We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the snow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Close to the snow”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here overnight and found the staff to be quite helpful and pleasant, the room was quite large and once the heater started we felt very comfortable and cosy, the grounds around the Motor Inn are well kept and you feel relaxed away from the city. This Hotel is on the budget side but well worth the stay, the room was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    49
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
58
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

booked 2 nights at high country inn friday and saturday july 2014 have been to bright lots of times before and stayed at quite a few places this is the second time we have stayed here last time was in the mid 80s. Arrival was good lady at reception was nice and helpful,we booked a spa room ,we arrived at 4pm when we got to a room it was cold this property has very high ceilings we put on r/c airconditioner went down the street for supplies when we got back room was warm.room quite large for the 2 of us cleanliness average at best bathroom old not changed since built about early 80s but everything worked had a flat screen tv. pool and babies pool and kids area looked good for familes,overall not bad value for money rooms a bit tired but if you dont mind that its ok

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at this hotel. Both times we have had issues with the hot water- although this was the first time we reported it & the owner seemed very grateful for the feedback. The rooms are basic, the lighting could be better but overall you get exactly what you pay for- basic, clean, comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in mid May over weekend with a group from Melbourne. The rooms were single level, low to the ground, with exposed beams and no ceiling with poor sound and temperature insulation. You could hear people walk past your door through glass wall and hear neighbours through the brick wall. We had the heater on most of the day as room was COLD. Breakfast was ok nothing to get excited about. .

Bright is in the food bowl of Victoria, a valley surrounded by mountains where they grow apples, walnuts, blueberries, chestnuts and have lots of wineries. wines, The autumn colours were very beautiful.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs to reduce sounds from neighbours (one wall is all glass). Leave heater on at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeGolfHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed at this motel last week for 5 nights with a large group and found it very convenient to the centre of Bright, only a short distance from the centre of town and an easy walk on the Rail Trail. The room, although a little dated, was large, clean and well appointed, the bed was comfortable and the TV a good size. We ate our breakfast and evening meal each day at the motel and can recommend the food which was well presented and tasty and varied each night. The owner Nick was very friendly and I would certainly stay and eat here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelled_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed two days with a group of over 40 motorcycle riders. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and very good value. We only had a continental Breakfast so the quality of the restaurant is not really known to me, but overall I would recommend this motel if you are staying in Bright.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownUnderCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Arrived following the Australia Day holiday for a pre-booked two night stay. However having travelled through the town of Bright and been impressed we immediately decided to extended our stay to four nights. At the check in the friendly Nick pointed out that we might be the only guests; he wasn't far wrong ! Allocated Room 2 we had the garden area and pool almost to ourselves. The units were large, if dark and dated(a renovation programme had just began) but the rooms were very clean and comfortable with high ceilings. It was a peaceful place to relax although that might not have been the case over the holiday weekend when the motel was full. One disappointment was the restaurant and bar were not open now the school holidays were over. There were no shortage of dining options in the town

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DurhamJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bright
0.7 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#1 of 13 in Bright
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Park Motel
Riverbank Park Motel
#10 of 13 in Bright
75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Harrietville Hotel Motel
Harrietville Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Harrietville
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Bright
86 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bogong View Motor Inn
Bogong View Motor Inn
#2 of 13 in Bright
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Motor Inn

Property: High Country Motor Inn
Address: 13-17 Great Alpine Road, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming Bright motel, nestled in the Ovens Valley and close to Mt Hotham, Mt Buffalo and Falls Creek ski fields. The Best Western High Country Motor Inn offers 3.5-star accommodation in Bright. All rooms have queen-sized beds,reverse-cycle air conditioning and 32inch LCD TV's. Choose from executive rooms, spa rooms or two-bedroom family rooms. Other facilities at this Bright motel include a licensed restaurant and bar, European cedar-style sauna, Outdoor pool with BBQ facilties set amongst our spacious gardens. FREE high speed wireless internet.Guests staying at the Best Western High Country Motor Inn will be close to local attractions and activities, including famous ski fields, alpine national parks, historical goldfields, wineries, cycling, bushwalking, paragliding, fly-fishing and golf. Don?t forget the camera! For warm hospitality and an ideal location in Bright, make a reservation at the Best Western High Country Motor Inn today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your High Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bright
Bright Best Western
High Country Motor Inn Bright, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing