We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hideaway”
Review of The Odd Frog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Odd Frog
Ranked #16 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Bright
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in suite 3 and loved it from the moment we arrived. The suite is the perfect size for a couple. The bathroom was beautiful, loved the simplicity of the bedroom and waking up to the stunning views every morning and thoroughly enjoyed relaxing on the sofa or deck outside with a glass of wine.

Some things that people should be aware of: it is a short drive from town and up a steep driveway which does not have lighting at night. We however loved the feeling of being away from everything! Also, being in the bush, you need be aware of the extra 'guests' you may encounter. We did have the 'pleasure' of finding a few spiders in and outside the house however there was bug spray provided which was very useful! But these really are small issues in comparison to how much we enjoyed our stay. We loved every minute and really hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaCook22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in Studio 5 with another couple and had a great time. Sensational views comfy beds and a bathroom to die for...all in all the best spot only thing I would change would be better outside furniture and better stock of basics ...salt and pepper, oil for cooking etc but we loved it and would go back.

Room Tip: Studio 5 looked best, some had difficult access via steps so check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

OMG the unit was okay but almost broke my leg on the walk home from dinner! The road is bumpy but made so much worse by no lighting no lights on the front sign and nothing at the reception area. Bad comunication with owners also disapointing. Happy to check our selves in but would of been nice to have someone pick up the phone. Aparantly the owners were at a function so didnt hear the phone...not good enough. None of the nice welcoming comforts you would expect for that price. Will try Bright Bliss or Merimeet next time!

Room Tip: possibly stay down the bottom of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in studio 3 over the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The studio was immaculate, had the basic but essential mod cons we needed to cook our brekkie each morning and amazing views from the balcony. The log fire and spa bath were great to retire back to in the evening, we had to request more kindling to start the fire (but this was due to our lack of fire starting skills) and this was done without hesitation. We sent pictures to people in the UK and everyone was very jealous of our gorgeous setting ! We will recommend this to everyone coming to Bright and also return ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

For that money I expected so much more. The personal touches were not there. The units debono.dianne@gmail.com. selves are not as clean as I would hope, dusty blinds, dirty crockery and old furniture. No oil, salt and pepper etc. Small TV no wi-fi no foxtel. The road is terrible, walking home in the pitch black is not fun! Old smelly doona covers, not freshly washed thats for sure. We left from our time there and stayed not far away and for the same price discovered luxury. yep the view is great but so not worth it. Look around people because there is so much more to bright than the odd frog. Not happy!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diannemelbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had such an amazing time here, staying in studio 3. Sooo beautiful, the view from our deck was amazing, waking up to that everyday was such a joy.. everywhere else in bright looked beyond cheap. wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights stay in Studio 1. The natural bush setting, the bed, and the privacy were the best features. The heating took a lot to work out. It was too hot at night with the wood heater and reverse cycle air conditioner. We realised at the end that we should have left some louvres opened... Roman blinds were dusty but that comes with a wood fireplace. The outside light was not working which made it difficult to get in to the studio at night. Hopefully the owners will fix it as we reported it. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justruss99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bright hotels
3.8 mi away
The Buckland - Studio Retreat
0.9 mi away
BIG4 Bright Holiday Park
4.7 mi away
Bright Freeburgh Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ashwood Cottages
Ashwood Cottages
#7 of 43 in Bright
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Westwood Lodge
Westwood Lodge
#6 of 43 in Bright
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Odd Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Odd Frog

Address: 3 McFadyens Lane, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Bright
Price Range: £83 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Odd Frog 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Odd Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Odd Frog Bright, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing