We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic & Expensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wave Rock Cabins & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic & Expensive”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Wave Rock for one night on our way back to Perth, in a cabin. Cabin was tiny, and dated.
There was no light in the bathroom and no light outside to use the BBQ or find your way to the car at night.
Welcome at reception on arrival was less than welcoming. the dollowing morning upon check out when I mentioned the fact that there was no light in the bathroom, or outside, the key was just taken from me and that was that?!?
Such a pity to have such an amazing icon - Wave Rock and then have a poor experience stating over.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    59
    28
    5
    6
See reviews for
38
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

the caravan park is very clean. staff very nice. toilets/shower clean. bbq. no campkitchen. kiosk what is great to get ice and cool drinks!!! very close to wave rock. we stayed one night on a unpowered site and we felt very comfortable. you even get free wifi! :-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Was Unfortunately stinking hot when we were there. Not a lot of shade available, however lovely pool to cool off with in the arvo. Terrible time for flies! But we have found that everywhere this time of year. Camp kitchen very small and basic. Bathrooms lovely. Huge showers! Nice seating area undercover. No grass at all in the park. Within a couple of minutes walk to the rock. Playground could use some love. No water supply in the non powered camp section either.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank monandben08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenswood, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just thought I would write a quick little review about our recent stay at wave rock, as there's not a lot of accommodation to chose from and most get average reviews. well we stayed in one of the cabins at the caravan park and I have to say it was good. clearly it had been recently refurbished, and we found it to be clean and tidy and more than acceptable. The location is fantastic right next to wave rock, great for popping back and forth, seeing sunset then all the amazing stars, and the lady at check in was really very helpful and polite. great place to visit and well worth the drive ... well done Hyden =)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyandPaul188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This place is fantastic for the young and old. We (a retired couple) planned for just an overnight stay only soon found so much to see and do that we stayed for 4 nights. The country side is so peaceful. There's museums, café/restaurant and walks covering a variety of distances.
The staff are great and the caravan park impressive. The amenities are way above the usual standard seen in county towns. What impressed us was the large open but undercover area with tables, chairs and a TV. Great for everyone to get together for a chat, to meet others, play games or just read a book with the protection from rain and heat. There's a beautiful breeze that blows through the open area. Nearby this is the kids playground and swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanandpop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonta, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Powered site, good clean facilities although bring a plug for basin and toddler bath/tub. Quite park within 150m to wave rock free access to wave rock if you stay at the park. Well worth a look. Upon check in they also give you 4cents off a litre of fuel at liberty in Hyden but don't bother as they sting you for use of eftpos and poor service. Playground ok. Nearby is a wildlife park sadly it was obviously very well loved at some stage but has been let go, many animals on the brochure are no longer there. Great spot which has so much potential.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Thankfully only booked one night in cabin No 4. Glad we went to see Wave Rock and the area but paying $130 a night for a cabin in early September is pretty grim. The cabins have old beds in them. The double bed wasn't too bad but I feel sorry for the poor bugger that gets the single bed as they'd be totally deformed in the morning. Old sheets and blankets on both beds

It's pretty much just a case of the park owners taking money and putting absolutely nothing back into the accommodation for years on end. If you want to see Wave Rock, have a good look around and then get out and go stay in another town.

Access to the 'Wave Rock' car park is $10 per car (Sept 2013)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wave Rock Cabins & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Rock Cabins & Caravan Park

Property: Wave Rock Cabins & Caravan Park
Address: Wave Rock, Hyden, Western Australia 6359, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Hyden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hyden
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing