We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment B”

Arches Spa Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arches Spa Apartments
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Robe
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Apartment B”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great location ! Very comfortable home it had everything we needed. All the rooms are spacious with plenty of storage. Great outdoor area which was very private. We will definitely stay there again. Thanks Ken :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in Apartment B for 2 nights in May 2014. The location and furnishings were lovely including was the bathroom.

There was a lack of care in the 'finishing touches'. There were cobwebs on the French windows, the BBQ was dirty, there was a cockroach in the bookcase drawer, the freezer was dirty/rusty (with lots of ice), the toaster had not been cleaned, the kettle made the water taste foul and we could not make tea or coffee. There were lots of mosquitoes and bugs (which we can deal with) but there were no sprays or anything and seriously, the tv was so small in comparison to where the seats were situated, there were only 2 coat hangers in the wardrobe and 1 small bar of soap for 2 people to use in the hand basin and shower.

The towels were lovely as was the outdoor setting...the main thing lacking was the attention to detail and cleanliness. Also we had a power failure and there was no torch/lantern as the "last guests had broken it" so we sat in the dark for 3 hours...for a town that has so many power failures, you would think they would have spares.

It was only a 5min stroll to the centre of Robe so the location was awesome! All in all the property is nice but would have been GREAT if it was maintained properly.

Photos can be given if required

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LizardLady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for two nights after getting a good deal on Wotif. The cottage is so wonderfully furnished and decorated that you can put yourself in the place of an early settler, and the information about the family who lived there originally was a nice touch. We had plenty of space for the two of us and the facilities were fine for our needs (we didn't cook any meals but you could make some basic meals if you wanted). Communication with Ken on getting there and getting in was fantastic and we had no problems. Good value! Thanks, we loved our stay in Robe!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sgbrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the restored 1850s cottage, the Patsy Ryan cottage, for a couple of nights. While we enjoyed the large kitchen with original wood burning stove and the yard and outdoor setting there were a few problems we encountered. The lounge room floor had not been cleaned, the shower recess was a fibreglass capsule that felt unstable underfoot and actually had a hole in the side of it, the bedrooms are very small (granted the information on the cottage tells you this) but having the bed flush against the wall with no space was quite uncomfortable.

In the lounge area there was a compendium showing photos of the owners renovating the house after purchasing it in 1990, which is interesting but there's little about the early history of the house and its occupants. There are photos on the lounge room wall and bedroom of the original residents, Patrick 'Patsy' Ryan and his family. Again it would have been interesting to know a little more about this family.

Generally speaking it was nice to experience a bit of yesteryear but not at the expense of comfort.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent a long weekend in Spa Apartment and thought it was great.
It is very comfortably furnished and has a well appointed kitchen.
The bed was very comfortable and the whole feel of the dwelling is one of a home rather than a hotel room.
It is well within walking distance of the main street which contains most of Robe's shopping and food choices.

This is a suggestion rather than a criticism because it might be something that a local isn't aware of after a number of years.
It would be nice to be provided with a litre or so of filtered water for coffee because the tap water has a rather strong acrid smell after being boiled in the kettle. We tried on a few occasions to make coffee and even bought a new kettle but the water smells putrid after being boiled. Robe has many good options for coffee so it wasn't a huge dilemma but it would be nice to have that option if it was required.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Pasty Ryans Cottage and we loved it. The lounge has a huge open fire which would be fantastic in cold weather. The kitchen has a air conditioning unit in it that certainly keeps the cottage at a lovely temp.
The whole cottage is full of antique odds and ends and you are requested not to use them as they are display only, but it wasn't had to imagine slipping back in time and having to use the kitchen implements for real!
The beds are very high off the ground and are a wee bit difficult to get into and only one of the beds was made up even though the booking was for three. The linen was provided but making it myself late at night wasn't desirable.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tounga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in the Delux Room/Apartment (stables). Well maintained and very clean.

The kitchen has every facilityand is modern, even though the outside looks authentically "old". There is a dishwasher, washing machine and full size fridge. Own washing line out the back if you need it.

Comfortable bed and off the main road ensured a sound night's sleep. Close to main shopping area means you can walk to the cafes etc.

Only downside for us was the lounge seating, which was uncomfotable. The bathroom is also on the small size, but OK for us..

Overall, well presented and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chooksta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.3 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#2 of 14 in Robe
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arches Spa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches Spa Apartments

Property: Arches Spa Apartments
Address: 10-16 Elizabeth Street, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Robe
Hotel Class:4 star — Arches Spa Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arches Spa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing