We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am not going there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barossa Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I am not going there again”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days in April 2013.
The rooms are OK and clean and the location was good for me. But, I won't go there again.
I was staying there for a conference, apparently on special rate they worked out with the conference. I had a double queen bed, so decided to take my husband along. Although, The price is the same for one or two adults, when checking out they charged me extra ~50%. When checking in they did not tell me about this.

I really don't like when there are hidden costs and I am treated unfairly.

People of Barossa are very nice, I will go back there but will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariam_July12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Barossa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I am sorry you feel you have been treated unfairly, however you did book a Queen Bed - Single occupancy room for the duration of the conference and were advised by the conference organisers, at the time of booking, the costs associated with that booking. The difference that you actually paid was 20% more for the extra person, which was not known about until your arrival. There were no hidden costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
15
53
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The receptionist wasnt very friendly on arrival, but the room was of a satisfactory standard, the rooms set on an angle gave privacy both front and rear as you cant see your nieghbours at all, the breakfast in the dining room was good and the reception at that time was friendly and helpful, a different person to the evening staff . Overall satisfactory for the price and we wouldnt be concerned if we had to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldeepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Aftre hunting around for a place to stay overnight after a winery lunch and finding many places booked, we secured the last room on a Saturday night at the Barossa Motor Lodge.

The owner was very friendly and helpful which was replicated upon arrival on a hot November's day. The room was clean and adequate for one night. Yes, the decor is a little outdated but at the price of $130 for a twin room which consisted of 2 double beds, it hardly matters. There are cheaper rooms available. Thankfully the air-conditioner did the job although a touch noisy but luckily we could sleep without it on.

There was a separate toilet and a fair-sized shower so all good in that department.

We were able to park the car right in front of our room which was handy. There are no restaurants close by so a car is preferable to drive to the main street. However, a walk of just over 1 km is OK if you want to drink. There is a restaurant on site but it was closed when we there although we didn't need it.

Overall, I would recommend this place for a short stay in the beautiful Barossa.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Barossa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Should have come to our fantastic restaurant on-site at the motel, good food and very affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Arrived during the afternoon, reception staff not really bothered, not particuarly helpful. The room was in bad need of refurbishment, the bathroom sink area was separated from the bedroom by a shower curtain. Bathroom door wouldn't shut properly.

As there was a large washing line I decided to do some hand washing and hang it out - mistake. When I bought the washing in there were dirty marks from the line so I had it all to do again another day!

The swimming pool was tiny.

Didn't feel particularly comfortable there.

Not a particularly good location as it was outside the main area of the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grandmafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tanunda hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

As much as the rooms may not have been very modern they suited us for what we were looking for, reasonably priced clean accomodation in an otherwise overpriced tourist region.
The room was bigger than we were expecting so that was nice and the fact that the toilet was separate to the shower was also good.
The hosts were extremely helpful and even let us check in early without a murmur or grumble.
We found the location to be excellent a great place to use as a base and head out from each day to the different wineries and villages nearby and we would definitely stay there again if we are back that way in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Dated... it will be great if they could upgrade the interior a bit. The hot water & cold water tap is seperate, it does make washing up a bit difficult. Noisy heater. Over all OK. Cover car park is a plus point especially if ou got lots of luggage. Good location. Good pricing considering its location and limited accomodation availability in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnstinkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I have been staying at this motel every March for 7 years to attend a convention nearby.
It is cheap and cheerful and not overly expensive.
The big plus is that all units have undercover parking, a feature that is rarely seen elsewhere.
We have been here during heatwaves and rainy periods so the car does not get baked or you don't get wet when loading or unloading.
Perhaps the facilities are dated, but the room is spacious and clean and the shower area is A ok.
The bed is comfortable, the air conditioner is noisy, but at least it worked!
I rate one little minus, due to the fact that the toilet and shower have no exhaust fans.
We are so pleased with the facilities that we will only stay here when visiting the Barossa.

Room Tip: Try to book a room further back from the road, they seem to be less 'wear and tear'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
0.3 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
4.1 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
3.2 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Angaston Vineyards Motel
Angaston Vineyards Motel
#1 of 1 in Angaston
50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
351 reviews
1.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Motor Lodge

Property: Barossa Motor Lodge
Address: 182 Murray St, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barossa Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable clean and affordable 3.5 Star accommodation. Free Wi-Fi. Friendly staff. Spacious rooms with private ensuite, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with DVD player and complimentary DVD Library at Reception. Ground floor units with undercover parking at your unit door. Free Cots and high chairs available. Guest Laundry, free Guest BBQ, free guest internet kiosk, summer use outdoor pool and spa, tennis court. Free WiFi. On-site Baccus Restaurant - fully licensed, a la carte menu - open 7 days a week - for breakfast and evening meals, anniversaries, weddings, functions, and conferences. Fantastic food, local Barossa Valley wines. We can arrange wine tours and bicycle hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barossa Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Motor Lodge Barossa Valley/Tanunda, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing