We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware deciduous trees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice park, very grassy and close to shopping. While deciduous trees are lovely they make a heck of a mess on & in your van. At this park there were many sites available but under one of these trees was not a good choice. Mea culpa. I would definitely stay here again in Autumn (but under other trees).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pal22803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had three nights in the on-site cabins and they were quite comfortable. It was a business trip, so the kitchen area served well for meetings, and the audiovisual setup with Austar was a welcome addition. Rates are reasonable. Clean, warm...more than adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We are here on the long weekend, and it is a very well laid out spot. Our shower block is modern and refurbished and an easy walk across the bridge. There is a gate at the back of the park (coded security and well lit) that brings you into Tanunda town

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GourmondoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Deluxe cabin with large bed and a 2nd bedroom where we could put cases. Spacious lounge/kitchen area with fridge, stove cooker and microwave. Foxtel a bonus with other FTA channels. Shower water pressure not what I'm used to and "hand held" shower head had to be just that as it sagged down when turned on. Close-by, very clean BBQ saved us having to cook inside and the available utensils and sink alongside the BBQ is a nice touch. Being able to swing couch around and make own setting made lounge area look bigger. Very clean and when we had problem with lighting, the attendant explained why and fixed it immediately. Good spot to stay as its away from noise and traffic and could get out and drive around the Valley via a number of different routes. I'll be back, and probably stay a bit longer than 3 nights next time.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms along creek opposite big holding yard were very quiet. But I shouldn't be saying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first time staying here and it was fantastic. We were in the de luxe cabins overlooking a creek, the cabins were more than comfortable with lounge suites, kitchen facilities and two bedrooms and easy access showers and bathroom and a nice outdoor balcony and setting.
The grounds are beautiful and as we were with a group of caravans' each evening was spent around a campfire for a happy hour or two. There was a BBQ setting not far from our cabin that was well maintained and clean. Access to the township was easy and everything you need is close by.
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetesTravels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This park was a haven for us after travelling back from Perth across the Nullarbor. Having lush green grass under our feet was sheer luxury. We had stayed at this park on our way over so knew we would enjoy it. The park is very well kept. The area for motor homes is a large grassy area in the middle of the park. Plenty of room and beautiful shade trees surround. The washing machines and driers were cheap as well. The staff are delightful. The park is also situated on a large reserve where there are many walking tracks and a bush chapel.

Room Tip: You can park anywhere on the green set apart for motor homes. It is a large tree shaded site quite b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzinauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the budget cabins and were very pleased with them. They were very clean and comfortable and well laid out to make use of the space, plus having a full oven in the kitchen was great (rather than the really slow stove tops we found in other caravan parks). The park was quiet and peaceful, the staff were friendly and helpful, and you could walk into town. I would say this is above average for a budget caravan/tourist park (we've stayed in a few now), and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
2.6 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
1.8 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
5.4 mi away
Barossa Tourist Park
Barossa Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Nuriootpa
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Barossa Motor Lodge
Barossa Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tanunda
117 reviews
4.7 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
286 reviews
3.3 mi away
Seppelts View Cabins
Seppelts View Cabins
#2 of 3 in Seppeltsfield
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley

Address: Barossa Valley Way, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia (Formerly Tanunda Caravan & Tourist Park)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tanunda
Price Range: £57 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley is located in the charming town of Tanunda in the heart of the Barossa Valley, Australia's best-known wine region and South Australia's most visited tourist destination. At the end of the day exploring, Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley has a range of accommodation options to suit all. Choose from Deluxe self-contained cabins, your home away from home, through to Powered and Unpowered campsites. Our playground, swimming pool and inflatable trampoline will keep the young and the young at heart entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley Tanunda, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing