We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely motel with somewhat dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have always found Golden Chain Motels to be of a really great standard both inside and out but this one was very dated inside the exective room. Fixing the drapes that were hanging off their hooks would make the room look so much nicer.
The security chain on the door was broken and there wasn't a phone in the room.
It was a large room and an extremely comfortable king size bed.
Lots of lovely teas/coffe/hot chocolate were provided in a wooden box and the internet is free.
The bathroom needs updating and it's the first time I have seen hot/cold taps on the opposite side. Being creatures of habit I always went to the RH tap for the cold water.
The manager and staff were very friendly and this motel is in an excellent part of town close to railway station, shops, supermarkets and clubs.
With a little extra loving care the rooms could be so much nicer.
We would probably stay here again when in the area again.

Room Tip: Our friend was in a standard room next door and the drapes were also hanging off their hooks. The T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Ararat Colonial is a homely 1970s family run Motel. The service is excellent and the rooms are homely, comfy and clean. The location is great, off the main road yet close enough to walk to the main street in Ararat for dinner. Good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We didn't get a good night's sleep because we could feel the springs on the queen sized bed. The bathrooms also need renovating. Otherwise it was clean and the manager was very attentive and helpful with providing us with a movie to watch before bed. Probably would give a better rating if there was a foam placed on the queen sized bed to avoid us feeling the springs! Lack of sleep saw us all struggling the next day for our function. There was also noise from the road early the next day which did not help.

Room Tip: Can't tell as did not sleep in any other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Arrived after a long trip after a very long day. Jason, the owner, was fantastic; welcoming and really helpful. Rooms were clean and the internet was exactly wht me and my mates really needed. Will definitely go there again if I'm on another trip in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Herschel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Room was clean and tidy and internet was fast. Building was well maintained. Was close to main shops for easy shopping in the morning. Will stay again next time I go through the area. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stopped here after long days travel - great spot - clean tidy and refurbished. Close to town centre (walking distance). Good service and very helpful. Went to RSL Club for dinner - excellent. Regular traveller on Adelaide to melbourne Road and will be staying again when required.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Arrived Christmas night on the way to STH Australia with 3 families. Everything was closed and kids starving. Jason the owner brought over chicken,dessert ,nibbles for everyone.He made sure we had plenty of room for our trailers. Way beyond normal hospitality.The rooms were very clean, plenty of hot water, obviously old but just what we needed after a long drive. Just a nice basic motel

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank radcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ararat
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat
23.2 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.0 mi away
Ararat Motor Inn
Ararat Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ararat
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Cross Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel

Address: 6 Ingor St, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Ararat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Price Range: £81 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing