We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend to attend a wedding at a nearby winery.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly and no fuss check-in. Our room was clean and cosy and as the property is set well back from the main road there was minimal road noise.

This was our first visit to the area and will definitely be back to explore more of the region.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eltham Gateway and for your review of our services. We are pleased that you found our property to your liking and enjoyed your time in Eltham. We wish you all the best for your future travels and would love to welcome you back to Eltham Gateway.

With Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
(03) 9431-1666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    53
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
40
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here while attending my sister's wedding. We found the room comfortable and tasteful.
The room service was delicious and Rachel on reception was excellent at customer service and extremely helpful, there was nothing too hard for her and she went out of our way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Kelli K,

Thank you for your recent review of Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre. We appreciate you staying with us for your sister's wedding and hope the day was memorable. We are glad you found our rooms and services to your liking and I have passed on your comment's to our receptionist Rachael as well.

Thank you once again and happy travelling for the future.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Quiet and on edge of bush land. The rooms feature a few pieces of art, and the furniture is in fine quality. We stayed in the Executive Spa Suite. The bathroom needed a good steaming cleaning (and the carpets as well). The room was neat and well presented but time for a thorough clean. I would recommend this hotel as the drive towards North Melbourne was very easy. Room service menu -Entrees and Deserts were fantastic, $9 each and yummy, but the mains were very disappointing! ($25-$32 for small potions of meat & a couple of veggies!) Good bed and well stocked mini-bar. Reception ladies were very polite & friendly!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverlovehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear SilverLoveHearts,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eltham Gateway and for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay in an executive spa suite.

We welcome guest feedback in areas that we can improve on - such as the carpet steam cleaning and the portion size of our main courses relative to the value of each item that you have highlighted. These have certainly been noted by both our head chef and housekeeping manager to improve all future guests stays.

We have also now introduced some lighter dining options such as our gourmet beef burger with tomato relish and swiss cheese with fries ($15.00), beer battered flathead tails with garlic aioli and country cut fries ($19.00), and our thai honey soy chicken with fragrant rice ($13.00) for those looking for a lighter evening meal.

I certainly agree that our desserts in particular are both well prices and very tasty. I also enjoyed reading that you found our staff "very polite and friendly".

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

With warm regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent staff, thinking now really hard to complain about anything... :) Nah, thumbs up, guys!.

Stayed with the kiddo, no noise, excellent spa (exec suite); no traffic jam, petrol stations & Woolies nearby. Will be a hotel of my choice when back 2 Melbourne again.

Cheers from Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Al T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and your recent stay with us. We are pleased that all your family enjoyed their stay and found our hotel to their liking

We look forward to welcoming you back to melbourne in the near future

Thank you once again

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the end of a 1 month Aussie holiday. Chose to be way out of the city in order to get a self contained kitchen at A$100 or less. Sure it's a 25 minute drive to the city centre but luckily we had free parking there. The room was neat and clean, well equipped.

If staying again I'd ensure we did not have a room with a shared door to another flat as although the occupants were thankfully quiet you can hear all the foul language on TV. Shower was over the bath but very good with pressure. A bit of a scarcity of power points near the table for the laptop. The internet is free but has an annoying feature of switching off the connection every 20 minutes unless a particular page is refreshed. Large fridge but over endowed with stock at high prices but still plenty of room for our items. That ends the niggles.

Facility is well off the road so is quiet. Beds were very comfortable and parking is very close by. Proper split inverter heat pump was very effective. Staff were friendly and the initial booking by phone / net from NZ went very well too, we were lucky to get the last budget self contained room. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Check there's no adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Kiwi Tonita,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Eltham Gateway Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Hillview Spa suite and found the facilities to your liking. We enjoy offering a value for money experience - particularly in our self contained rooms and I am pleased that we had one available for you.

Thank you once again and asfe travelling for the future.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mernda, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night. We were able to check in after hours, which made it so much easier. We got to our room to find a lovely bottle of champagne and some chocolates! It was a wonderful venue to stay at and I would highly recommend t anyone wanting to stay around the area of Eltham.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Amanda B,

Thank you for your review of Eltham Gateway and congratulations on your Wedding celebrations. We really enjoy assisting in making your specials day perfect and as easy as possible, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the Marble suite and the complimentary Champagne and chocolates.

All the best for the future and thank you once again for taking the time to re4view your experience with us.


Regards



David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eltham
6.0 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
7.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
537 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Mill Park Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mantra Bell City
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,133 reviews
9.1 mi away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,150 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1339 Main Rd, Eltham, Victoria 3095, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Eltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre rivals the most renowned Conference Venues and Conference Centres in Victoria. A retreat-style hotel boasting easy access to Melbourne CBD and airport, Eltham Gateway is a favourite accommodation provider and comes highly recommended for weekend getaways, special events and corporate conferences and stop-over stays. Set in magnificent, treed gardens, Eltham Gateway's facilities and accommodation are ideal for short or long stays, weddings, functions, workshops and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing