We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We'll be back!”

Review of Possum Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tanunda, Barossa Valley, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KKlose
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 26 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What a perfect place to get ready for my wedding...they thought of everything...from leaving a selection of appropriate chick-flicks for the night before, to champagne and strawberries for breakfast that we enjoyed out on the sunny deck in the lush secluded garden, and 'just married' decorations for when we returned as a Mr and Mrs! The character filled cottage lent itself beautifully to creating some gorgeous photos and many happy memories. Returning to the Cottage on our wedding night, the garden looked magical all lit up, and we enjoyed a relaxing soak in the amazing outdoor jacuzzi...where we relived our wonderful day over a delicious glass of wine. Renee and Brett were nothing but helpful the entire way through...from my original enquiry, to being a valued guest. Their thoughtfulness, generosity and hospitality really contributed to making my wedding a perfect experience from start to finish. Thank you both so much, it's very clear that you sincerely care about creating an amazing experience for people who stay...well let me assure you, it most certainly is!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
To the happy couple,

We were over the moon that you chose Possum Cottage for your pre wedding and wedding night.
It is our pleasure that we made your stay memorable.
Thanks for your amazing review and we look forward to your return to the beautiful Barossa Valley.

Congratulations and best wishes on your new journey as Mr &Mrs

Kind regards Renee and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

From the moment my wife and I walked through the gate and into the magical, zen like garden, we instantly fell in love with Possum Cottage.

Winding our way around the path we were impressed by the way that Renee and Brett had maintained the historical nature of the cottage whilst also being a modern edge. The attention to detail is amazing, from the Game of Thrones like bedroom suite, to the balinese jacuzzi hut and the awesome little cellar running down from the kitchen (watch your head if you're over about 5'8!!), nothing has been missed. The fact that Barossa Brewing was just over the road was just a little added bonus!

As frequenters of SA's wine regions, my wife and I are always looking for something a little unique and decadent and Possum Cottage does not dissapoint. Renee's service was amazing from the time of booking right through to return of the cleaning bond and this just adds to the positive experience we received.

Well done Renee and Brett, Em and I will most certainly return in the future!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Hi Paul and Em

We would like to start by saying thankyou!

Thankyou,for your amazing review this has most certainly captured your experience at Possum Cottage.

Hoping that others will come and enjoy our hidden gem as you both did.

You are both welcome back anytime and thanks for being perfect guests.

Kind regards Renee and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia M
1 review
“A little gem of the Barossa Valley!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Wow! Possum cottage is an amazing little gem of the Barossa Valley. Brett & Renee have thought of everything, down to the last kitchen utensil. The cottage was spotlessly clean, homely and luxurious at the same time. The king size bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable.
Possum cottage is well positioned for anyone visiting the Barossa Valley. A short drive into the town of Tanunda, local brewery across the road and very centrally positioned to explore wineries in the region. We had such a wonderful time. It was a real pleasure to return from exploring the valley and be able to enjoy a glass of wine in the jacuzzi tub relaxing in the beautiful private garden.
Our stay at Possum cottage was absolute heaven. Wish we could have stayed longer. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accomodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thank you we feel very humbled that you have appreciated our dedication and hard work which has made Possum Cottage come to life for people to enjoy. Honestly thank you for your kind words. We are over the moon that you loved your stay in the Barossa Valley

Hope you had a lovely journey home.

Kind regards Renee and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty, quirky and secluded yet convenient with secret garden, jacuzzi and open fire”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment you step through the gate onto the garden path that meanders to the back door you are greeted with serenity and seclusion. If you are looking for a cosy winter stay or a secluded summer getaway this place is perfect.Everything was on hand, including a fabulously easy to use pizza oven so you needn't venture out to get dinner but stay in and enjoy the open fire or eat a romantic meal in the cellar dinning room or in the lovely garden. The main street of Tanunda is a short walk/drive away so you can enjoy one of the divine local eateries without worrying about having to drive back. There are 100's of movies supplied to watch on the flat screen TV in the cosy lounge, games to play and even a piano and guitar for the musician in you. We stayed in winter and will be back to stay in warmer weather so we can enjoy more of the secret garden and delightful jacuzzi. So whether you are coming for a romantic escape or a friends fun weekend away this place has it all... what are you waiting for - pack a bag, and don't forget to bring pizza supplies!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
HI Gloria
Wow you captured the experience we were hoping you would all have during your stay at Possum Cottage.

Thank you for your thoughtful review.

Kind regards
Renee and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing