We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dampier Mermaid Hotel Karratha
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Point Samson Resort(Point Samson)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samson Beach Chalets(Point Samson)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
12
21
24
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
21
24
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred dogpub grubbeer gardenclean bathroommermaidmealsoceangasfoxtelcoast
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and myself were coming by car from Ningaloo Reef, where we diving with the whale sharks. We choose Karratha, beacause it was the first bigger city on the map going North, which had an airport for flying to Darwin. By this we avoided to fly back to Perth from Exmouth / Learmonth, which is the closest airport to the Ningaloo Reef, but has no flights to the North. We were shocked with the ridicolous high prices for hotels in Karratha and found the Dampier Mermaid as an alternative. It is still expensive but at least not that expensive. We had a small room which was okay for one night. It was clean and we could sit in front of our door for having a cigar and a bottle of wine. Our neighbour (a contractor as almost everybody in this place) came to talk to us because he was curious because there are normally no tourists. We had a good talk. Yes there is a bar besides the hotel where the waitresses dress not that much and some of them work during the day on the hotel premises. But we as a couple never felt uncomfortable because of this and we enjoyed our stay which turned out a nice experience in a different place. If you are not into clubbing just do not go to the bar. The reception staff was extremly helpful. After all a good place for a stop over and we can recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJNick, General Manager at Dampier Mermaid Hotel Karratha, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate the feedback you have given us, I am glad you enjoyed your time here at the Hotel

Please do visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Anthony Loveridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Had a good Aussie barbie dinner for $ 20 food was cooked well with a chef on hand Cooking up steaks , sausages , chops and burgers. ! Salads were fresh and crisp , defiantly worth a visit and the view from the outdoor area at sunset is amazing . Good value and popular with the workers

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJNick, General Manager at Dampier Mermaid Hotel Karratha, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate the feedback you have given us, I am glad you enjoyed your time here at the Hotel

Please do visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Anthony Loveridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Clearly fronm the recent reviews the place has been done up........it needed it, that said the Bar is on Legend status as for as contractors go. It has it all, great staff ( and the Skimpys), good beer, sport on all the tellys the craic is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewBC2619WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJNick, General Manager at Dampier Mermaid Hotel Karratha, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate the feedback you have given us, I am glad you enjoyed your time here at the Hotel

Please do visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Anthony Loveridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The room I stayed looked like it had just been renovated. I give the room 5 stars. Nice clean modern bathroom. Well lit room with LCD tv. The let down was the food. I had the rib fillet for dinner. Cooked well, but not the greatest cut. The breakfast is a big disappointment. You are left to your own devices. No one there to meet and greet. Old crockery which I had to sort through to find a clean one. Felt like a mine site rather than a hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJNick, General Manager at Dampier Mermaid Hotel Karratha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Wayne,
Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed that you have had a bad experience and you felt that some things weren’t up to standard.
We very much appreciate constructive comments and criticisms and always look to stride and better ourselves in all aspects of the hotel.
As you can see we have made sure the rooms and bathrooms and facilities are great for any traveler and the feedback has been fantastic
Point taken on the breakfast room, that is an area we are now and over the Xmas period 2012 and into the New Year going to spend considerable amount of time and effort to inject some life into the room as we feel breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day.
Next time you arrive back at the hotel, please make the staff aware of who you are and either Nick, Cj or myself will be more than happy to make sure your experiences at the hotel will be a memorable one and better than last time
I look forward to catching up with you again sometime in the future
Kind regards
Anthony Loveridge
GM - Dampier Mermaid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had a lovely clean room with excellent ocean views,a newly refurbished very clean bathroom, comfortable bed and very nicely decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful and lamb shanks with a good glass of wine or two was amazing ...couldn't ask for more, can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for ocean views especially upstairs
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJNick, General Manager at Dampier Mermaid Hotel Karratha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate the feedback you have given us, I am glad you enjoyed your time here at the Hotel

Please do visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Anthony Loveridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews