We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fitzroy River Lodge
Floreat, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful campsite”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Beautiful campground for our camper-trailer with excellent facilities. What was a huge disappointment was the meal. We decided, since we were staying at such a nice caravan park, and since they had a bar and restaurant, that we'd treat ourselves to a meal. What a disappointment. The choices were barely more than basic pub fare. Food that looked and tasted like it came from a bain marie. Even the chips were only ½ warm. This is the stuff that gives pub-grub a bad name and in all other ways it was so delightful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOfFloreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    177
    88
    28
    22
See reviews for
39
218
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel has a monopoly along several hundred km of highway and they know it, so they charge like a wounded bull for their rooms. Many of the signs on the property, such as hours of restaurant opening, are incorrect. The room cleaning leaves a bit to be desired, especially cobwebs etc on ceilings. Unacceptable things at the prices charged.
The dinners are freshly cooked and well presented.
The breakfast buffet, stale and cold by 7:30.
The restaurant staff, first class; thorough, friendly and capable service.
.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed in a motel unit overlooking the pool. It was a nice unit, somewhat different from the usual, and the wonderful lightning storm was a fantastic sight!!
What a shame that when you are in a place in the wet season in the Kimberley that requires an air conditioner and a fan to stay cool, the maintenance program does not ensure that both are in perfect working order! Air conditioner rattles, fan scrapes on its cover - ALL NIGHT
Sad really because this venue is different and in stark contrast to the township just across the river!
I was on a working trip, requiring me to attend a client during the day and write up other reports at night. Don't do it. You will go blind trying to type in the dark at night. Perhaps management should shift offices to one of the rooms for a night - they will be wearing glasses the next morning, and the next afternoon installing more lighting in the rooms!

Room Tip: Motel rooms are good. Good luck with the air conditioning and fans. Don't try to work after da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagpieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Booked this room the day before we arrived - I was advised the room was small but I figured we only needed a bed. What I didn't realise that the room was barely big enough for both of us to stand-up. There was no power-point to boil the jug, the fire alarm was faulty as it went off during the night - these items were reported the next day. But at $155 per night definitely very over-priced. Very disappointed as we have stayed at this accommodation preciously but not in the budget accommodation (2009)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal470709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fitzroy Crossing hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

The lodge is a great little place. It's a nice hideaway from the town of fitzroy which can be a bit confrontational. Motel rooms are big and clean, grass is lovely and green and it's peaceful and quiet. Bed is comfy after the travel (stayed there on a work trip, as many ppl do). Pillows could do with bring replaced. Everything was clean, but a funny smell does come through the bathroom in the mornings! My toilet didn't flush also, but staff got onto it. Air con is good. Ate at the pub and it's good pub food, huge serves and really good value for money! I see Some ppl hve said the food and rooms are a bit expensive, but if u r from the Kimberley you are used to these prices and I felt that it was better value for money (for accomodation and food) then derby. I would reccommend everyone to stay here, even in the camping ground! It's safe and lovely, and full of beautiful wallabies!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Just stayed one night in the motel room, well equipped, could have been cleaner though. Beautiful location, good pool. Ate in the restaurant, but would eat in the bar next time, as meal was not that special. Expensive, but that's to be expected for where it is. Helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have stayed here on quite a few occasions, both in the motel and in the camp ground. It is by far the best that Fitzroy X has But that said, it is probably the best between Broome and Darwin. Like previous reviewers have said, stay away from the Dongers. If you can't afford the motel accommodation the next best thing is rolling out your swag on the huge grassed and shaded areas. There are safari tents available but I think these are more expensive than the motels. Meals in the lodge are great and quite reasonable too. I have only eaten in the bar, not the restaurant, and meals are big and better than your normal country pub fare.

Room Tip: Be aware that the walkways are decking so quite noisy with suitcase wheels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Crossing
0.0 mi away
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 3 in Purnululu National Park
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
#38 of 74 in Kimberley Region
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mt Hart Homestead
Mt Hart Homestead
#486 of 907 in Western Australia
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bungle Bungle Savannah Lodge
Bungle Bungle Savannah Lodge
#1 of 3 in Purnululu National Park
37 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy River Lodge

Property: Fitzroy River Lodge
Address: 277 Great Northern Highway, Fitzroy Crossing, Western Australia 6765, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Fitzroy River Lodge)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Fitzroy Crossing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fitzroy Crossing
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzroy River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitroy River Lodge is located in the heart of the Kimberley, only 2.6km from the Fitzroy Crossing Town Centre (with extensive IGA Supermarket) and 18km from Geikie Gorge National Park. Situated on the banks of the mighty Fitzroy River, Fitzroy River lodge offers a wide range of accommodation to suit all travellers. At the Fitzroy River Lodge you can relax on 50 acres of natural bushland with shady trees, landscaped gardens and plentiful wildlife. Traditional rooms feature flat-screen TV, Wifi (fee), hardwood floor, ensuite, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities. Riverview Studios add whirlpool bath, balcony and BBQ. 2 bedroom apartments have full kitchen and living area. Room service is available to these rooms only. There are also Boab rooms (budget accommodation) with TV, ensuite and air conditioning. Safari tents with ensuite are available for refined camping. The extensive campground accommodates for both powered and unpowered site requests. Geikie Gorge and Historic Town Tours are run from the property approximately May through to October. Facilities include fuel, swimming pool, tennis court, fine dining in the Riverside Restaurant with al fresco deck overlooking the grounds, Lounge Bar with deck, conference/meeting room, WiFi (fee), coin laundry, camp kitchen and caravan storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzroy River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing