We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and clean”
Review of Chalambar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalambar Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly and clean”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very clean, friendly and provides what it says on the tin! Only negative would be that the bathrooms are very small, but it all is very clean. The owner was very friendly and helpful with restaurant advice.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalambar, Consultant at Chalambar Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments Suzanna-we are always delighted when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We are glad to be able your found the restaurant advice useful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the the Chalambar Motel when next you are in Ararat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
17
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Great service, clean, modern rooms, cozy - a great room for a night stopover
We were given a late check out when we asked for it. The room was small (toilet is really small) but for the price we paid, it was worth the stay. Modern rooms, clean, comfortable. Would definitely return if in the area!

Room Tip: Choose a room further away from the road as the trucks on the main road may be a tad noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalambar, Consultant at Chalambar Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you Beatrix for taking the trouble to post such a favourable review on the Chalambar Motel. Our aim is always to provide our guest with an enjoyable stay and to hear such great comments is most rewarding!
We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

This motel is the best place to stay at in Ararat. I have stayed hear quite a few times now and I have always found the owns to be helpful and down to earth and have always made sure that they could find a room for me. I have always found them to be profession in what they do. The rooms are always clean and very comfey.
Keep up the great work! Bec.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beentheredonetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have always stayed at the Chalambar Motel for the Jailhouse rock n roll festival for the past 11 years. We have seen changes of conditions and owners and have always been treated with honesty and respect.We could not make it one year and were still assured a room for the next year. The owners seem like they cannot do enough for us. Very friendly,the rooms are spotless and modern and have everything you would need for that weekend away. If they can fit you in they will ,it,s a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roknray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

After we had booked the 3 bedroom unit well in advance and then paid for our Ararat jail house rock tickets along with 3 other couples we recieve a phone call to say that they have booked out the unit for 12 months very dissapointed to say the least.From now (Feb ) we have to mid March to try and find accomodation in Ararat, dont like our chances.Thanks very much Chalambar , we will never trust you again and will be giving you bad references to all of our Rock and Roll associates and club's from now and to the future :(

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalambar, Consultant at Chalambar Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We are aware that this reviewer experienced frustration regarding his reservation and for that we are most sincerely apologetic. Our aim is always to do our best to satisfy and please our guests.
We do hope that the six weeks notification was sufficient to enable you to finalise accommodation and that you were able to enjoy the wonderful Ararat Rock 'n Roll festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for a weekender in Ararat. Went by the Trip Advisor review to select.

The motel is recently refurbished and continuing upgrades, but the rooms are compact - especially the bathroom which is good for anyone average size or less, but any more than that and it's a very tight fit.

Whilst the rooms are double glazed, it was still hard to shut out the truck noise from the highway 30 metres away, and the occasional passing train at the rear.

Overall good value for an average sized person who can sleep through almost anything.

Hosts are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here on business, and happy I did. Room was modern, clean and tidy with fixtures and fittings to make stay comfortable.
Room was a little smaller than normal, but there was plenty of room for one. Being winter and cold the size was possible a advantage for heating, although the heating/cooling was of good specification?

I will stay here again next time I'm in Arrarat as I believe it is by far the newest and cleanest in Arrarat

Room Tip: Maybe best to stay in room towards the back as there are many trucks through the night, however the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ararat
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat
22.4 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ararat Motor Inn
Ararat Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ararat
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
1.3 mi away
Southern Cross Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalambar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalambar Motel

Property: Chalambar Motel
Address: 132 Lambert St, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Ararat
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalambar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated with modern decor the Chalambar Motel offers luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Now with new family units and cottages to longer stays and guests who prefer to self-cater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chalambar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing