We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed!”
Review of Chalambar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalambar Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Bendigo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just what I needed!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed here in April 2014, just for one night and it was exactly what I needed! I arrived late (about midnight), and the key was out for me, and room was ready, and my room receipt was printed etc. Room was small, but cheerful, warm and clean. VERY good value for the price.
Would definitely stay again, and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BendigoRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Manager at Chalambar Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review I am glad you like it here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
19
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed last weekend still the most comfortable, clean, in good repair and modern motel in Ararat. Already looking forward to my next trip up.
The managers are most helpful and will help to sort out any problems that you may have. They can also tell you the best places to eat in town as well as book tables if need.
A perfect place to base yourself to explore the area or for a nights stop. You won't find any better in Ararat I would recommend the chalambar motel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beentheredonetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Just passing through and so glad it was only a one night stay. First of all when I called to make a reservation the woman answered the phone with "hello" so I had to verify it was the hotel. This woman was far from delightful, to the point where I said "I'm sorry did I wake you?" I should've known what to expect from then. I was only looking for a cheap room but never expected the room to be so small, I am a frequent traveler and have never come across such a pokey, dinghy, run down property. The cupboards were broken and the bathroom was very damp. I would definitely pay a little more next time for a superior product.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Olivia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Owner at Chalambar Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I am disappointed you called the Chalambar Motel a run down dinghy pokey motel .Fair enough the rooms are small but This is a country Motel not the Hilton. The bathrooms are not damp and all the doors are not falling off, may be 1 might be loose. Sorry you had a bad stay here. Everyone loves coming to our Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callawadda
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for a night room was ok a bit loud and cold, had a meal at the restaurant it was awful they forgot the main item in a Caesar salad (poached egg) then the wait staff tried to tell me it was an optional extra when I re read the menu to them it read topped with a poached egg, the forgot extra chips on another meal, the salad seemed like it was unwashed a bit grainy feeling, the plates were still dirty in the bottom as were bowls on the sides, ordered a tiramisu slice, got charged a desert price then the wait staff realised it was not on the menu it was out of the fridge so we ended up with 2 slices & 2 menu desserts....
The staff need to know there menu and learn how too clean dishes properly

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingfarmers002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just arrived back home from another great weekend at the Ararat Jailhouse rock n roll festival made all the better by staying at the Chalambar motel. This year we stayed in our usual HUGE room that is warm and very comfortable . You cannot find a better place to stay in Ararat and really the staff,Chris and Ian make you feel so welcomed. We were booking in and another rock n roller came to book in at the same time carrying flowers for the warmth she received last year from Chris and Ian. Stay hear or miss out,it,s the best. The rooms are comfortable and clean with everything needed to not want to leave

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roknray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A wonderfully warm motel. Great staff and very friendly. Show no bias towards motorcycle riders and made us feel totally welcome. Great location to the town and all the facilities there. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthAussiePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Absolutely loved this motel. Friends and I stayed for one night only but were very happy with the room and the service provided. Traveled from Adelaide for the Aradale Lunatic Asylum overnight ghost investigation the Friday night before so needed a nice comfortable place to stay before our drive back on the Sunday. Allowed us to check in at 11, much appreciated as we'd had no sleep the night prior! Once again, the owners were lovely and gave us a nice warm welcome. Will definitely stay here again if we're ever over that way! Thanks! Emma, George, Carly & Daniel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ararat
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
42 reviews
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.8 mi away
Ararat Motor Inn
Ararat Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ararat
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalambar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalambar Motel

Property: Chalambar Motel
Address: 132 Lambert St, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Ararat
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalambar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated with modern decor the Chalambar Motel offers luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Now with new family units and cottages to longer stays and guests who prefer to self-cater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalambar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing