We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Campsite in WA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperance Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Campsite in WA”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

After driving 9 hrs to arrive at this place was a real shock!! I remember looking at everybody's faces and they all looked the same - total disappointment. Nevertheless we pitch up tent and tried to make the best of a bad campsite!! The road works were taking place right next to us so the noise and dust happened all day from early morning to early evening including the weekends! Not to mention the noise through the night from the endless trains and large trucks!!! I had been in touch with the park on several occasions both by phone and email and not once had the managers mentioned the roadworks!! Surely it would have been courteous of the managers to let the customers know so we could have made an informed choice wether to stay or not beforehand.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chibuluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel and Naomi G, Manager at Esperance Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review, however this is not accurate. After looking back through your booking and emails, we did tell you about the overpass construction outside the park. And you commented you had already read about them here on tripadvisor, when you made your booking you were grateful you could get two campsites together any where in town as we were the last park with any vacancies for that time in January. I think this review was only left because I had to ask you to move the extra tent and guests you had not told us about and set up on another site that you had not booked. unfortunately the road works are out of our control and we suffer through them as well. hopefully you will respond more positively to future places you stay and realise these things are out of our hands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    36
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Way to much noice with the trains and the construction going on. The only good thing was that it is people friendly. I just feel that we should be informed about the the noice so you could have a choice if you would like to stay or not. The beach in more than 50m from the site.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel and Naomi G, Manager at Esperance Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, however when you booked you were told about the road works around the outside of the park. You had booked for two tent sites for two small tents and then turned up with extra people a caravan and a camper trailer as well as the tents and then wanted to fit all of that onto a tent site, and I am not sure where you got the idea about the beach being 50 metres from the park, nowhere do we advertise or tell anyone the beach is 50 metres away. we are close walking distance to the beach and town centre. You admitted the booking problems were your mistake and we offered to find you another place to set up but you said it was o.k. you were happy with where you were placed after needing to allocate another site for the extra guests and tents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this delightful park at the same time as gillabbo. We agree that there is huge bridge being built next door to the park but at no time did we notice any excessive noise. The four of us shared the camp kitchen with two other couples on two nights with no problem. The convenience of the location so near to the centre of town with all the attractions within walking distance make this little park exceptional value. All the park facilities are kept clean and undamaged. The staff were friendly and obliging to us and after all that is all we need to enjoy ourselves .We can not believe the review from Gillabbo as we were also given the opportunity to "walk around and check us out"

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Pitched our camper-trailer on the only site available, after having negotiated horrendous road works to get here. Nothing had been mentioned when I booked that there was major road works right outside the camp-ground. Facilities are clean if not a little dated, but the camp-kitchen is soooooooo small, only one person in there at a time.
The biggest problem is that not only the Truck noise, with the engine breaking but the fact that it is right next to the railroad too, and those trains have to hoot at the crossing everytime they arrive or leave.
Owners seem friendly enough but all in all, would not really recommend this site, it is way too small and too near traffic and railway also no pool x

Room Tip: Not this site, if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel and Naomi G, Manager at Esperance Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
i was sorry to read your negative review of your stay. the road works are not inside the park as you make it sound and as a drive in booking you went and inspected the only site we had left available before you checked in, you were under no obligation to take the site and nowhere in our advertising do we say we have a swimming pool. in the 15 minutes you spent inspecting our park you had ample time to decide not to stay here and go to one of the other parks in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed two nights in chalet no 6 (2 bedroom).having stayed in similar accommodation for last 5 weeks in sa, and all over wa, this would be by far the cleannest, newest and value for money. Laundry prices were the cheapest, and the challet was excellent. Cannot believe recent comments made by overseas visitors.

Room Tip: All chalets are in exceptional condition and could not hear road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcdefgh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed there in our Van on a small campsite. There isn't much space and privacy, so if you are looking for that go somewhere else. The facilities were nice and clean, but the camp kitchen was really only good for one person being in there at a time.
It is right next to train tracks and a road that has trucks on it 24 hours, that makes it quite noisy. Also in the spot where we stayed we got blinded by a big spotlight from the street.

If you want to walk into town the location is unbeatable though, maybe a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was the biggest disappointment of our whole trip. We (husband and 2 small children) had a powered site and thought the price was reasonable compared to others until we powered up and realised it was a building site for all of the roadworks (24/7) going on next to the park. Floodlights on all night and diggers going. Just awful and there was no mention of this going on when we booked. Thankfully we only booked 1 night so left early the next morning. The showers were clean but the playground was in poor condition. I have complained to top tourist as they gave this a 4* rating and I cannot see why. The staff were very nice but the park itself is terrible. There are also no boundaries from the houses all around so anyone can walk onto the park. Very disappointing

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esperance hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles
#3 of 7 in Esperance
168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esperance Island View Apartments
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Esperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Acclaim Pine Grove Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
The Jetty Resort
The Jetty Resort
#2 of 34 in Esperance
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esperance Beachfront Resort
Esperance Beachfront Resort
#5 of 34 in Esperance
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperance Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperance Bay Holiday Park

Property: Esperance Bay Holiday Park
Address: 162 Dempster St, Esperance, Western Australia 6450, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Esperance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Esperance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Esperance Bay Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Esperance Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing