We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast
St Augustine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Relaxing!”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay in the Washburn room at the Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast. We LOVED our stay!! The houses are historic and beautiful, and the hosts, Dan and Lynn are attentive and gracious. The breakfasts Lynn prepared for us were delicious, to say the least! We drove to Lake Lure each day - an easy 25 min away - and a pleasant drive. It was so nice to be able to come back to the Carrier Houses each evening to relax on the porches, eat fresh baked cookies, and talk with the owners and other guests. The next time we're in the area, we will definitely try to stay here again - would highly recommend - a comfortable, relaxing, and memorable visit!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
12
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I needed to attend a funeral receiving in Forest City, but the one hotel that looked good there was full. They recommended the Carrier. I got the last room for the night. It was very nice, with a comfortable bed and a nice sitting area for reading. The bathroom was small - but what I've come to expect from older house B&Bs. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a plate of delicious fresh fruit, then stuffed French Toast with strawberries. It kept me full until a late lunch. The other guests were nice to meet. (There were 5 of us, all men.) I will certainly stay here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingrev58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Stayed here for a work trip to Forest City. My room, the Washburn room, was huge and full of knick knacks to explore. It was so cozy and cute. For breakfast, Lynn made stuffed French toast with fresh strawberries and bacon, then gave me muffins to take to the office. Super nice!

This would be a great place for a girls' weekend out as there are two houses you could take rooms in.

There's not much going on in the town of Rutherfordton but that might be a good thing! Sit on the porch and decompress all weekend.

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank looneyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherrylog
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Quiet and charming place. Lynn was very friendly and elegant. Traveled for business and the cozy environment was nice to come and relax to. Very quaint and reminded me of staying with my aunts when I was younger. Dan was gone for the week and the internet modem was down, but this did not hinder the experience. The bathrooms are a bit small, but serve the purposes needed for a bathroom. I hope to go back and stay with my wife and kids outside of business. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cHERRYLOGrODNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherfordton
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Forest City
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Forest City
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Firehouse Inn
The Firehouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Rutherfordton
44 reviews
14.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast
Address: 255 N Main St, Rutherfordton, NC 28139-2549
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Rutherfordton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherfordton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room in these two 19th Century houses is decorated in a unique style. Flat screen TVs, and air conditioning are just some of the modern amenities that you can enjoy in these historic and well-maintained homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing