We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wave Rock Motel Hyden”
Review of Wave Rock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wave Rock Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hyden
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wave Rock Motel Hyden”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

An excellent venue with good quality accommodation.
Good friendly welcome with lots of local information
Choice of eateries restaurant food first class
Would stay there again as first choice venue when visiting Hyden

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    143
    79
    16
    9
See reviews for
57
186
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed one night here while visiting Wave Rock. Felt this place needs a good face lift. It is still in the 70's and our room was dark and tired, but it was very clean and quite roomy.. On arrival it was difficult to find someone to check us in - people seemed to pass the job on to someone else. We had dinner in the bistro which we cooked ourselves and was very nice - plenty of vegetables/salad and included bread & butter, tea/coffee - fairly good value by West Australian prices. This place could do with some competition in the town - they have it all to themselves at present. It was clean and it was comfortable but not very appealing.It was also the most expensive place we stayed in all travels in WA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Wave Rock Motel with a traveling group. This was the first time I stayed there and I was very happy to experience genuine country hospitality.
Shenagh and her staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant experience. The rooms were clean and provided all the facilities you would expect. I even had a spa from which I could watch the television via a opened divider wall. I felt like I was in the honeymoon suite unfortunately without a honey.
The Smorgasbord Dinner was absolutely delicious. I can recommend this Motel to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and relax in a typical charming country atmosphere.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms than my own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel on the edge of Hyden (ie short walk to town!). The room had an upgraded bathroom with nice plush towels, and the bedroom (not upgraded yet) was good with nice linen and comfortable bed. The hotel offers a typical country front bar, a comfortable lounge area, busy bistro or buffet restaurant. There is even a heated pool. For a relatively remote town, this place was surprisingly good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
225 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After 4 hours drive then climbing wave rock, this room was a pleasant change. Great shower etc. We had single beds which were a little narrow but suitable for one night stay. We paid $162 for the night.
We ate at the bistro part of the hotel. My cook your own chicken kebabs were yummy and salads were good. My friend chose fish & chips a la carte. Her fish was raw inside the batter so she didn't eat it.
We had brekky in Hyden bakery which is walking distance to the motel. Fresh bread rolls /croissants and coffees were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Although the only accommodation in Hyden is was an excellent place to stay. We ate in the general area ( dinning room service is also available ) where you cook your own meat ( various cuts ) on a large barby, That was excellent,as general conversation to be had while cooking. A salad/hot vegie bar was available to add too your plate. breakfast was a bit poor in the dinning room. We arrived about 8.30am and found limited hot food available. Rubber bacon. Overall a top spot. The surrounds were what you would expect of grain farming country Australia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome . A convenient clean and comfortable one night stopover to see Wave Rock. V helpful map at Reception which saved us 2 hrs journey from Hyden to Kalgoorlie in r non 4 wheel drive . We can't comment on restaurant facilities etc as didn't use them. Room had kettle , toaster , tea towell!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wave Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Rock Motel

Property: Wave Rock Motel
Address: 2 Lynch Street, Hyden, Western Australia 6359, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Hyden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hyden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wave Rock Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wave Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing