We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Chalambar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalambar Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Callawadda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for a night room was ok a bit loud and cold, had a meal at the restaurant it was awful they forgot the main item in a Caesar salad (poached egg) then the wait staff tried to tell me it was an optional extra when I re read the menu to them it read topped with a poached egg, the forgot extra chips on another meal, the salad seemed like it was unwashed a bit grainy feeling, the plates were still dirty in the bottom as were bowls on the sides, ordered a tiramisu slice, got charged a desert price then the wait staff realised it was not on the menu it was out of the fridge so we ended up with 2 slices & 2 menu desserts....
The staff need to know there menu and learn how too clean dishes properly

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingfarmers002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
17
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just arrived back home from another great weekend at the Ararat Jailhouse rock n roll festival made all the better by staying at the Chalambar motel. This year we stayed in our usual HUGE room that is warm and very comfortable . You cannot find a better place to stay in Ararat and really the staff,Chris and Ian make you feel so welcomed. We were booking in and another rock n roller came to book in at the same time carrying flowers for the warmth she received last year from Chris and Ian. Stay hear or miss out,it,s the best. The rooms are comfortable and clean with everything needed to not want to leave

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roknray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A wonderfully warm motel. Great staff and very friendly. Show no bias towards motorcycle riders and made us feel totally welcome. Great location to the town and all the facilities there. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthAussiePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Absolutely loved this motel. Friends and I stayed for one night only but were very happy with the room and the service provided. Traveled from Adelaide for the Aradale Lunatic Asylum overnight ghost investigation the Friday night before so needed a nice comfortable place to stay before our drive back on the Sunday. Allowed us to check in at 11, much appreciated as we'd had no sleep the night prior! Once again, the owners were lovely and gave us a nice warm welcome. Will definitely stay here again if we're ever over that way! Thanks! Emma, George, Carly & Daniel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very clean, friendly and provides what it says on the tin! Only negative would be that the bathrooms are very small, but it all is very clean. The owner was very friendly and helpful with restaurant advice.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalambar, Consultant at Chalambar Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments Suzanna-we are always delighted when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We are glad to be able your found the restaurant advice useful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the the Chalambar Motel when next you are in Ararat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Great service, clean, modern rooms, cozy - a great room for a night stopover
We were given a late check out when we asked for it. The room was small (toilet is really small) but for the price we paid, it was worth the stay. Modern rooms, clean, comfortable. Would definitely return if in the area!

Room Tip: Choose a room further away from the road as the trucks on the main road may be a tad noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalambar, Consultant at Chalambar Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you Beatrix for taking the trouble to post such a favourable review on the Chalambar Motel. Our aim is always to provide our guest with an enjoyable stay and to hear such great comments is most rewarding!
We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

This motel is the best place to stay at in Ararat. I have stayed hear quite a few times now and I have always found the owns to be helpful and down to earth and have always made sure that they could find a room for me. I have always found them to be profession in what they do. The rooms are always clean and very comfey.
Keep up the great work! Bec.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beentheredonetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ararat
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat
22.4 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ararat Motor Inn
Ararat Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ararat
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
1.3 mi away
Southern Cross Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalambar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalambar Motel

Property: Chalambar Motel
Address: 132 Lambert St, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Ararat
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalambar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated with modern decor the Chalambar Motel offers luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Now with new family units and cottages to longer stays and guests who prefer to self-cater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chalambar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing