motel. We do try to make people feel at home when they stay with us & hence we take each guest to their room and explain how everything works. We may have old buildings for our motel but we try very hard to keep the rooms well maintained & spotlessly clean.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Martin was absolutely brilliant, with customer service not experienced anywhere else these days. Close to beach, shops, the pub, Free Wifi and heaps of DVD's. Rooms are very clean and tidy. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamvdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi Adamvdrake! Thank you so much for your great review of our motel. WE do try very hard to keep our rooms clean & well maintained. Being an "old bloke" I am used to giving the type of customer service of years past and I appreciate your comments. We do hope to see you again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barooga, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed at this Motel for the second time Dec 13 and it was still the clean , quiet & friendly motel that it was on our first visit there. Martin can point you in the right direction if the need be. The free wi fi and DVDs are a real bonus, just a very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 14 which was down the back and very quiet. ( one bedroom apartment )
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi cliffnmax, Thank you for your review of our motel we do appreciate it. We thought we may have scored higher considering your comments but never mind we do hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 8 in Robe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#8 of 8 in Robe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments

Property: BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments
Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing