We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to Like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barossa Vineyard Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lots to Like”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location near to Tanunda and the cottages are almost new with a lovely bathroom, kitchen and lots of great breakfast provisions including freshly baked bread.
Just a couple of niggling things stopped us giving it 5 stars.
Firstly, the wood provided for the fireplace did not have enough kindling.
Secondly, there was no steelo or scourer to clean the saucepans which was strange given we had
To cook our own breakfast. But these are little things, would still recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wanderingjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

From the well stocked fridge of yummy breakfast food - farm fresh eggs, local bacon, cereal plus gluten free sausages (and more!) to the great location, .we loved this cottage and its setting. Sitting in the rotunda amidst the vineyards with fab local wine on a crisp autumn evening we watched the full moon rise - what a delight! On a more practical note, the cottage is very well appointed, even down to a small torch, combustion heater (wood replenished daily) and electric blankets. And of course a spa. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BacisMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the cottage. At 225 dollars per night I thought it was a bargain for what we got.

The cottages (the complex is 2 semi-detached cottages, that is 4 units in all) are modern and well fitted out, nay very well fitted out. The modern bathroom has an enormous spa bath for 2, separate bedroom and kitchen/living room. A big supply of DVDs if you want to use them. There are verandahs front and back to enjoy both morning and evening sun

In addition there is a separate gazebo with barbecue

Free wifi in room (the room has a lap top connection, but they will get you a wifi to plug into the slot if you need it, as I did)

On arrival you get your breakfast materials for your stay
Bacon, sausages, eggs (eggs from their own chocks)
Tomatoes, mushrooms, Orange juice, fresh milk
Loaf of fresh (and by that I mean still warm fresh bread). We were given another loaf on our third day
A bottle of wine, Maggie Beers pate and local bark bread, chocolate
Enough coffee for the Nespresso machine to give us a cup a day. If you want to make more, then you buy more capsules from the owner. I would accept that it is not their job to supply me with coffee throughout the day, and it seems reasonable to pay for extra coffee

The quantity given was more than enough for all our breakfasts. The quantity of bacon in this bundle was more than adequate

On our holiday in Australia we stayed in 15 such properties and this was among the top recommendations. We paid between 125 and 325 dollars per night so the cost here was right on the average. The value for money was exceptional

I read the previous review when I was at the property, and suggested to the owner that she put in her letter of welcome in the cottage a bit that clarifies that the ingredients are for the whole stay, and also the the cottage is not serviced. We certainly expected to wash our own dishes in all the places we stayed across Australia. Though I would say most did make the beds daily. I had no problems making the bed, it just needs to be underlined when you arrive.

You can certainly tour the Barossa easily from here, and we are really glad that we stayed at these cottages, and would recommend them to anyone staying in the Barrossa

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked Barossa Vineyard Cottages for a couple of nights for a friend's wedding.

The property itself is pleasant. The cottages are fairly new buildings at the back of a farm property. They are surrounded by paddocks and vineyards, although during our stay these were unfortunately mostly without leaves. They are duplex buildings, so not as quiet and secluded as they might be - we could hear our neighbours talking through the walls in the morning.

The cottages are immaculately clean and well equipped with cooking gear, a TV and quite solid movie library, spa bath, huge bathroom, and reasonably comfortable bed. As per the website, on our first day we received a nice selection of breakfast supplies and a freshly baked loaf of bread from the owners, as well as a range of other nice goodies (pate, a bottle of wine, some chocolates).

However, after a great start things were a little different on our second night. For starters, our room was not cleaned up or restocked at all after the first night. This meant that we had to do our own dishes, use our old towels etc. More importantly, however, it meant that we didn't get any kind of fresh supplies by way of bacon, coffee, milk, orange juice etc.

As a result, once we did the dishes (!) we had a slightly sad improvised breakfast on the second day, sharing our one remaining coffee, and most importantly, no bacon!

Maybe this is just how Australian B&Bs work - I don't know as I tend to stay in hotels. However, I think it should be made very clear that if you book for two nights, you actually get breakfast for ONE night only. For example, there was coffee to make four shots in the espresso machine, i.e., two coffees each for two adults. The only option for more was listed as $15 for 10 more specialised coffee pods - which we had no use for once we left. There as no information about additional food that we could find.

For some perspective, the rates were similar to the rates we recently paid to stay in a luxury hotel in the heart of Tokyo, yet in quiet country Australia we found ourselves doing our own dishes so that we could share half a coffee pod each on our second day. I also find it very surprising to pay premium rates and then not have the room turned over. If we were supposed to specifically request this then this was not made clear anywhere. Likewise, if we were supposed to order more breakfast supplies, then I could find no indication of this anywhere. We saw our host twice - once when we arrived, and once when we paid upon departure. While perfectly pleasant, there was no mention of any of the above.

What I can't quite work out is why things were arranged in this way, when presumably if we'd checked out after one night and then checked in for another night everything would have been restocked and refreshed.

On balance this is a fine place to stay and close to Tanunda and surrounding wineries - but make sure you BYO breakfast supplies, despite what the website says.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wiggles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The property was amazingly beautiful very clean and the quality and attention to detail we had not seen before. Everything you could imagine you would want or need was there. They supplied breakfast and more than enough local gourmet food for a couple of picnics or late night suppers. They also supplied a range of beverages alcoholic and non and a very easy to use coffee machine. I purchased this as a 33 year wedding anniversary present combined with the blues festival was an awesome 3 days. Privacy was respected and when we were leaving the owners invited us to try their own vineyards wine they were such lovely people and although I don't drink my husband was very impressed. Great time wonderful place what more could you want. Thanks
Harry and Chrystine

Room Tip: only one bedroom definitely a romantic couples destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely modern cottage with all the facilities. Great location perfect for exploring
the barossa. Restaurants and vineyards close by. Full kitchen and a barbecue area. Very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Hopefully we will be back soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jemgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just a short note note to add to the other very positive reviews. Barossa Vineyard Cottages are a great example of how a B&B should be. The cottages have privacy, excellent design, are not prissily over decorated and have a large functional bathroom with plenty of hot water. The ample breakfast provisions are sourced locally where possible, with plaudits for the delicious thick cut bacon and fresh eggs. As others have commented, Sandra is pleasant, well organised and an excellent host.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gomersal cottage, but the design of all is identical.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietony_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
2.8 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
1.9 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
0.6 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
1.4 mi away
Tanunda Cottages
Tanunda Cottages
#4 of 10 in Tanunda
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Vineyard Cottages

Property: Barossa Vineyard Cottages
Address: 182 Bethany Road, Tanunda, South Australia 5353, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barossa Vineyard Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bethany, our fully self-contained stone cottages are located in the heart of the Barossa Valley. Bordered by vineyards and a stunning outlook to the Barossa Ranges, the area is steeped in history and boasts of great walks as well as being surrounded by award winning wineries and restaurants. With modern comforts behind classic settler style and grace, our cottages remain comfortable in every season. Featuring front and rear private verandas for you to relax and unwind whilst enjoying the wonderful views of the Barossa Ranges, the spires of Tanunda or the sunsets that the Barossa is known for. Your romantic getaway starts here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Barossa Vineyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Vineyard Cottages Barossa Valley/Tanunda, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing