We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Odd Frog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Odd Frog
Ranked #22 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Bright
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Not as described on internet site, very tired run down needs good spring clean. Bathroom sink not draining was blocked? had to use kitchen sink. Stayed five days had amenities for only three.
Budget accommodation for high prices.

Room Tip: Stop somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a fantastic place for a couples get away.
The property has some of the most manificent views of the lically valley both at sunrise and night.
We stayed in Studio 3 which was very well apointed. The open fire place was the perfect for warming the chilly nights.
The bedroom was very charming and the bathroom with a simple design catered for all our needs.
The cabins included all the facilities required for cooking a wonder breakfast and making the stay very relaxing.
Would recommend for a quite and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed two nights in Studio 4 at "The Odd Frog" for our wedding anniversary and could not have been happier. We chose studio 4 because we are not fans of spa bath but the idea of a double shower with a superb via in the bathroom REALLY appealed to us. Each studio's position with in the property has been chosen with great thought it would appear that you can not really see anyone other studio other than the car space. This made the time we spent even more magic. The wood finishing and lighting blends beautifully with the environment and while we though storage was an issue it was not until we were about to leave that we discover the store under the lounge cushions. We loved sitting in bed and watching the kangaroo's and willy wag tails hop on by.
Maggie, Geoff and Nicole were wonderful in catering for our early arrival of luggage while we went and rode until the room was ready (Thanks to Stephanie for cleaning the room for our arrival it look wonderful) . The Breakfast Baskets and Gourmet Hampers and WONDERFUL, but too much for us to eat in just two days. The assistance in making advance dinner bookings was truly appreciated and the recommendations for Simone's at Bright will go down as one of my most memorial meals... watch out for the extensive wine list and don't be afraid to ask for recommendations. Just remember if you are coming to Bright not in peak season and need a dinner option make sure you check what is open as some restaurant are closed on more evenings in the quiet months. The owners at Odd Frog can help guide you through who is open.

All in all a wonderful location, great service and what a fantastic memory for our aniversary!

Room Tip: Studio 4 has a double shower with floor to ceiling views and no one else visible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in suite 3 and loved it from the moment we arrived. The suite is the perfect size for a couple. The bathroom was beautiful, loved the simplicity of the bedroom and waking up to the stunning views every morning and thoroughly enjoyed relaxing on the sofa or deck outside with a glass of wine.

Some things that people should be aware of: it is a short drive from town and up a steep driveway which does not have lighting at night. We however loved the feeling of being away from everything! Also, being in the bush, you need be aware of the extra 'guests' you may encounter. We did have the 'pleasure' of finding a few spiders in and outside the house however there was bug spray provided which was very useful! But these really are small issues in comparison to how much we enjoyed our stay. We loved every minute and really hope to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaCook22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in Studio 5 with another couple and had a great time. Sensational views comfy beds and a bathroom to die for...all in all the best spot only thing I would change would be better outside furniture and better stock of basics ...salt and pepper, oil for cooking etc but we loved it and would go back.

Room Tip: Studio 5 looked best, some had difficult access via steps so check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

OMG the unit was okay but almost broke my leg on the walk home from dinner! The road is bumpy but made so much worse by no lighting no lights on the front sign and nothing at the reception area. Bad comunication with owners also disapointing. Happy to check our selves in but would of been nice to have someone pick up the phone. Aparantly the owners were at a function so didnt hear the phone...not good enough. None of the nice welcoming comforts you would expect for that price. Will try Bright Bliss or Merimeet next time!

Room Tip: possibly stay down the bottom of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in studio 3 over the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The studio was immaculate, had the basic but essential mod cons we needed to cook our brekkie each morning and amazing views from the balcony. The log fire and spa bath were great to retire back to in the evening, we had to request more kindling to start the fire (but this was due to our lack of fire starting skills) and this was done without hesitation. We sent pictures to people in the UK and everyone was very jealous of our gorgeous setting ! We will recommend this to everyone coming to Bright and also return ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.9 mi away
Alpine Valley Cottages
Alpine Valley Cottages
#13 of 43 in Bright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ashwood Cottages
Ashwood Cottages
#5 of 43 in Bright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Allambie Cottages Bright
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Buckland - Studio Retreat
0.5 mi away
Luxury Abalina Cottages
Luxury Abalina Cottages
#14 of 43 in Bright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Autumn Abode Cottages
Autumn Abode Cottages
#19 of 43 in Bright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Odd Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Odd Frog

Property: The Odd Frog
Address: 3 McFadyens Lane, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Odd Frog 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Odd Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Odd Frog Bright, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing