We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serendipity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wave Rock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wave Rock Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hyden
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Serendipity”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I recently had an unexpected overnight stay at Hyden Wave Rock Motel, and I can't speak highly enough of the service that we received from everyone connected with the motel and tourist centre. Yes, the décor of the motel might be a little dated, but it is all very clean and comfortable, and efforts are being made, bit by bit, to freshen up the rooms. However, there is nothing more that anyone could want to make their stay more comfortable. Any one who chooses to criticize, should just stop and think firstly about how much all of the maintenance and running costs of such a facility would tally up to.......and those costs are still there even when the rooms are unoccupied. The motel and facilities connected should be applauded as a fine example of Aussie spirit - getting out there, taking huge financial risks, and giving their ALL to provide services, jobs, wonderful experiences - out in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    143
    76
    15
    9
See reviews for
57
184
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Wave Rock Motel. All the staff were very friendly and obliging. The room was comfortable. We really enjoyed the self BBQ bistro meal. Everything you needed for a short stay was in the complex and Wave Rock was a short drive away. Would recommend for a short stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It's the only hotel/motel in Hyden and in the middle of woop woop so the high price per night is not unexpected. We were given two adjoining rooms (connected by a lockable door) for our family of 4 and our boys loved having their own space (as did we). The bathroom was recently renovated so was fresh and modern and most importantly, clean as were the rooms. Many reviewers have commented on the outdated 70s look of the motel but, you know what? I actually liked it as it felt rustic to me and totally fit in with the surrounds. I wouldn't have wanted to stay in a flash resort, it's not what the area's about. We ate at the motel's 'BBQ your own' bistro and enjoyed the meal. Nice selection of salad and veggies and the hot chips were given the two thumbs up from the boys. Wave Rock is a quick 5 min drive away and about 15 mins to The Humps which has spectacular views from the top. Service at reception and the bistro were acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent one night at the Wave Rock Hotel to break up the trip back to Perth from Esperance, and to show the kids 'the rock' of course. Staying here was like spending a night at my dear in-laws old house which was built in 1976. All dark brown exposed brick, arched doorways and saggy beds. Would have been a very happening place 40 years ago but sadly very dated now. Having said that, the bathrooms were (thankfully!) newly renovated and everything was clean and tidy.

There is only one reason to stay here and that's to see Wave Rock and the surrounding caves, so you wouldn't be spending too much time sitting around in the room. But the kids did use the swimming pool, which was clean and well-maintained, and much appreciated in this hot January weather. But the real surprise was the excellent dinner at the hotel restaurant. An indoor choose-and-cook-your-own-meat set-up, with a very decent salad and roast vegies bar. It was actually one of the best meals we had eaten in our 10 days away in the Great Southern, and very popular with both guests and locals.

All in all - it's a decent place for a one night stopover. And try the T-bone...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itch-4-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We visited on 28 December 2013. Laurena, the pleasant receptionist, was the only staff member in sight and she was run off her feet with checking people in as well as serving drinks, attending the bottle shop and answering the phone, etc. She was very friendly and helpful. We bought a bottle of red and relaxed and read in the comfortable lounge.

Our room was also comfortable. We had a delicious and very reasonably priced dinner in the bistro. My husband cooked his own steak and I had salad/vegetables which were fresh with a good variety.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit Wave Rock and The Humps. The room was adequate with twin beds but not overly roomy, a very dark colour scheme and dated furniture, the air cond was very old - but worked well, there was also a ranch slider with screen so we could open that for fresh air for the short time we were in the room. Having said that it was very quiet, was clean and the beds were reasonably comfortable. The bistro meal was value for money and the bar a typical country pub - with a duke box and friendly locals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandRick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Born and bred in WA. Last at Hyden almost 10 years ago.....think even the bed linen was 10 years old. The 'steakhouse' cook up.....couldn't even get a steak knife. So sad, it used to be a fantastic motel. At $150 a night....not cheap....a shame they haven't updated. Hyden you will pay the price

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRH1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wave Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Rock Motel

Property: Wave Rock Motel
Address: 2 Lynch Street, Hyden, Western Australia 6359, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Hyden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hyden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wave Rock Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wave Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing