We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising!”
Review of fermentAsian

fermentAsian
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$54
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Small seasonal menu of Northern Vietnamese-influenced cuisine. The focus is on local produce, most of which is grown in the family vegetable and herb garden. The business also boasts the most comprehensive wine list in South Australia, with international focus on wines that harmonise with the subtly spiced Asian cuisine. Don't expect to find a large listing of the sweet-fruited highly-charged and alcoholic Barossa Shiraz's, but you will find pages and pages of Champagne, German Riesling, White and Red Burgundy, Beaujolais, as well as the most comprehensive listing of wines from new and exciting local Barossa, Clare and Adelaide Hills producers. A wine pilgrim's paradise established for the local wine making community, many of whom are seen each night enjoying dinner at fermentAsian. Note that the wine list was awarded the top wine list award in Australia in the gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year awards in July 2016.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprising!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It's a surprise to find such a restaurant in the Barossa. They can be a bit strict around bookings and times so make sure you book if you're heading to the Barossa. It's a beautiful old house with high ceilings, which can make it a little chilly in winter so take a cardigan or a jacket.
The food is lovely. The service is great and the wine list is really extensive and from all around the world.
Dishes are small but don't be deceived, they are filling, particularly with the rice accompaniment.
We were advised by our waitress to order 1 entree each and 1 main. We didn't. We ordered 2 entrees and 3 mains and that was plenty of food.
We'll definitely go back.
Between Ferment Asian and our usual haunt Vintners, we are now spoilt when we go to the Barossa.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    139
    38
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One out of the box”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This must be one of the most interesting Asian restaurants in South Australia (at least - maybe Australia). Whatever made them open such a restaurant in Tanunda I do not know, but the drive up there is both pleasant and worth it. this is the second time we have eaten there. We loved it the first time, and were tentative about going again - didn't want to be disappointed by a memory happy for other reasons. If anything it was better. The menu is small, but offers enough variety. The serving sizes filled without overfilling. The wine list is superb - interesting and well-judged. We ate scallops, red curry duck, and mixed vegetables, and were more than happy. The cooking was subtle, but with a point of view. The short dessert menu continued the theme - with the poached pear with chocolate-chilli ice-cream being a standout. We enjoyed the personal and well-informed advice on the wine. Service was quick enough. Staff could have been a little better informed on the menu dishes. As others have noted it was a little noisy, but we took this as the sound of others in a good mood, and felt tht it ultimately added to the experience. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Died and went to heaven when I ate here! Beautiful fresh, authentic, Vietnamese food. Great flavours with fresh herbs a just enough spice & zing! One of the owners served us and she was very helpful, friendly and cheerful. Lovely decorated restaurant in a beautiful part of Adelaide. Not one of these noisy, crowded cafe style places but a truly pleasurable dining experience. I haven't stopped raving about this place! Well worth the drive!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MiniMinxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Try the Tasting Menu”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rather than limit ourselves to three mains, we decided to try the tasting menu- delicious samplings from every course that left us too satisfied to do the last course justice. We shared the small room with a quiet party of 6; noise was not an issue. The owner dropped by our table and recommended a wine that was a fine complement. At the end of the evening, the chef stopped by our table. Thoroughly please with food, service, hospitality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food - a little noisy”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Small pleasant restaurant with a number of rooms. Main room is wooden floored and so can be noisy, especially when you have a party member who is hard of hearing. There are other rooms which are carpeted and I would advise asking for a table in one of these.

Food is the best Vietnamese I have ever had and the wine is served by the proprietor who has a comprehensive knowledge of his stock and is a joy to chat to before you make a choice.

Overall a fantastic experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed fermentAsian also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 

Been to fermentAsian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing