We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Cupid's cottage was a perfect place to enjoy a small honeymoon after our wedding. We loved the extra little touches in the cottage, the beautiful platter on arrival, the scenery & of course, the ducks! We also loved the extra touch of having transportation to and from Appellation for a beautiful meal. We will be recommending Stonewell to our friends and family & can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stonewell Cottages for three nights as part of a weekend away in October.

We stayed at Haven Spa Retreat 1, which consisted of a small garden, combined kitchen/lounge, bathroom, bedroom and spa room. The cottage, while larger than a hotel room, is smaller than a regular cottage or holiday house. There’s ample space for parking.

The location is an easy drive from Adelaide, a short drive from town and just down the road from Appellation restaurant, which we found a little overrated. (We preferred 1918 restaurant in town.)

The owners had texted us the entry code in advance and it was nice not to have to worry about carting a set of keys around when coming and going. Apart from the text message, there was little further contact with the owners. We were okay with this, but if you prefer local knowledge and interaction over privacy and seclusion you’d be better off elsewhere. I’d say this accommodation would suit people who had brought their own car and prefer independent travel.

When we entered the cottage there were some local guides and breakfast provisions laid out for us. The breakfast provisions were more than adequate, providing us with three breakfasts, one dinner and several snacks, with food to spare. Much of the food is fresh and local. The stove and pans took a little getting used to, but other than that the appliances were fine.

The bathroom was small, but neat and adequate. The bedroom was also quite small and the pillows were a bit too flat, but the bed itself was comfortable.

The spa room was lovely and the spa was one of the best I’ve experienced: spacious and relaxing, with bathrobes, candles and magazines on hand. It was a shame you couldn’t use it after 10pm due to the neighbours next door, but understandable given the noise it made.

It was too warm to use the fireplace in the living area, but spring was a great time of year to visit the Barossa and stay at Stonewell next to its own lake – complete with ducklings.

I had prepared myself for poor phone/internet coverage after reading previous reviews, but I was able to access calls and emails most of the time. Wi-Fi is not provided, so international travellers without an Australian mobile may find this a bit of an issue.

The attention to detail was a little hit and miss. While we appreciated the lavender sprig in the bathroom, we had to hunt for shower gel (it was in the spa room). The torch at the front door was a nice touch, except the batteries were flat. Inside was spotless, but the outdoor furniture could have done with a quick wipe down.

The price is on the expensive side, however it’s probably reasonable when you factor in the amount of money you would spend on breakfast/snacks if they weren’t provided. For the price, I would expect higher end branded bath products (such as L’Occitane, for example).

All in all, I enjoyed my stay here, particularly the generous food provisions and impressive spa room. Stonewell was a great place to relax, pamper myself with a spa bath, and appreciate the local flora and fauna.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorexstevex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night after having to leave another premises due to septic issues. Our misfortune turned into one enormous blessing. Tina couldn't have been more wonderful nor this perfect cottage. Loved every minute, laying by the lake, rowing across the lake, taking the double spa, relaxing in the courtyard. The cottage is such a delight & beautifully appointed. Can't fault it, best ever, didn't want to leave. Thank you again Tina

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2live2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This is our last night of 4 here in Cupid's Cottage. We will be so sad to leave in the morning. This is the most romantic little cottage with everything that you could possibly want or need inside.
We received our special code for the door by text the night before arriving. A sudden cold snap had hit but not to worry the fireplace was stacked ready to be lit! Beautiful muscat was ready in a carafe by the fire. We had ordered a platter and that was perfect for our first night. The breakfasts provided have been delicious and much more than we could eat. We have enjoyed rowing on the lake and walks around the lake past the acres of vines. The location was perfect so close to wineries and restaurants but the lure of the cottage kept calling us back! We highly recommend this cottage and will certainly be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Just home from three nights at the delightful Stonewell Cottages. We stayed in Spa Haven Retreat 2. We arrived around 8.30pm on a very cold, wet and windy night. It was so nice to have the lights and heating on to welcome us as well as the fire laid just waiting for a match to bring it to life

Initial impression was that the living area appeared smaller than photos we'd seen on the website, however as it was just the 2 of us, this disappointment quickly disappeared as we discovered all the delights of the cottage.

Breakfast supplies for three days were provided, and catered for everything we could think of for breakfast, almost all local produce too, a nice touch. Great to discover the Nespresso machine too - we've been spoilt with ours, so nice to have it on holiday too. I was pleased to note that apart from a garlic press, there was everything I needed in the kitchen - we take these short breaks at least once a year and as I love to cook I'm always disappointed to find only a few very basic utensils. For the first time I pretty much had everthing I needed. Quality dinner and glassware too.

The bathroom was clean and stylish with plenty of toiletries provided and, a proper hair dryer (yay!). The bed was warm and comfy. The bedroom itself was quite small but very adequate and the bed was beautifully made with plenty of pillows and cushions, little chocolates on the side bench were a treat (which we forgot to indulge in).

Then, the spa room! What a delight. A proper 2 person spa set at the end of a large, sunny room off the bedroom. Views over the vineyards were lovely however, given it's winter and the vines are bare, to protect your privacy you might like to close the blinds if using the spa during the day - there's no immediate neighbour but you can see nearby homes which means the occupants could potentially see in

Opening the blinds on our first morning to see the lake, complete with ducks and a little rowboat for guest's use was lovely. The big black and white duck kept me company at the window as I made breakfast on the first morning

So many things to love about this little cottage. The little treats were a lovely touch. I highly recommend ordering a gourmet platter too - fillied with delight from the Barossa Valley, it was perfect to share over a bottle of wine

The only downside, and this is totally out of the control of the owners, is the poor Internet/phone coverage. Given we were 75km from Adelaide, having little or no reception was poor. Bring on the NBN!

Thank you Tina and Evan, your little Haven was a perfect spot to base ourselves for a weekend of wine tasting and relaxation

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolynM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Stonewell Cottages. The location is perfect for perusing the wineries and countryside. The fireplace was the real draw for us, and it was perfect. And the breakfast provisions were fantastic. Service was exactly what we wanted - there when you need it, but invisible when you want privacy. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lezwopeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
376 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stoneweel Cottages are a hidden gem in the Barossa Valley. Conceived as secluded separate cottages by the lake are totally independent and assure you the highest comfort but also privacy without sharing any space with other guests. it's like having your private country home.
Check in and check out operations are simple and easy. You never meet anybody from the property. You pay in advance your stay then the day before call to get the security number to unlock the door and advise your check in time. Once you arrive nobody is there to wait you.
The route from Adelaide is very easy and then getting closer a lot of signs direct you.
We stayed at Cupid's Cottage. every cottage has its own dedicated parking. There are vineyards all around and the main porch is facing the lake.
We arrived insert the security code and the door opened.
Inside the cottage is cozy intimate and romantic. There is a fireplace fully equipped and operational, a living room area, a kitchen with oven, fridge and dishwasing machine. Everything with clear instructions. Refrigerator is filled with all the necessary for breakfast (ham, eggs, bread, butter and milk). Everything is fresh and comes from a nearby farm.
In case you want wine there are some options stocked with related price list.
The bedroom is cozy with lots of pillows and duvet and there is a big jacuzzi bathtub to relax.
Also there is a nice bathroom equipped with shower.
Outside there is a porch with some chairs and a barbecue. By the lake there is a little boat at disposal for guests. Around the lake but very far, the other cottages.
The accomodation is relaxing, comfortable and romantic. You can walk, enjoy the country or stay in by the fireplace cooking something. All around the area there are several farms and wine cellars where you can buy cheese, hams, and wines. Also in Tanunda downtown there is a supermarket at disposal.
We spent 2 days there enjoying all the chateau and wine cellars of the region and relaxing at night in this beautiful cottage. Upon check out yo just close the door behing you and leave.
It's definitely the ultimate evolution of privacy and hospitality. I strongly recommend this nice experience at Barossa.

Room Tip: Cupid's cottage has the best position by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuDiMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
4.5 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
2.7 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#9 of 14 in Tanunda
176 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards

Property: Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
Address: 373 Stonewell Road | Stonewell, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded and private waterfront vineyard cottages in the heart of the Barossa - cosy wood fires, comfy king beds, luxury candlelit spas. Escape, rejuvenate. Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards, a boutique waterfront retreat, set on an expansive private vineyard estate in the heart of the Barossa, offers peace and privacy, seclusion and space, just 60 minutes from Adelaide. Enjoy serene water views, still tranquil evenings and stunning vineyard sunsets. The two retreats and two cottages feature cosy wood fires, comfy king beds and luxury candlelit spas. The Haven Spa Retreats, the Hideaway Cottage and Cupid's Cottage are set on the expansive 103 acre (42ha) private vineyard estate of Stonewell Vineyards, overlooking a picturesque, private lake. Just a short drive from Tanunda, it is a tranquil world away from stress and hectic schedules, the ideal place to escape and rejuvenate. Sleep amid the vines, wake up to a long, lazy breakfast featuring fresh local produce. Unwind in your candlelit spa, de-stress with an indulgent in-room massage. Feed the friendly ducks, take a row to the island gazebo, throw in a fishing line or enjoy a bike ride along the vine lined country roads. Dine alfresco in your private garden courtyard with a gourmet regional food platter delivered to your cottage. Sip a wine made from the vines surrounding your cottage as you watch the sunset over the water. The best of the Barossa is on our doorstep - visit nearby Seppeltsfield Road for boutique cellar doors, historic winery tours, premium dining at Appellation Restaurant, gourmet produce and daily cooking demonstrations at Maggie Beer's Farm shop. We invite you to make Stonewell 'your place in the Barossa'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards Barossa Valley/Tanunda, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing