We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great conference venue.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great conference venue.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Recently attended a conference at the Eltham Gateway Hotel and it was great, We were well looked after with refreshments, morning tea, delicious lunch munu, and breakfast was outstanding. The rooms were very clean and bed was ok. Lots of stairs the only drawback. Thanks for looking after us all . Also a great wedding venue after talking to other guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for your recent stay whilst conferencing at Eltham Gateway and for taking the time to review our property and services. We pride ourselves on being one of the busiest conference velues in the area and I am pleased to read that you not only found your time at Eltham Gateway beneficial but also enjoyable as well.

Thank you again and safe travelling for the future.


Regards and thanks

David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
(03) 9431-1666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    52
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
38
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Altenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a business trip to the area. The hotel isn't really close to anything (gas station, restaurants etc) and you are more or less on your own. The hotel reception isn't open all the time and you have to prepare yourself if you want to have an early check out. The restaurant was booked for a private party, so no food available when I arrived. During winter time it can get fairly cold in this region and the fact that the air condition didn't work as a heater wasn't really helping. There is an additional little heater in the room, but this thing is not quit sized for the room. No heating at all in the bathroom!!! The rooms are very well prepared with snacks and beverages. But whatever you touch, it has a price tag on it. The internet was free, but far from being reliable.
Sorry, I normally really say only positive things, but here I can't.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear MWB,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eltham Gateway and for taking the time to review your time with us. we value not only positive feedback but also areas that we can imporve on, and we value your contribution.

To clairfy for you for future stays we have 2 service stations and 3 restaurant within 10 minutes walk from our property, and of course our reception staff are more than happy to assist you in locating these.

Each room has a split system air-conditioner/heater , as well as a portable heater (which guests generally use in the bathroom areas). Occasionally guests do get confused with the use of split system heaters/air copnditioners and we are more than happy to guide any guests through their operation and usage.

We offer for early checkout our express key return system located at reception, and other guests choose to simply leave their key in the room if they are departing prior to recpetion opening for the day. We have based on your feedback had our wifi system checked and no fault was able to be located in its usage - if you could please clarify how you were using it to asisst us with rectifiying a problem if still existing.

You are correct in noting that all mini bar items and snacks do incur a charge - a generally normal process for all hotels domestically and internationally.

Our Strada bar and Lounge only open for private events (as advertised on our website), however we offer every evening room service avaialbe from 5:30pm with a choice of 38 items with prices starting from $7.90 through to $32.00.

Thank you again for your stay and please feel free to contact me via djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au should you wish to discuss these points further.


Safe travelling and warm regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
(03) 9431-1666
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked a spa room but the bathroom was a little dated and in need of maintenance so we really didn't use it. The cabinetry was all moisture damaged and you couldn't have the door shut and shower as a design flaw meant you couldn't open the shower door due to the doorknob blocking it.

Not horrible or anything but just very disappointing as it wasn't exactly budget accommodation prices but the whole room screamed of budget accommodation fit out. You could hear the room next door's child through the walls quite clearly (and I'm sure they could hear us watching TV late at night). The beds were quite uncomfortable as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_W2013324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Marc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre. We certainly apprecaite all forms of feedback and look to continually imporve our facilites based on customer suggestions.

We generally find that most guests find our property excellent value, especialy given the complimentary inclusions offered such as unlimited free Wi-Fi. Our average room rate is $124.00 which we believe offers a value for money service - however we do take note of your suggestion that our pricing was not relative to your stay.

Our Hotel fitout is based around finding a good balance between a semi-rural feel with modern amenities, which to some guests may not be to their individual tastes. Our housekeeping manager has reviewed the mattress in your room and this has been replaced based on your suggestion and feedback.



Thank you once again for your feedback and we wish you happy travelling in the future.


Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a Hillview Suite and found it spacious, with a very comfortable king size bed and double spa bath. Whilst there is a lot of stairs to climb to get to the Hillview Suites, it is very quiet and private up there, and perfect to have a coffee in the morning amongst the trees and the birds! The staff were also very helpful and accommodating. Bearing in mind that the rest of the room was very clean, it was disappointing to find mould in the shower recess.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear GJC,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eltham Gateway and for your review of our property. I certainly agree that the Hillview suites are a wonderful place to hav a coffee in the morning on the balcony with the local wildlife. I am also pleased that you found our staff helpful and accommodating, and your time with us was pleasant. I also appreciate you noting the damaged and moulded silicon in the shower recess, our maintenance team have rectified the issue - this feedback always helps us improve our service and standard of our rooms.

Thank you once again for your stay and safe travelling.


Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
(03) 9431-1666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I travelled to Melbourne for 9 days in late May / early June 2014 and stayed at the Eltham Gateway and Conference Centre. It is the second time that we have stayed there and It will definitely not be the last !
It suits our needs perfectly. IT IS CLEAN, QUIET, COMFORTABLE AND AFFORDABLE. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. There are BBQ facilities, free wifi, and a free guest laundry which is really good for us as we're staying for more than a week. It is quite a large place but that did not present a problem as it was very quiet and there is plenty of parking.

We had a traffic accident just after arriving in Melbourne and they kept our room for us even though we arrived a day late because we were in hospital over night. When we did finally arrive they went out of their way to make us comfortable.

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE COMING TO VICTORIA !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for your resent stay at Eltham Gateway and for reviewing your experience with us. I trust your wife is making a speedy recovery and we were more than happy to assist with your stay given the circumstances. I am pleased that you found our hotel quiet, clean, affordable and comfortable, and that our staff made your stay with us pleasent.

We also enjoy all our guests using our complimentary services such as free wifi and the guest laundry and BBQ facilities.

Thank you once again for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future on your next visit west to Victoria.


Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
(03) 9431-1666
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouyen, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for a wedding recently - lovely accommodation that is located away from the busy main road - so is extremely quiet. The beds were among the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the room was clean and well appointed. FREE WI-FI was a real bonus and unlike many other free wi-fi places it was quick to connect and quick to use. Parking was right outside our door. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. A very good experience and would most definitely stay again and reccommend to others.

Room Tip: No traffic noise in the front rooms we stayed in.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Eltham Gateway. We appreciate you taking the time and are all extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. In particular we enjoy our guests benefiting from our free services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and Foxtel, and I am also pleased to read that your time with us was peaceful and you found our staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you once again and safe travelling for the future.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
(03) 9431-1666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The service, from booking (via wotif), follow up regarding our booking right through to our actual stay was second to none.
From the service we were expecting something a little nicer, but found the room was a little disappointing being clean and basic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your recent review of Eltham Gateway Hotel, we appreciate your comments and for allowing us to assist with your accommodation during your travels. I am plased to read that you found our service "was second to none" and your found our rooms clean and well maintained.

We pride ourselves on offering clean and satisifying accommodation at a value for money rate. I would be pleased if you would contact me to convey what additional services we could offer to make your stay more than "basic and clean". We hope you enjoyed some of our services such as free Wi-Fi and Foxtel, along with our 7 night room service and weekend buffet breakfast in Strada restaurant.

Thank you once again Julie and I wish you safe and happy travelling


Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
(03) 9431-1666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eltham
6.0 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mill Park Motel
8.3 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel 115 Kew
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1339 Main Rd, Eltham, Victoria 3095, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Eltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre rivals the most renowned Conference Venues and Conference Centres in Victoria. A retreat-style hotel boasting easy access to Melbourne CBD and airport, Eltham Gateway is a favourite accommodation provider and comes highly recommended for weekend getaways, special events and corporate conferences and stop-over stays. Set in magnificent, treed gardens, Eltham Gateway's facilities and accommodation are ideal for short or long stays, weddings, functions, workshops and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing